We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis Airport South, IN
Ranked #32 of 186 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Every year since this motel has opened I have stayed here during the weekend of the Brickyard race. It has always been very clean and comfortable. The staff have always been helpful with any needs that I or my traveling friends encounter. The hours for the breakfast are extended on the weekend which is great for the late arisers and the staff keeps everything well stocked. I have never had any kind of problem with the staff or the rooms in all the years I've stayed here.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms [opposite of the highway] are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indyapcis, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis Airport South, IN, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with very valuable feedback and some very kind remarks about our hotel. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Muhammad Aslam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. We were looking for a good value and a convenient location to various places around Indianapolis we were planning on going to. On those points, this hotel delivered. I felt we received good value for our money, and the hotel was very convenient to not only Indianapolis's belt-line, but also to downtown itself. We didn't fly in, but it's proximity to the airport as well would be a positive for those that do.

The staff was friendly and helpful, the lobby attractive, and the hot breakfast bar was above average, featuring not just the usual waffles and bagels/toast, but also oatmeal, sausage, scrambled eggs, home fries and French toast. Despite the fact that there were several events taking place that week and the breakfast was nearly packed each morning, the attendant did a great job keeping the food items well stocked.

The beds were comfortable and the rooms very dark (despite the fact that a spotlight shone on a sign right outside our window). The bathroom was spacious with a huge counter. The room had an in-wall air conditioner below the window, common for this level of hotel. It was controlled by a wall mounted thermostat, making it easier to set to a desired temperature than most units of this type. While these units are not silent by any means, I found the noise emitted by the unit to be quite reasonable (many times these units are quite loud).

There were, however, some issues with our stay. When we arrived, it appeared that one of the beds had not been changed. When my wife suspected this, she examined the bed and did find some loose hairs in the sheets. It could've been simply that the previous guests had simply made up the bed and made it look unused, but it did not get by my wife, so it shouldn't have gotten by the housekeeping staff. They did send someone up right away to change the sheets.

Next, the exercise room was fairly limited in the amount of equipment they had: treadmill, elliptical, stationary bike and weight machine. The elliptical machine was down the entire length of our stay. It's very disappointing to see this all too common sight.

Our schedule was such that sometimes we were out of the room early, and sometimes not until around noon. One day when we left at around noon, our room did not get made up at all. We asked for a refresh of towels when we returned, but the front desk said there was no one to bring them up so we'd have to go down and get them ourselves. On another day we left at about 11:00am and when we returned at 6:00pm, the room was not yet made up. It seems like their housekeeping might be a little understaffed.

This property is located immediately adjacent to the highway and near the airport. A sign in the room indicated that ear plugs would be provided if we wanted them. I will say that the hotel is NOT in the flight path of the airport and I only heard one plane the entire time we were there. The highway noise was noticeable though. For me it wasn't excessive, but for those used to living in the country that may be a concern (see my room choice recommendation below).

Finally we were at the end of the hall which is convenient to the parking lot, but meant that we were just out of range of the free Wi-Fi. It would come in and out. I was able to plug my computer into the Ethernet port in the room, but our wireless devices were not connecting reliably. I suspect that the rooms closer to the center of the hotel had no problem.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms (in the front) do not face the hotel. I suspect that highway noise would be gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldpickup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indyapcis, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis Airport South, IN, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with very valuable feedback and some very kind remarks about our hotel. I assure you that all of the concerns that you have brought up were address with my staff immediately and we are working diligently to avoid such issues in future.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Muhammad Aslam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The staff was super freindly, the room was clean & comfortable. We could not have asked for a better breakfast. The staff worked very hard to replenish the breakfast items. The maintenance man, taking care of the hot tub & pool, waited until the grandkids had their fill of "pool time" before treating the water (thank you). I would recommend this property to
everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clark957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indyapcis, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis Airport South, IN, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with very valuable feedback and some very kind remarks about our hotel. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Muhammad Aslam
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We spent one night at this property as we were flying out for a cruise to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Our room had a BIG hot tub and fireplace in it. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were awesome. There was also a small frig in the room. The indoor pool area was clean. The breakfast at the property was included in the price. Our transfer to the airport was smooth and easy thanks to our driver. This is a place we would stay at again.

Room Tip: The suites are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indyapcis, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis Airport South, IN, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with very valuable feedback and some very kind remarks about our hotel. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Muhammad Aslam
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My family and I were driving back home from vacation and needed a place to stay for the night. Having had good luck with the Country Inn & Suites chain in the past, I made a reservation from the road. We were very pleased by the clean, new feel of the hotel. Everything was very nice, and it felt more upscale than the price would have indicated. The complimentary breakfast was better than most, and the staff was courteous and helpful.

There were only two negative factors, and they were both minor: 1) the common areas on the upper floor (elevator and hallway) were very warm - probably a good 10-15 degrees warmer than inside our room. 2) They could use better signage to help the traveler to the hotel. The hotel is set back from the road and behind other buildings, and the only sign we saw was very small and not well located. I had to call the hotel and ask for directions, and as it turns out I had driven right past it.

I would recommend this hotel and this chain to any traveler without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with very valuable feedback. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. I also wanted to touch on the issues you have mentioned. I have addressed the temperature issue with our maintenance department and we will diligently work on resolving that. We are also in the process of putting up a big box sign right at the beginning of the complex to make it easier for our guest to find us. I am hoping to have this installed in near future.

Once again on behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Muhammad Aslam
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites
317-821-1100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This was the second stop on my 3-week trip and I've stayed at this hotel numerous times over the years.

This is a nice hotel that is well managed.

Rooms are good sized. Beds are well appointed. The ventilation works well.

The hotel is kind of tricky to get to but once you know where it is, it's easy to find on follow-up trips.

The hotel can get loud from the families that bring numerous kids to the pool, but I've never had any issues with kids getting in the way of things.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HGfromOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indyapcis, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis Airport South, IN, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with very valuable feedback and some very kind remarks about our hotel. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Muhammad Aslam
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stay at this Inn while visiting our Son who lives in Indy. This Inn is a joy to stay at. Great staff to begin with. Always in good humor and friendly. The Morning buffet is always fresh and well stocked. The room clean and well tended. Overall a well managed and staffed Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjii2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indyapcis, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis Airport South, IN, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with very valuable feedback and some very kind remarks about our hotel. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Muhammad Aslam
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Indianapolis Airport
9.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis South
9.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Indianapolis Airport
Hyatt Place Indianapolis Airport
#20 of 186 in Indianapolis
593 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis South/Greenwood
12.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis Airport South, IN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis Airport South, IN

Address: 5630 Flight School Dr, Indianapolis, IN 46221-3543
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#39 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: £92 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis Airport South, IN 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After your flight, rest easy at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson®, Indianapolis Airport South, IN. We offer free shuttle service to the airport, less than 10 minutes away, as well as luggage storage to accommodate your travel schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis Airport South, IN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Indianapolis Airport South Hotel Indianapolis
Country Inn And Suites Indianapolis Airport South
Country Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing