We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly disappointing and rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Looking Glass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Looking Glass Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Indianapolis B&B and Inns
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Truly disappointing and rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We booked a room through Expedia,arrived and thought all was well.

When we got up the next morning to check out a gentleman who worked there(Lou ?) informed us that they didn't work with Expedia, had no confirmation of our payment and would not allow us to check out...so they got JEANINE on the phone who informed us that we needed to call Expedia to get this straightened out...really ? I thought we were the paying customer yet they were not only treating us like garbage but refused to be of any assistance. They would not even c all Expedia as the merchant to confirm payment
We called Expedia -we called the credit card company--both who were more helpful and polite than The Looking Glass Inn - and got the bill straight
Now to add to the HORRIBLe treatment by LOOKING GLASS they were not even happy to make coffee....
We will never go back and would not recommend any of their 3 B&B - they have this, the spa at the Villa and another place behind this that we didn't get the name of....

Suggestion: spend your money elsewhere

Room Tip: Horrible service
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa I, Owner at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2016
We are sorry that Expedia didn't process your reservation properly. Unfortunately, when you book via a 3rd party we do not have any of your information including payment. We are always glad to help when we can but our hands were tied on this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    16
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
36
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

This Inn looked great online. We found it easily. The house was lovely and to period. The mattresses were in terrible shape and felt like they were very old and cheap. The bathrooms weren't well updated and had some low water pressure issues. Our stay was just OK.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

My wife and I chose the The Looking Glass B&B to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It is a beautiful old home and we espectially enjoyed the sitting rooms. One evening we spent some ime beside the fireplace which was comforting on a chilly night. We stayed in the Gold Room. A very nice room except the shower was less than desired. Our host, Kathy was very friendly and made a nice breakfast that was complimented with fruit, muffins, raisin bread, croussants, bagels, coffee and juice.

The Inn is also in a great location for downtown activities, the zoo, several museums, and historical homes in the area.

Room Tip: It looked like the Rose Room is one of the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We needed a comfortable place for our family of four. The Looking Glass Inn met our needs beautifully. The Hideaway room offered us a huge space for our children to play, a full kitchen, a plenty of room for sleeping (one king and two twin beds).

The hospitality and food were impeccable. The location (residential neighborhood) is beautiful, clean, safe, and convenient. We will stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarrieB422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westville, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Spent one night here when couldnt find another hotel room in Indy on a saturday night. We had Pacer tickets for saturday night game and colts were playing at home on sunday. So we took a chance and stayed here. What a great surprise. Amazing property. stayed in the willow room. Couldnt have ask for more. Very clean and great beds. Couldnt beat the price and only a mile from downtown Indy. They even got us a cab. I would stay here again any time. Oh, and there is a free breakfast !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucket1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our anniversary. We really enjoyed the home and our room--the Willow Room--was beautiful, roomy, and very clean. My only complaint about the room was that there was a bit too much light coming in. Thicker drapes might help that. We stayed on the weekend and we were expecting a full breakfast. They only served a slice of quiche. It was good but not quite what we expected since the website said "full breakfast" for the weekends. The coffee tasted like Maxwell House, and we kind of expected something a bit better. Overall, we were pleased with our stay and were especially surprised by the cheese tray we received upon arriving. The young girl working throughout our stay was very nice and on top of things.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraujones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Just recently spend a night at the Looking Glass Inn and was very impressed with the responsiveness of the staff. Everyone was so kind and the rooms were lovely! If in the Indianapolis area again will most definitely book with this family! Rooms and common areas were very clean as well as being beautiful. Breakfast was okay... Take a walk to the One Eleven Cakery which is just a few blocks away. Great cupcakes and chocolate chip cookies! :O)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgallo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,173 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#8 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#7 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Inn at the Villa
#4 of 18 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Looking Glass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Looking Glass Inn

Property: Looking Glass Inn
Address: 1319 N New Jersey St, Indianapolis, IN 46202-2621
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Looking Glass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1905, The Looking Glass Inn is located in the heart of the city’s Old Northside; an area that was home to the principal leaders of Indianapolis during the turn of the twentieth century. It was Elizabeth Gates, wife of a wholesale grocery merchant, who erected this Free Classic style mansion while living here until 1907. The Inn boasts 7 fabulous guestrooms all with private baths. A complimentary Butler's Pantry stocked with snacks and beverages is offered with every room as well as breakfast daily. The Looking Glass Inn opened its doors in February 1999 after the Life family purchased, fully renovated and tastefully redecorated the home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Looking Glass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing