We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Sandwiches”

Shapiro's Delicatessen
Ranked #10 of 2,347 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$14
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awesome Sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Walking into this place, I was expecting your typical deli with somewhat limited sandwich options. Boy was I wrong! This place was awesome! You name the type of sandwich you want and they can make it. Went with the hot pastrami on rye. It was one of the best pastrami sandwiches I had in a looong time! Piled high with meat...no skimpy servings here. This place was so good I went back the next day for lunch and visited their airport location before flying back home. If you like delis, this is a must!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poinsda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    275
    62
    35
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Drove up from Louisville, KY just to eat here. Cafeteria style let's you see before you choose, from desserts to sides. Decide which sandwich you want and they make it right in front of you. Everything is very good! My husband got the chopped liver and cow tongue rueben. I got the corn beef sandwich. We each ate half, and both were so delicious! Also, had one of the best carrot cakes I've ever had here! Just fantastic!

Helpful?
Thank MadelineLedbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkley, Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Food trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We went here after seeing it on the Food Network. The food was very good. The variety was extensive. You could pretty much get just about anything you wanted, from sandwiches, to hot meals, to desserts. The peppered beef sandwich was piled high and delicious. One of the best deli sandwiches I’ve ever had.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myrickbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
135 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“AN INDIANAPOLIS INSTITUTION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is an updated local deli that has been in Indy for close to a hundred years. It is a bit south of the downtown and not far from Lucas Oil Stadium. They have the best corned beef sandwiches ever. I had some rhubarb pie that was as good as Mom ever made.
The only drawback is that they don't have beer or wine; just soft drinks and great ice tea.
Everyone visiting downtown Indy should visit this fine place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VikingHurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
182 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good stuff but pricey...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

As a deli aficionado, I have to say that Shapiro's is right up there in the deli world. The pastrami is succulent and well balanced (i.e., not too salty or peppery), the sandwiches robust and tasty, and the matzo ball soup is pretty darn good. The stuffed cabbage good, too--perhaps a bit too sweet but tender and satisfying. Expect to spend $50-$60 (including drinks and a big slice of cake) to feed four adults. That's a little steep for a cafeteria-style outfit but the quality is there and the "hectic Jewish deli" experience is worth the premium.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Huasobruto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shapiro's Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Shapiro's Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing