We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #142 of 180 Hotels in Indianapolis
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great surprise”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Based on the reviews, I didn't know what to expect, but it had everything going for it for this type of hotel and price. We had a couple of adjoining rooms for a race at the speedway, which was conveniently within a couple miles of the hotel (probably the best reason for this location), and it was nice to be able to spread out among family. A 9-yr-old in our party had a great time swimming, and the surrounding area with skylights was nice for reading. Breakfast (included) was serviceably decent for the room price -- not "just" unthawed pastries and toast (which were present) but also waffles, eggs, sausage, yogurt, fruit, cereal, and oatmeal. Shuttle was easy for airport, although it doesn't run all the time, so be sure to check -- when it does, it's cheaper than a taxi. The location is farther from downtown, unfortunately, but is otherwise only lacking in terms of walkability to restaurants or other services, but the surrounding lakefront condo development streets are quiet, safe, and great for a jog or walk. Farther afield, about 6 miles up the road, is Eagle Creek park with a great trail system. If this location meets your needs, then, go for it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dperino, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
We love the fact that we were able to surprise you and offer a good product at a good price and truly hope to see you as our guest again. Thank you so much for choosing the Clarion Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    31
    25
    27
    53
See reviews for
52
13
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

W O W is not a powerful enough word to describe my stay at this wonderful hotel...The accommodations, cleanliness, friendliness and assistance of the personnel was second to none...Vicki, one of the Manager's, was most helpful and returned my calls in a timely manner regarding questions I had about my stay...The breakfast provided was tasty and incredible...The employees that handled the breakfast were so helpful, friendly and attentive...The front desk workers were a joy to deal with...It's located in a beautiful area and if you are a race team or individual looking for a place to stay...This is it...So close to Lucas Oil Raceway you could walk there...The enclosed domed swimming pool and hot tub area...Double W O W...It rivals any motel I have visited...Frankly, I never considered staying there because I believed it would be to expensive...Wrong answer...More than fair and affordable...I have recommended it to many and now consider it my hotel of choice and will book it each time I'm in Indy regardless of business or pleasure...The best value for your time and money without question.............

Room Tip: Pool side is neat..................
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dperino, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you so very much for your rave review. We have shared your feedback with all our departments and excited to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover Park, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Average hotel. You get what you pay for, so we were okay with the minimal housekeeping service, lousy "breakfast," and limited bar. But when our group reserved a block of rooms, it would have been nice if the management had mentioned that the convention being held at the same time was an S&M event. Our group included children, who now couldn't use the pool, or even walk though the lobby. Totally unacceptable!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dperino, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your last visit in Indianapolis. We appreciate you as our guest and truly hope that you will consider staying with us, even though we had some shortcomings. Please give me a call at 317-299-8400 x421 so I may help you with future accommodations and to keep the lines of communication open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Hotel appears to be in transition...from a Holiday Inn to a Clarion Hotel...updates are obviously needed...hotel was reasonably priced especially with our AAA discount. We stayed at this hotel as a preview to our conference/convention next year...room was clean and appeared to have a few updates...new carpet...etc. We understand new flat screen TV's will be installed in each room as they are updated. Everything worked in the room - including the refrigerator and microwave oven - which are very helpful when staying away from home. Only one elevator for this large hotel, which we found to be very strange. Free breakfast was good - we had choice of cold cereal; Danish; bagels; toast; eggs and sausage; yogurt; milk; coffee, juice. We noticed lots of people made bagel sandwiches with the egg patties and sausage links!

Room Tip: We chose a "lakeview" room and were given a room on the 3rd floor at the end of the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dperino, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you so very much for your honest feedback. Responses like yours show us our strengths and weaknesses, as well as the areas we still need improvement. As indicated our flat screen TV's were delivered this week and slowly but surely we are seeing the light at the end of the tunnel with our major renovations. We look forward to seeing you again to show off our *new look*. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is a very nice hotel to stay at. This was my 4th year staying there for the Indy 500. The manager Doris there is so very kind as she works with me every year to help with the duration of my stay. She and the staff are extremely freindly and always willing to assist for a guest needs or if any issue arrises. The rooms are nice and clean. For as close as you are to the track, the price is very reasonable for the 500 weekend. The pool is clean and enjoyable after a long, hot day at the track. There is a nice little bar/restaurant on site. Being on the little lake is very nice as well. For comfort, price, friendliness of staff and overall experience, I give the Clarion Waterfront a 5 star, 100% satisfaction rating. Thank you Doris and the Clarion staff for being a part of another great trip to the Indy 500 and we will be back next year!!

Jim - Allen Park, MI

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lakeside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dperino, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review the Hotel and staff. We are so very happy that you did and work hard to make each and every stay of our guest the best one. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Dirty in general, room key didn't work most of the time because of a broken card reader, exterior entrance door #3 another broken card reader, loud people from a car club partying in the parking lot and left empty beer bottles in the bed of our truck, elevator broke down that evening, broken juice dispenser at breakfast. The theme of the hotel was "Out Of Order" doubt we'd stay again and we usually always stay at choice hotel properties so we're not looking for anything fancy just not in a dirty state of disrepair.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shari_and_james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dperino, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Please accept my apology for your recent not so pleasant stay at our Hotel. Please be assured that the door locks have been fixed and the elevator was serviced immediately. We are working very hard to improve the property further and thankful for people who bring to our attention our short comings. I would love to host you again as our guest, and hope that you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is our 2nd year staying in this hotel for the Indy 500 and we have yet to be disappointed. Many improvements over last year so it made this years stay even more enjoyable. The staff and owner are very friendly and go out of their way to be accommodating to all of their guest. Not to mention the rooms are reasonably priced for a race weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dm_turner62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dperino, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you so very much for your review and so glad you joined us again this year for *that little race around the corner*. Our renovations are in full swing and we truly hope to see you again next year.

Warm regards, Doris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis West
5.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Northwest
Clarion Inn & Suites Northwest
#98 of 180 in Indianapolis
113 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Airport Suites
Best Western Airport Suites
#89 of 180 in Indianapolis
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Indianapolis Airport-Rockville Rd.
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area
3.2 mi away
Motel 6 Indianapolis - Airport
Motel 6 Indianapolis - Airport
#125 of 180 in Indianapolis
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2930 Waterfront Pkwy W Dr, Indianapolis, IN 46214 (Formerly Clarion Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 180 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wealth of amenities in a prime location at the Clarion Inn(R) hotel in Indianapolis, IN. Our pet-friendly hotel is minutes from Indianapolis International Airport and Indianapolis Motor Speedway and close to: •Indiana Convention Center •Lucas Oil Stadium •Bankers Life Fieldhouse •Indianapolis Museum of Art •Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis Feel relaxed and at home in our inviting guest rooms, offering poolside or lakeside views. All rooms feature coffee makers and hair dryers. All rooms also include refrigerators and microwaves. Additional amenities include: •Free deluxe continental breakfast •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free newspaper •Indoor heated pool and hot tub •Fitness center *Business Center *Laundry Facilities Corporate travelers will appreciate the ability to take care of basic business needs with access to our business center, which includes a public computer and copy and fax services. Our 17,500 square feet of banquet and meeting facilities and professional staff make it easy to plan and host your next special event. Make your reservation today at the Clarion Inn hotel in Indianapolis, IN for the best combination of affordable rates and home-like amenities in a perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Indianapolis
Clarion Indianapolis
Indianapolis Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing