We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh food with creativity”

Illinois Street Food Emporium
Ranked #8 of 29 Bakeries in Indianapolis
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fresh food with creativity”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We enjoyed a dinner here recently and were pleasantly surprised by this restaurant. It's a neighborhood place and it seems to be a gathering place for families and friends. There's a blackboard menu and ordering is done at the counter. The selection of salads, hot and cold sandwiches, drinks and fantastic desserts is wide ranging. Our group enjoyed a full gamut of the menu from the house signature entree of chicken in a cream sauce with artichoke hearts served over a rice medley. A nice mixed green salad accompanies the meal as does fresh house baked bread. Others in our group tried croissant clubs, chicken salad, chili, a velvety chicken soup, grilled gourmet cheese. The in-house bakery serves up a huge assortment of cold cakes, cookies, brownies and more. There's nothing not to like. Service after ordering was outstanding and prompt. Everyone is friendly and seem anxious to help as needed. Many families were also there with small children.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Col_Mustard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
indianapolis
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A bit slow”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Nice place--been coming here off and on for years and one thing is seemingly consistent---slow service with no follow-up. Can't seem to serve a breakfast fast enough to get it to the table warm, so I primarily just come for lunch when I am in the area. They DO have a good menu and some nice take home pastries.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
134 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Come on, clean the table, really!”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I have always enjoyed the food at the Illinois Street Food Emporium. Today, several friends and I met up to have coffee and pastry. Originally, we thought we'd do carryout but realized there was no outdoor space where we could sit. So, we stayed inside.

I was initially disappointed that the staff did not check on us, especially to see if we wanted refills on our drinks. Seems it happens if you order a mug/glass/cup but not if you order a paper cup. We were told (at the counter while ordering) that refills would be a $1 each, payable when ordering. Now, what would happen if I did not get a refill but paid for it?

The seating arrangement (of the quaint old school wooden chairs) was quite crowded. I could not move my chair without bumping into another person, let alone navigate the floor space when I went to leave. My suggestion would be to have bench seating against the wall/windows. Saves space, etc.

Staff was quick to cleanup BUT the young clerk used an "old" towel that she used on the chairs AND tabletops of several tables. She did not even lift up the condiments holder nor the flower vase on each table, preferring to "push" the dirt around these items.

Hopefully, the ISFE will correct this simple problems in the near future. I miss the excellence of this spot and will end up moving across the street to Starbucks should it not happen.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MommiKake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
146 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Bakery with decent sandwiches”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This restaurant has a very nice bakery with really good fresh bread. The cakes by the slice are very hard to resist. This is a nice place to have lunch or breakfast. Be prepared for a wait or a little madness to find a place to sit. Nice deli type food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TLunedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and awesome food.”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The food is wonderful, dine in, carry out or buy from the freezer. Huge menu and fresh food always served up with a smile! The bakery items are so beautiful and fresh too!

Helpful?
Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Illinois Street Food Emporium also viewed

 

Been to Illinois Street Food Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing