We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Changes are happening at 14 West.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 14 West - CLOSED

14 West
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Cross street: Meridian St
1 review
“Changes are happening at 14 West.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Went in on Saturday night. Bartender was really friendly. Had a coupe glasses of wine (amazing wine list FYI). Sat at our table and had amazing service. It was our anniversary. We were greeted with two glasses of champagne. Made us feel special. Food was ok. Not my favorite. The server did inform us that they were getting a new chef on Monday and were strictly going "farm to table". The first of June they should have a new menu! I will definitely come check it out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indydine1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    6
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, OH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Waste of Soft Shell Crabs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I lived outside Washington, D.C. and love soft shelled crabs in the Spring. When we saw them as the nightly special here, we ordered them. Shared charcuterie plate was good, but it went to hell shortly after.

We've never ever seen soft shelled crabs dunked in a thick batter and deep fried until you couldn't tell what they were. Cardboard possibly Manager took both orders off the bill and apologized. The view of some low life family dining outside with a diaper bag on the table in plain view clinched it.

Never, ever again!

14 West may have been a deluxe property once, but the dark, dank and ice cold dining room

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ForkItOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice meal but uneven”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Decided to make a reservation for five business travelers to eat at 14 West based on their farm-to-table claim to fame. Service was really solid and food portions are large. Very nice selection of wine by the glass. The meal is pricey compared to some other Indy properties. Ordered the lamb and cannot really complain since I asked the chef to cook the lamb at medium (pink) instead of medium rare. Unfortunately, the lamb came to the table well done, not medium, and was chewy. The lentils with mint that accompanied the lamb were wonderful. Appetizers were tasty. Colleagues steaks and fish were the same - tasty but not spectacular. It is clear the restaurant cares about where the food originates. They just need to work a little harder at evening out the fare. Tables are close together. We were fortunate that this was a relatively quiet night, but would not want to be there when the restaurant is full.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OTAWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Good service & great steak. The atmosphere was stark and a little like a warehouse...open beams, rafters & very high. This did not detract from our experience.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank tsmith044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
436 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere- Uneven fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

On the Friday after the Superbowl three of us enjoyed an early dinner at 14 West.
The wine list provided a nice selection of wines by the glass. We opted for a nice Sav Blanc from New Zealand and a California Pinot Noir. Both were reasonably priced and were from fresh bottles.
Dinner entrees' were two for three. My wife had the bone-in rib eye which was prepared as ordered. Our guest had the crab cakes and also was pleased with his choice.
I ordered the Fish of the Day which was an entire fish flash fried in a pan and then baked.
Unfortunately, the fish was "extra crispy" which rendered it difficult to filet and separate from the skin.

This was our second visit. Both were average to slightly above.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 14 West also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing