We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time impressions are favorable!”
Review of Jazz Kitchen

Jazz Kitchen
Ranked #162 of 2,363 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 54th and N. College Avenue
Transit: Bus #17 - College Ave
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First time impressions are favorable!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Totally enjoyed the concert! Loved the small venue. The food was excellent, better than we had anticipated. But, and this was a big BUT, the wine list was so not good! Still we are looking forward to going back, especially because the artists are wonderful!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donatella42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Jazz Kitchen is always Cookin'.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have enjoyed the Jazz Kitchen since it opened in 1994. The owner, David Allee, and his staff are always improving the experience. JK features great live music 7 nights a week in a comfortable and inviting atmosphere. With the addition of 'The B-Side', a second room for music and special events, there is always something cooking at this great club. I typically make an evening of it with dinner and a show. Featuring the best in local and international artists, music at the JK is always top notch, and the food from the kitchen always satisfies. Kudos to Frank and Roz for always making me feel welcome.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camby, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrible service, good food, loud music”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We went to Jazz Kitchen for Chow down midtown. The experience started out badly as no one was at the door to seat us. We sat in the bar area because the music was too loud in the main area. We were blatantly ignored in the bar area. It took us almost 3 hours to get to get through our three course meal. The food was good. One guest in our party got the wrong side dish and when he questioned why he didn't get vegetables the waiter argued that he hadn't ordered vegetables despite the fact we had heard him request vegetables. They were also out of two of the 5 available desserts in the prefix menu. We also didn't get refills on water or bread without asking.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Evening to remember”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We found the Jazz Kitchen by accident. My husband discovered it while looking at Steve Cole's concert schedule.We live 3 hours away but a chance to see one of favorite musicians was an opportunity not to be missed. We had tickets for the 8:00 show and dinner reservations for 6. We had the crab cakes as an appetizer and the paella for our main course and a great bottle of wine. The food was fresh, flavorful and a real treat. I thought the menu prices were reasonable. The wait staff was attentive and friendly. We had been seated at a table for 8 and the other 3 couples that were seated with us were so much fun it was truly a memorable night. BUT the music was absolutely incredible! Can't wait to make another trip to the Jazz Kitchen!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kwalker2690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good food, and great music”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We've been here for the Fat Tuesday celebrations and a couple of other shows, and the music has always been terrific. The food is consistently good, but a bit pricey. Imaginative menu choices, though, and always well-prepared and presented. Nice beer selection as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MandoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jazz Kitchen also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Jazz Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing