We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unprofessional racist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport
Ranked #84 of 186 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed 25 January 2014

racist people.....loaded with bed bugs from the lobby to the rooms..the staff is more of a gossip club and have attitudes when you are them a question. if you are white than you will be looked down on

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dirtydaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear dirtydaniel,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed just one night as we were passing through on a journey and this was just about midway and conveniently close to the freeway. I’d also checked Google maps and confirmed there was a restaurant (Denny’s) opposite. We didn’t want to drive to dinner after driving all day and because we have wine with dinner.

I was also keen to try the Candlewood after coming direct from Holiday Inn Suites and before that Staybridge Suites, both in O’Fallon, Missouri. All three brands are part of the IHG Group.
First, the welcome at reception was wonderful. So friendly, so helpful. And from the lady I discovered Denny’s had closed and she recommended other restaurants in the area, including The Library which sounded good but said they were too far too walk to.

As we went to our room we saw the large indoor pool and the gym. We later used the gym and also the laundry which was free as was the washing powder. Nice touch.

The room was spotless. We had a two bed suite. Disappointingly the beds weren’t in a separate room, unlike the Staybridge and HI but the beds were comfortable and we slept well. Although neighbouring a freeway, we heard no road noise. The kitchen was equipped and it had a good sized breakfast bar. Internet access - free - was excellent, fast and troublefree.

We drove to the nearest restaurant (Indy’s) and got a takeaway to have in the room with a bottle of wine. As it turned out we could have walked to it and to the Library next door to that, they’re close, but you’d have to cross the exit ramp of a free way and under the freeway and of course there are no sidewalks and the underpass doesn’t look too savoury at night.

So, how did Candlewood compare with Staybridge and HI Suites? I think Candlewood is meant for very long stays, for people to treat more as a rented apartment than a hotel. Unlike the other two, no breakfast is included nor is there a breakfast room. Unlike Staybridge there are no complimentary dinners with wine & beer three nights a week. There is a small shop stocked with foodstuffs, breakfast cereals, coffee & tea bags and heat-up ready meals. Refreshingly this works on an honour system – you fill in a card ticking the prices of the goods you have taken and pop it in a box and they’ll add it to your bill - that’s civilised.

At reception they have a library DVD’s you can borrow to play in your room.

Overall I thought the room was expensive compared with the other brands, but of course the locations are different: this is in proximity to an airport but I reckon that one-night prices steeply drop for the longer stays this place caters to and also for those whose companies have a corporate discount.

Other things being equal (a big ‘if’), of the three brands I’d choose Staybridge first then HI Suites then Candlewood.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonPontac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was my first time staying here :) A few wows! I was on the 6th floor a lot of stairs for a great workout. They do have a great gym. Free washer & dryer.It was nice to be able to cook a complete meal in the room. The full size refrigerator with a ice maker.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billie Joe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed at the Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport for one night recently, and had a very nice stay. Had a long day full of frustrations, and when we showed up we were tired and frustrated. Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, and made sure we had what we needed in a room (our reservation was wrong from Priceline) and made every effort to address all of our needs. The one bedroom suite we were in was clean, comfortable and well equippped. The full kitchen, large bar and seating area and quite large bathroom were all very nice to have. For the price, you can't go wrong for a simple, non-fancy, clean and comfortable hotel in Indianapolis.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tewks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I checked in about midnight and the front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. My stay was pretty short, but everyone I encountered was friendly. Room was clean and met all my needs, as well as the business center and front lobby. I was happy to see they had a Lending Locker with lots of amenities, just wish I could have stayed longer to use them!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just spent 2 nights there last weekend. I was moving to Indy and needed somewhere to stay not too far from my destination. Now when I am traveling I understand that if you want a decent place to stay you have to be prepared to pay a bit more and I have stayed in hotels all over the country and know which way is up.
However this place is EXTORTIONATE!!
Daylight robbery!!
$184 for 2 nights. I didn't want to buy the place just stay there! To add insult to injury there is NO breakfast and NO room service. You buy your own breakfast and clean your own room. You want the garbage emptied do it yourself!!
Nice staff and a lovely room but I expect a LOT more for $92 a night. It is in a dingy area with zero redeeming qualities so it isn't like they are a jumping off point for Disney World or something. They actually tried to tell me people LIVE there. You could buy a condo for less than that and have change!
Take my advice, if you can do it stop before you get close in to the ring road and find a nice hotel at somewhere like Clayton or Avon. MUCH cheaper and probably someone to clean the room along with a coffee and croissant.

Room Tip: Never mind the room just make sure to take LOTS of money you'll need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank izifaddag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear izifaddag,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to providing competitive rates and guest services. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I was here for a few weeks for business where my company had an office right down the street. This part of Indianapolis definitely leaves a lot to be desired. The whole area is pretty run down and sketchy. There seemed to be people roaming up and down the streets without much to do. There are very limited food options around and absolutely no entertainment or activities within walking distance.

The hotel itself is decent but not great. I tried the pool once and it was very nice and it has a decent workout room which I used a few times. The room was clean but it was pretty small for this type of extended stay facility, especially the kitchen and the bathroom. The staff were nice and helpful but never went above and beyond for me.

I would stay here again if I had to for work but I would prefer a nicer place, with at least more size for a longer stay. I would never choose to stay anywhere near there for a personal trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoothrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear smoothrt,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. It is good to know that our rooms were comfortable for your needs and you found our staff to be helpful. However, I am sorry if you feel that our location was not completely at par for a personal trip. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Indianapolis Airport
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Northwest
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Indianapolis Airport
Hyatt Place Indianapolis Airport
#20 of 186 in Indianapolis
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - Airport
Extended Stay America - Indianap...
#107 of 186 in Indianapolis
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport

Address: 5250 W Bradbury Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46241-5167
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 186 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range: £65 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport, your Home Away From Home. Our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens with everything you need to prepare that home-cooked meal. Work efficiently with free high-speed Internet and local calls, plus your very own personalized voicemail. Also available is our complimentary business center with computer and Internet access.Need to relax after a long day of work or traveling? Lounge in your recliner while watching your 32-inch flat screen TV with DVD player. Borrow a movie from our lending library. Gather with friends and have a cookout at our Candlewood Gazebo. Work off stress in our state-of-the-art fitness center. Take a relaxing dip in our indoor pool and hot tub.When staying at Candlewood Suites, our complimentary washers and dryers allow you to pack light. Hungry? Grab a bite at Candlewood Cupboard, our 24/7 onsite convenience store featuring hundreds of breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snack items from which to choose.We are conveniently located at the Indianapolis Airport, just minutes to downtown Indianapolis or Plainfield, Indiana. Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport is an excellent choice for employees of Rolls-Royce, Eli Lilly, Carrier Corporation, Praxair, Vertellus and the Indiana National Guard. We welcome government travelers and are FEMA approved. Call the hotel for a free shuttle to or from the airport at any time, day or night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport Hotel Indianapolis
Candlewood Indianapolis
Indianapolis Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing