We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Horrible Horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #139 of 186 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This hotel was dirty, outdated, and the service was terrible. The bathroom was really dirty. The only ready we stayed there was because we were required to do so by our club team in order to participate in the tournament over the weekend.

There was no breakfast like at other hotels, all they had was milk, coffee and some cereal.
One of the other parents said he didnt have a fridge or a microwave, and there was no shower head in his shower!

The head of security (or as she stated she was) was this mean old blond lady. She kept nagging us the whole day and night too while we were at the bar playing pool. She thought that because she was an employee of the hotel she could talk to anyone however she wanted and it was fine. I will definetly put a complaint with corporate on this one.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone! If it wasnt for the entire club staying there, I am sure they wouldnt even have any service.

Room Tip: Dont reserve a room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soccer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

Avoid this hotel if you can. It is in serious need of a makeover and the overall look is dingy, although you can tell it was once a nice hotel long ago. The front desk was also a strong negative. Even though the walls of the hotel are not very soundproof, the desk clerk put me right next to another family even though the hotel was about 95 percent vacant. I had to change rooms because the voices in the next room -- although not abnormally loud -- could clearly be heard. Believe it or not, you also need a key also to get into the business center and use the computer. After going through that, the computers did not work the day I was there. One strong plus, however, is the swimming pool which is very large.

Room Tip: Ask not to be placed in a room next to someone else if possible since the rooms are not very well so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCLastcolony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Yes, the hotel is a bit run down. But the staff always go out of their way to offer help and assistance without fail. I've stayed at this hotel a number of times, and will do so again! I think it would be nice if the bar had a few morning hours, and (unfortunately) it appears that there's no more restaurant, but I vary rarely go to hotels for the attached restaurants (I'm a *HUGE* fan of checking out the local foodie hotspots where ever I am!). Luckily enough, only 8 minutes away is an *amazing* Indopak restaurant called Tandoori King (located at 7220 Rockville Road, Indianapolis, IN 46214).

Room Tip: The rooms near the atrium, are a bit noisy. So, if you're not fond of hearing late night folks e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsabellaDawna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Not very clean. Pool area and breakfast area not well kept. If they truly revenovated the hotel they must have run low on cash by the time they got to our room. Holes in doors, carpet dirty, window locked by a wooden bar. Kind of scary. Luckily, we were only staying for one night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angieandtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We have stayed in this hotel many times. Its our home away from home. We love the service and the lounge and great food they offer. The free breakfast is about the same as any other. The restaurant they have here is awesome. GREAT FOOD!!!! The rooms to be honest with u it all depends on where u are at. This is an older hotel so the rooms in the back of the hotel are old lol... If you are gonna stay here get a room close to the atrium. We stayed in there suites for a few bucks more and it was well worth the money. The pool and hot tub are really nice. Its actually a real pool deep in one end and shallow in the other just like a pool should be. The hot tube is huge and hot and workout room is nice too. The service was awesome here as we checked out we noticed we had a flat tire with no spare one of there maitenance man I think his name was Paul saved our day he actually got us back on the road. It was our anniversary get away so with the restaurant and lounge and the suite it was nice to have it in all one spot.

Room Tip: Room 209 is very nice large suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dperino, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to give us such a good review. I have shared your comments with the rest of the staff, including Paul. We are in the process of updating the *back wing* and look foward to seeing you the next time you are in town,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My saga began when I entered my room only to find a strong cigarrette smell and had to change rooms. My replacement room initially seemed fine, but on closer observation left alot to be desired. The knobs on the AC were broken so I could not tell what the level was, The Hotel phone did not work, the Bathroom tub was filthy and the caulking in the bathroom was more suited to a Motel 6. I went to the fitness room and the cold water side was inoperative. My breakfast the following morning was scanty and the staff forgot to leave out bowls for oatmeal. I certainly expected more for close to $90.00 a night. Overall very poorly maintained and dirty atmosphere. Don't bother with this one.

Room Tip: Avoid the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frederick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dperino, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

This post took me totally by surprise and I wish I had the opportunity to speak to this guest, because *a dump* is the furthest thing from the truth. Yes the property is older, but it is a clean place to stay and a great full service Hotel for the budget minded person. I do always encoiurage and appreciate constructive criticism and work hard to make this the best place to stay in Indianapolis.Thank you for letting me know about the Water Cooler and a new one was ordered immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Beware of housekeeping. They ignore the do not disturb signs and enter your room. My room had personal items removed so "they could clean" even though we had late check out prearranged and a do not disturb sign on the door. I was so glad I had taken my laptop with me!! Hotel is not well maintained - smelly and dirty.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FtMyers49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis West
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northwest-Park 100
5.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Northwest
Clarion Inn & Suites Northwest
#90 of 186 in Indianapolis
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis South
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area
13.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Indianapolis
Country Inn & Suites Indianapoli...
#116 of 186 in Indianapolis
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2930 Waterfront Parkway West Dr, Indianapolis, IN 46214-2007 (Formerly Clarion Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 186 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range: £53 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wealth of amenities in a prime location at the Clarion Inn(R) hotel in Indianapolis, IN. Our pet-friendly hotel is minutes from Indianapolis International Airport and Indianapolis Motor Speedway and close to: •Indiana Convention Center •Lucas Oil Stadium •Bankers Life Fieldhouse •Indianapolis Museum of Art •Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis Feel relaxed and at home in our inviting guest rooms, offering poolside or lakeside views. All rooms feature coffee makers and hair dryers. All rooms also include refrigerators and microwaves. Additional amenities include: •Free deluxe continental breakfast •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free newspaper •Indoor heated pool and hot tub •Fitness center *Business Center *Laundry Facilities Corporate travelers will appreciate the ability to take care of basic business needs with access to our business center, which includes a public computer and copy and fax services. Our 17,500 square feet of banquet and meeting facilities and professional staff make it easy to plan and host your next special event. Make your reservation today at the Clarion Inn hotel in Indianapolis, IN for the best combination of affordable rates and home-like amenities in a perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Indianapolis
Clarion Indianapolis
Indianapolis Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing