We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location! Excellent Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist
Ranked #87 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Missouri
Level Contributor
106 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect location! Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel because of its proximity to Indiana University Medical Center where our daughter was going to have surgery. We needed a place to stay that would allow us to set up housekeeping and be close to the hospital for several days. This location has two bedroom units with full kitchen including dishwasher and a living room that has a recliner and couch. Our suite was large enough for us all to spread out and feel truly comfortable and at home as well as have privacy. It was immaculately clean. The front desk staff gave us directions to the best grocery store as well as restaurants when we didn't want to cook our own meals. They seemed to be genuinely interested in our comfort and assisting us with anything we needed. Since our daughter is a Peyton Manning fan it really made her happy to be able to look out her bedroom window and see Lucas Oil Stadium. We were just minutes from everything that we could possibly want or need. To top this all off they provide a great rate for medical visitors, making this a very economical place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Insuregal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    57
    22
    6
    10
See reviews for
39
28
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

We booked our two bedroom suite in February to arrive in July for a race weekend. We arrived early in the afternoon and were told that our room was being cleaned, so come back in an hour. When we got back, we were told we didn't have a room at all!!!! They wanted to send us two miles down the road to a 'sister' property and be given a ONE bedroom with two beds....FOR FOUR PEOPLE!!! Their excuse was that someone had to extend their stay so they kept the room we had reservations for, which is ludicrous...they should have moved those people and not inconvenienced us. When we pushed the issue, they ended up giving us two one bedrooms on site. We observed them doing the same thing to another group right behind us....had reservations, no room. Upon checkout, I asked why they did not have a room for a PREPAID reservation and the clerk just said..."you don't have a room until you get a room", so I said, "So a reservation doesn't mean anything here does it?" She agreed. Great way to do business Candlewood.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rukiddingme99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

My wife and I have been staying at this Candlewood Suites, off and on, for the last 2 years. Due to my health situation, this is the best place to stay with its location and price. It is close to the Clarien Health hospitals, IU, Riley and also the VA hospital. They have a special rate for transplant patients. There is weekly housekeeping, a workout room, laundry room, outside pool, and coffee machine all at no cost. They also offer free shuttle service to hospitals and downtown Indy. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The floor plan is more like an apartment. The room is spacious and clean. Do yourself a favor and try them out.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLH1293920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

Our room was larger and nicer than some apartments I have lived in!! The full kitchen made dining easy and convenient. The staff was very helpful and the business center was well laid out. It is a great place for business travelers or people staying in the area long term.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L1LB1T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

The rooms are very clean,spacious and seem quite new. The location is ok as far as somewhat close proximity to downtown and a few restaurants (not walking though) I reserved a 1-bed suite smoking room but when we arrived we were told only non-smoking rooms available even though out of curiosity I had gone to their website 1 day earlier to check at the cost of a simialr room at that time for a friend and the room came up as available. Actually it stated all rooms types were still available so couldn't quite figure out that one. Now I don't mind to have to go outside but I hate when you book a reservation and your room type is "suddenly unavailable" Now the lady who checked us in was quite nice and stated she would give us a 10% discount for our trouble so I was fine with that but then we go to check out and our room rate went from $111 a night to $159 with the 10% off???? It all was set right in the end but be sure to check your room bill before checking out. If they would have honored my reservation for a smoking room and also not messed with the bill I would give it 5 stars. I mean the whole part of the reservation process is to "Hold the Room" and the holding really is the most important part of the reservation process. I mean really "Anybody can just take 'em" The service was great the rooms clean, spacious and nice. More like an apartment then a hotel room. There is no breakfast served but the rooms have nice studio type kitchens with coffee maker, fridge, micro, dishwasher and 2 top burner. There is a small store in the lobby for basics accessible 24 hrs. Even though a few bumps on this stay I would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MotoGPMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityCentreHotels, Manager at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist, responded to this review, 4 September 2009
Thank you, for giving us the opportunity to accommodate you during your recent trip to Indianapolis. Our staff will always do everything possible to merit the confidence you have shown in us. I certainly apologize for your recent experience with regard to your room accommodations, this is an unfortunate occurrence. We were sold out and I am not sure the exact reason for the mix up, I can assure you we are looking into the issue and will utilize this as a training tool for the future. I am very happy to hear your nice comments about the hotel. We look forward to your return visit.

If I can be of any assistance making your accommodations or you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me directly at (317) 829-1450.

Jerry M.
General Manager
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington,IN
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

Big room! And very clean. Fully equipped kitchen, even a dishwasher. It's like a little apartment, so it barely felt like a hotel room.Nice clean outdoor pool.
Our room key didn't work and we went back to the front desk three times. The third time they sent us back up to our room with a cleaner to clean the key slot (ourselves). I think maybe they are understaffed and that's why we had such poor customer service. The morning we left, I ran a bath and the water was blue! Not sure what was up with that, but you can see the blue stains on the shower head... Weird. Free shuttle stops at 9pm, and getting a cab to downtown was kind of pricey.
All in all not a bad stay for the price.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

There are 2 ways to visit IUPUI - stay in the city and enjoy city life or stay at Candlewood Suites and have a restful stay. I chose the latter and was pleasantly surprised! I had 2 rooms - one with a sofa and TV and one with a bed and TV - along with a kitchen and table. The rooms were spotless, the bed comfortable, and the microwave useful (for the free popcorn).

I would recommend this place for anyone who has had enough of the city and enough travel to want a clean, nice place to stay without much noise, disruption, or hassle. No, they don't provide a free breakfast, but I was told that upon check-in plus I generally carry my own oatmeal anyway. The little store was a nice touch as I could get some soup and crackers for supper, so I didn't even have to go back out into the snow to get something to eat.

  • Liked — clean rooms and friendly, helpful staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lotsobooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Downtown Indianapolis
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Home2 Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist

Property: Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist
Address: 1152 N White River Pkwy West Dr, Indianapolis, IN 46222-5103 (Formerly Candlewood Suites Indianapolis City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Candlewood Suites in Downtown Indianapolis, Indiana Our extended stay hotel in downtown Indianapolis is near the Indianapolis International Airport, making travel to the hotel easy and convenient. Leisure travelers can appreciate our downtown Indianapolis hotel's close proximity to several local attractions. Eiteljorg Museum, the Children's Museum of Indianapolis and the Indiana State Museum offer history buffs the chance to soak up the heritage of Indiana. For sports enthusiasts, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Conseco Fieldhouse are just minutes from our hotel. The Indiana Zoo and White River State Park offer fun for the whole family. For business travelers, our hotel in downtown Indianapolis is near the Indianapolis International Airport and offers free high-speed Internet access, a Business Center and three meeting rooms. Nearby corporate locations include the IU Medical Center, the Indiana Convention Center and Simon Headquarters, while South Grove Golf Course offers a great place to unwind. This Indianapolis extended stay hotel offers you free high-speed Internet access and free local phone calls. Our standard guest rooms are the largest in Indianapolis. A Fitness Center, free self-laundry facilities, barbecue grills, a DVD/CD lending library and the Candlewood Cupboard, our miniature grocery store, offer unparalleled comfort and convenience. Call today to take advantage of our great Indianapolis hotel deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis City Centre Hotel Indianapolis
Candlewood Indianapolis
Indianapolis Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing