We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros & Cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Northside Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Indianapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pros & Cons”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Pros: Location, off-street parking, the hostess.
Cons: Overall, the inn is oddly decorated. I counted 51 plastic flower arrangements in the common areas. There is so much stuff that you can't appreciate the fireplace, woodwork, architecture, etc. A good cleaning would help. Only saw our room (Tiffany) and the 'Wedding Suite.' Our room was as filled with as much stuff as the house, the bed was not comfortable, and the bathroom a bit crowded. The Wedding Suite was in the basement, no windows, musty, and not romantic at all!
Saving grace: We had great conversations with the hostess.
We will be looking for another B&B when we return to Indy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    27
    3
    9
    5
See reviews for
19
88
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The charm of this Bed and Breakfast is never-ending. It starts with a knock at the back door, and we are greeted into the now familiar smell of baking cookies and banana bread. Our host has thought of every possible comfort, including a pantry full of sweet and salty snacks, soft drinks and the aforementioned cookies. Seasonal displays and a ginormous collection of video movies are found everywhere we look. The rooms are pristine, beds are comfy, and jacuzzi tubs are irresistible.

Equally charming are our fellow guests, and enjoying the wonderful breakfast family style gives another dimension to our stay..and we can never get enough of that banana bread. Our 5th visit. Hope for many more!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Marie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Had 15 family members in town for Thanksgiving and needed a "home away from home" for many of them. I contacted Gary, the Innkeeper, who was incredibly helpful in making arrangements and accommodating our needs. The rooms were private and comfortable. Gary's hospitality was supurb. They all raved about the cookie jar. Besides being a great place to stay, it is well located in a small neighboorhood just north of downtown Indianapolis but easy to get to I-65 or I-70 Off street parking was a major plus!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Tiffany Room for our anniversary. The room was very nice. It had a 2 person jacuzzi, large walk-in shower, large closet, and comfortable king size bed. We really liked the fireplace, and the way the window above the bed glowed at night. I will try to include pics. There were plenty of snacks and Fresh Baked Cookies for cookie monsters like myself. The room had basic cable service, a VCR/DVD player, WI-fi service, and a HUGE collection of movies to choose from. Gary was a superb host and seems like an all around cool guy. He gave us a tour of the house and it was obvious to us that he truly cares about providing a quality experience to his guests. Other rooms that stood out to us were The Hollywood Room, really cool, and The Literary Room was notable.

Breakfast was great and you can pretty much choose the time you eat, up to 9:30am There were so many breakfast foods provided it felt more like a breakfast buffet. Gary's home made banana nut bread was our favorite.

There were plenty of clean towels available to us in the room, soft facial tissue, and clean linen. There is a private and well lit parking area behind the house with video surveillance for the safety of your vehicle.

This was only our third B & B experience. I would definitely recommend it! My only regret is that I didn't take some of Gary's home made cookies with me when we left.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed a night here while in Indianapolis. Gary is an amazing host, fun to talk to and makes some amazing baked goods! This was my first B&B experience and I must say it is delightful.

The rooms are quiet and furnished to be relaxing. I slept so well I never wanted to wake up! Gary made a fantastic breakfast and the pricing was great when I compare to the average hotel stay.

The house has all sorts of fun things to look at or play with including a diverse movie library, books on the sorrounding area, and a piano. The neighborhood is cute and by some great restaurants.

My only complaint, if you could call it that, was that I was so relaxed and mellow during my stay I didn't get any extra work done :). I would love to stay here again, just for a vacation though so I can thoroughly enjoy the hospitality and not feel bad for neglecting my work :).

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Peekie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notre Dame, IN
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed for two nights and I loved it! Gary was a gracious and friendly host, and he created a warm and welcoming atmosphere, the room (Dewenter) was lovely, the breakfast was fantastic, excellent home-made cookies and soft drinks were available any time, free wi fi, free parking. Really, stay here!
The B&B is a beautiful home in a historic neighborhood, with a lot of character and very comfortable. It is close to downtown, with a convenient location if you don't want to drive, any taxi trip is just $5 inside the downtown area.
I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have stayed at the Old Northside Inn B&B in Indianapolis a number of times and have always have a wonderful experience! The atmosphere is warm and romantic and our hosts, the Hofmeisters, always make us feel entirely at home.
During breakfasts, which are very tasty, we have met many very congenial people and spent quite a bit of time just chatting with them.
We highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have one or two person jacuzzis in them-very nice for a cozy night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,437 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#7 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,636 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#17 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,356 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Nestle Inn Bed and Breakfast
Nestle Inn Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 18 in Indianapolis
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Northside Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Northside Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Old Northside Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1340 N Alabama St, Indianapolis, IN 46202-2524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Northside Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Old Northside Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing