We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Quick Walk Through”

Kurt Vonnegut Museum and Library
Ranked #45 of 173 things to do in Indianapolis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Renowned author Kurt Vonnegut took an unflinching look at the world, tempered with a satirical eye and sardonic sense of humor. In honor of his wit and wisdom, the Kurt Vonnegut Museum and Library champions the literary, artistic and cultural contributions of the late writer, artist, teacher and Indianapolis native Kurt Vonnegut. The library and museum serves as a cultural and educational resource unique to the nation.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Worth the Quick Walk Through”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This Memorial Library is small - you don't have to block out hours to get through it - but it is definitely worth the walk through. I had no idea the history of Kurt Vonnegut, one of my favorite authors, and his family in Indianapolis. The staff where full of information and were so passionate and it was great to see their excitement as they shared their knowledge with us.

Take a half hour or more to wander through - you won't regret it. Also, buy a super cool tshirt!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SaintLexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“a nice tribute”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a lovely little museum. It is frankly just 3 rooms, with another room that acts as a shop. If familiar with Vonnegut's work - then this brings much of it to life. The real gem in the museum was the guide whose general approach, enthusiasm and knowledge of Vonnegut was engaging, A downside was that the video display was not working - but that was OK.

Enjoy this if you can - so it goes

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clydejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A literary tiny gem of a museum even for an Indianapolis resident”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Tucked into a classic (not modern) office building is a tiny gem of literary history. The Vonnegut Library and Memorial is a fitting stop to honor one of Indianapolis' true geniuses and giant. (I probably should use genii but I don't want to be pretentious.) The library highlights Vonnegut's life in Indianapolis but doesn't focus on his Indianapolis roots, although his Indianapolis alma mater, Shortridge High School, should be played up more. You gain true insight into his character and torments. As others suggest, one of the coolest areas is the re-creation of his work area desk and his old, I think an Olivetti, manual typewriter. You wonder how his genius could emerge literally pounding the keys of a standard old portable. There is an appropriately-sized gift and souvenir shop with appropriate goodies. One of my favorites is a magnetic bookmark. While you're in the neighborhood, grab a cool one and/or BBQ at Bourbon Street Distillery restaurant across the street. If it's nice day head for the 2nd floor deck and people watch. They probably watched you go into the Vonnegut Museum.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Literary Road Trip Must See”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I make it a point to stop at notable literary spots in every city I visit, so this was a must for me. The free museum includes two rooms with artwork by the author, a beautiful timeline of his life and other memorbilia. My favorite section is a small area that recreates his typewriter and desk. If you love Vonnegut's work you just can't miss this one. There are books and postcards for sale and the staff is ridiculously helpful and friendly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The reason we stopped in Indianapolis!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My hubby and I were on a road trip through several states, and this library and museum is the sole reason we drove into Indianapolis. We got their early (it doesn't open until 11am), and walked around the downtown area to take in the sights. We were at the museum when the doors were opened and greeted right away. Key items were pointed out as we walked through the small library. The library is very small, only two rooms and a small gift shop area, but I would call it a must-see for Vonnegut fans. There is no admission fee.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank weroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kurt Vonnegut Museum and Library also viewed

 

Been to Kurt Vonnegut Museum and Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing