We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch near the State House: Look no further”
Review of Ali Baba's Cafe

Ali Baba's Cafe
Ranked #203 of 2,363 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch near the State House: Look no further”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I ate here three times during my two day stay in Indianapolis, mostly because of its proximity to my work, but also because once you taste the hummus and pita it's impossible not to crave more. The service was not always fast or particularly friendly, but I went during off-hours and wanted to be left alone somewhere quiet with natural light, so it was perfect for me. I also highly recommend the tea and chicken schwarma sandwich.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank natalexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philladelphia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique to downtown”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

the gyro sandwich are nice, just wish the portions were bigger. They have also don't have hookah anymore here

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sneakerride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Spicy Gyro is fantastic”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Went here for first time yesterday. Great food at reasonable prices. Also very knowledgable staff. I had the whole gyro but next time might try half gyro lunch special. I will be back.

Helpful?
Thank S8epilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, but overcharged”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We stopped on a Saturday night. We ordered two meals which were good and served quickly. Our waitress was very friendly. The restaurant is a little "worn". There were four items on our check, two meals and two drinks. We were overcharged for two. Disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank boilerbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprise find”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were looking for another place and came across this cafe during a busy conference last weekend. The Beef Schwarma was very good, everyone else enjoyed their food too. Service was a little slow but they were full with several other conference goers.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ali Baba's Cafe also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Ali Baba's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing