We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Choice in Indianapolis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis - Southeast
Ranked #73 of 186 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My wife and I frequently stop at many of the "new" Holiday Inn Expresses throughout the country and we have rarely been disappointed. That certainly was true when we spent two nights at the HIE Southeast In Indianapolis recently. Conveniently located just off the I-465 beltway that circles that city and only a mile or two from both the I-65 or the I-74 freeways, the Inn is immaculately clean, its rooms unusually large (every room contains two king-sized and quite comfortable beds), and its bathrooms well-designed. All the front-desk personnel were outgoing, efficient and very friendly. For travelers needing to find a location to stop in the Indianapolis area, especially in the south sections of the city, the HIE Southeast is well worth considering.

There is probably no such thing as a "typical" or "average" Holiday Inn Express despite many seemingly outward physical similarities across the USA. Some are, however, better than others thanks to any number of intangibles; some are not. The HIE Southeast falls closer to the latter than the former. There are lots of "problems" that cause such a generalization. Each morning's breakfast, for instance, is, at best mediocre in light of today's expectations. Scrambled eggs, a few sausages (but no bacon), biscuits with, occasionally, sausage gravy, a few cold muffins or plain bagels, several cold cereals, and a few other low-end items such as Walmart's Great Value tea, the only available choice. The only fresh fruit when we visited the inn were several overly ripe bananas. Add to that the fact that the breakfast room is located on the east side of the motel so that each morning many of the tables are so heavily bathed in sunlight that they are impossible to be used (unless one wants to be uncomfortable through the entire meal). Though there are several small restaurants located nearby, anyone looking for a wide variety of eating possibilities needs to drive to nearby Greenwood more than five to six miles away, a clearly inconvenient nuisance. Shopping in the immediate area means either Walmart or, farther down the street, a Big K-Mart. Anyone wanting more also will need to go to Greenwood.

There are many other small, but quite irritating detractions at the HIE. No matter how hard we tried to be considerate of several sleeping neighbors, our door squeaked so loudly when we opened or closed it that we had the feeling we had been transported back to the old Inner Sanctum radio show. Though the housekeeping staff did a very nice job cleaning and freshing-up our room, they failed on both days that we were staying with them to replace a burned out light bulb which we reported almost immediately after checking in and then again the following day. For some reason, the elevators have heaters in them which seem to come on automatically even when the temperature outside is in the high 90s. Though the bedrooms, as noted above, are large, if not truly spacious, there is barely room to put only one piece of luggage (unless one wishes to sweep everything off the desk and use it as a second luggage rack). And, even though it is, I suppose, a matter of personal choice, the inn has chosen to employ the same "weird" design of wallpaper virtually everywhere -- in all the hallways, in the front lobby, in the breakfast room, and elsewhere. It is a design that few could love.

Room rates are fair (though the nearby equally large LaQuinta Inn was, on average, more than $15 cheaper per night). Whether the HIE is worth the added difference is a matter each person will have to decide for him- or herself. Still, despite all the "things" noted above, we were in no way sorry we chose the inn when we were in Indianapolis. The HIE Southeast is a solid 3-star, maybe even three-and-a-half star place to stay. It offers a comfortable, restful night to sleep and, though there are drawbacks, many travelers will be as glad as we were if they decide to stop.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank BigP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear BigP,

I want to thank you for the time that you spent to review the Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Southeast. Just reading your review shows that you put a lot of thought into it! I noticed that you stated that all of our rooms have two king beds. Not only is this true, but also, all of the rooms do come with a refrigerator, microwave and an in-room safe. In the general area, we have mainly fast food restaurants, for example, McDonalds, Fazolis, Arby's, Hardees, and Rally's. Just two miles south of us on Southport Road is where our guests can find different sit-down chain restaurants, such as O'Charley's, Texas Roadhouse, Longhorn Steakhouse, Bob Evans, and Cracker Barrel. On the same road that we are on is a wonderful Japanese steakhouse, Fujiyama. We do have a variety of breakfast options, and these rotate based on the day of the week. I do hope the next time you are in Indianapolis, the Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Southeast is your hotel of choice!

Thank you,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is not a new hotel but an updated one. But from what I saw it still looked in good shape and well kept. The staffs from the front desk to the morning breakfast were really helpful. Booked just a 1 night stay online and when I checked my credit card account later I saw the room cost plus that $25 charge so many reviewers talked about. That charge was the first time I have ever seen over several years of traveling. I have seen resort fees and dog deposits but never a misc. fee that is not charged unless the hotel feels you have caused some type problem in your room. Within three day after the stay the only the room charge and tax remained. I agree that the hotel needs to tell the guest at check in about the charge. If it was on the registration form then it should be pointed out to the guest at that time. The online site only quotes the room rate and tax. I liked the two king beds. Our 37 year old son comes with us and the bed was better than a sleeper sofa. And the room was very large. This was basically a 1 night sleep stay so we did not get a chance to use the pool or hot tub. Breakfast was great and followed the high standards for Holiday Inn Express. The hotel in general looked well maintained and all staff members I met were polite. I have added this location on my stay list.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredTravelerOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Dear RetiredTravelerOhio,

We opened for business a little over 3 years ago. When you check in, we authorize the card presented for $25.00 for incidentals, plus the cost of the room and tax. Any unused portion of this is then released back to you upon checkout. You stated that you liked the two king beds in your room. In addition to the two king beds, all of our rooms do come with a 42 inch television, microwave, refrigerator, and an in-room safe. I see that you have added the Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Southeast to your stay list, and I do hope that when you are in Indianapolis next, that you do decide to stay at our hotel.

Thank you,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We had a wonderful experience at this property. The room was clean, large, with contemporary decorated styling. The beds were extremely comfortable and provided a refreshing sleep. The pool and hot tub were relaxing. Breakfast was delicious with a variety of choices. Don at the front desk was very friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Two king size beds was the reason I booked this location, and I loved everything about this hotel once I got there. The rooms are very large, the decor is clean and contemporary, the pool was very nice, and the hotel seemed brand new, even though the manager told me it is four years old. Staff was very nice

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinGSM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis - Southeast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Dear Leslie W,

I want to thank you for the time that you spent to review our hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Southeast. As you mentioned, your room came with two king beds. All of our rooms do come with two king beds, 42 inch televisions, refrigerators, microwaves and in-room safe. We do have a pool area that is four times as large as the average Holiday Inn Express pool area. We also recently celebrated our 4 year anniversary of being open. I do hope that when you come through Indianapolis again, that your hotel of choice will be the Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Southeast.

Thank you,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This is one of the better Holiday Inn Express around. Two big nice king beds, great pool and workout room and great breakfast. All at a very fair price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinGSM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis - Southeast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Ron R,

I want to thank you for the review that you posted about the Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Southeast. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay! Every room has 2 king beds, 42 inch television, refrigerator, microwave and an in room safe. Our pool is 4 times the size of the average Holiday Inn Express pool. I do hope that the next time you are in Indianapolis, that your hotel of choice is the Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Southeast

Thank you,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Outstanding hotel with great customer service. I will stay here on all future visits to the Indy area.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtraley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinGSM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis - Southeast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear jtraley,

I want to thank you for the time that you took to write a review regarding the Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Southeast. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. I see that you have especially mentioned Don. As Don's supervisor, I will make sure that he is aware of your comments. I also see that you have made us your Indianapolis hotel of choice when traveling through. The next time your plans take you through Indianapolis, do not hesitate to call the Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Southeast.

Thank you,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a new hotel and the staff are really nice. Booked a 2 night stay online but wasn't aware of the extra $25 per night incidental charges until returning home and checked bank acct. They really need to tell customers this upon booking and again at check in. Very irresponsible for a hotel like this. Our bank acct. was on the verge of overdraft because of these unknown charges. Otherwise would stay here again. 2 King size beds and very large rooms. Pool was very cool but hottub was nice. Breakfast was great.

Room Tip: top floors are quieter. one end is closer to freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judogayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinGSM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis - Southeast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear judogayle,

I want to thank you for the time you took to review the Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Southeast! I want to apologize for the confusion in regards to the incidental authorization. When a guest checks into the Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Southeast, we obtain an authorization for the full amount of the stay, plus $25 per day for incidentals. When the guest checks out, any unused funds are then released back to the issuing bank. If the card presented is a credit card, this release normally takes 1-2 business days. A debit card's release normally takes 3-5 business days. I do hope that this clears up any confusion. I am glad to hear that you otherwise enjoyed your stay. I do hope that in the future when your travels take you to Indianapolis, your hotel of choice will be the Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Southeast!

Thank you,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castleton
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis
#76 of 186 in Indianapolis
126 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Holiday Inn Indianapolis Downtow...
#108 of 186 in Indianapolis
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis - Southeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis - Southeast

Address: 5302 Victory Dr, Indianapolis, IN 46203-5951
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#51 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: £77 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis - Southeast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Southeast Indianapolis Holiday Inn Express Flying solo for business? Exploring Indianapolis for vacation? Everyone can enjoy the excellent quality of our service at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Indianapolis Southeast.Indianapolis, an ideal place for leisure travelers, is the home of the Colts, Indians, and Pacers, and we encourage visitors lodging in Indianapolis, Indiana to catch a game. If you're not a sports fan, you may enjoy visiting the pristine parks and historical monuments surrounding our Indianapolis hotel. Whether you want to study the history of the old prairie at Hoosier Prairie State Nature Preserve or enjoy the downtown night life, our Indianapolis accommodations will keep you close to it all. For the business traveler, our location near downtown Indianapolis keeps you easily connected to businesses around the city. Our choice Indianapolis, Indiana hotel stands on the Indianapolis beltway (I-465) and is conveniently located within 18 miles of four major airports. The hotel property also includes a large conference room and a Business Center for your convenience. Our Indianapolis hotel offers top-quality amenities such as an indoor, heated pool and whirlpool for you to enjoy year-round. Our entire hotel is 100% non smoking, and every room comes with two king beds. No matter how long you're stopping by at the 'Crossroads of America,' our Indianapolis, Indiana hotel will happily accommodate you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis - Southeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Beech Grove-Indianapolis Southeast Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing