We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Experience Here..... Exceeded Expectations! ”

Santorini Greek Kitchen
Ranked #45 of 2,355 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Laurel St
Transit: We have an Indy Go bus stop located at Laurel St and Prospect St.
Description: We are a family owned and operated authentic Greek restaurant. Specialties of the house include lamb, fresh fish, chicken, pastitsio, moussaka and many other Greek classics. Award winning, since opening over 10 years ago, SGK has a reputation of serving great food, in a pleasant, festive environment for reasonable prices. Chef owner, Taki Sawi is naturally talented when it comes to preparing and serving food, while co owner (and wife) Jeanette has a natural propensity for taking care of people... We have found this to be a unique combination! Located in historic Fountain Square, just minutes from downtown Indianapolis. We invite you to come and enjoy all we have to offer. See if you can taste the love we put into everything we serve. It's a great place to enjoy food, family and friends! Welcome from Taki and Jeanette
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First Experience Here..... Exceeded Expectations! ”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Just got back from my first visit to Santorini and I have to say I am very pleased. Steve was our server and he was wonderful; friendly, very personable and very knowledgeable about the menu. Some of the best service I've had in years hands down.... kudos Steve! We ordered the Saganaki as an appetizer (Who can say no to the flaming cheese?! OPA!!!) and we were thrilled with the portion size. All three of us happily enjoyed our fill.... nothing worse than ordering an appetizer and feeling like there isnt enough for everyone to enjoy.... certainly not the case at Santorini as there was plenty to go around. I ordered the pastitsio and it was superb. Ive always said that I prefer Greek red sauce over Italian and this dish solidified that belief. My guest enjoyed the chicken gyro and it looked and smelled phenomenal as well. We enjoyed the flourless chocolate torte and the galaktabouriko for desert and both were utterly delectable. As we enjoyed our desert, music began to play and a beautiful woman dressed in a red dress (I presume it was traditional Greek belly dancer garb) began to dance around the restaurant and visit each table. She was very polite and engaging, and she had the entire restaurant focused on her. This evening was simply delightful.

Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    59
    25
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
120 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Greek food in the city!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Best Greek food in the city hands down. The owners are friendly and very personable. The food is tasty but come hungry because the portions are large! The saganaki (or flaming cheese as we call it) is really great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fish Kabobs are a must”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Santorini Greek Kitchen is a part of Fountain Square in Indianapolis. My favorite meal is the fish kabobs and they don't come on a stick. It comes with an assortment of fish, greenbeans, rice, and potatoes. There are two dipping sauces. A little hint, order the meal at lunch and get it for half the dinner price, with the same size portions. They also have the best calamari. The staff is nice. They are closed on Sunday.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlenaJeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
421 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“If you love good food! Get yourself here!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

There is a reason this place is rated #2 in Indianapolis and it should be #1!!!! Paul was our server and he was very efficient and personable. There when you wanted him and disappeared when you wanted time to talk during the meal. The food was very reasonably priced when you consider the quality and portion sizes. We had the lamb and tilapia full meals that came with salads (excellent!), green beans, rice, potatoes and the fish came with some of the best sautéed veggies I've ever eaten! The lamb was fall apart succulent and all the sides were fabulous. Great atmosphere and if you have a party they even have a separate party room upstairs. Doesn't look like much on the exterior but get yourself in there as the food, service, and atmosphere is very fine! Great manager and servers. You just can't go wrong! And great Greek alcohol, too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
115 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delightful dining experience”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This establishment does what's expected of better restaurants. It provides a warm welcome to guests, very good food, good service, a festive atmosphere and value. We started with the saganaki ("flaming cheese"), which was excellent. Two of us shared the chef's special combination, which includes moussaka, pastitsio, gyro meat, tiropita, spanakopita, dolmades, fried tomato balls and several other items including potatoes. This provided enough food for two good appetites with some left over to take home. Better, there is no extra charge for sharing this meal, unless you want an extra Greek salad ($5), which we did. This all went especially well with a nice bottle of Greek table wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ParkLover_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santorini Greek Kitchen also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Santorini Greek Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing