We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed here 3/12-3/14. I was impressed by the place.

Rooms are nicely renovated in a very contemporary trendy style. My room was adjacent to the open atrium, however noise was minimal. The Room comes with a mini-fridge. Closet space is a bit limited if you need a lot of wardrobe space, The HVAC system works great and allows you to keep a fan on all night which is a big plus for me. Shower stayed fairly hot but there was not a massaging showerhead.

Not much is included with the room (seperate charge for wifi, breakfast, etc.) For the price, I would like to see one or both of these included.

I did not use the fitness center but did use the heated indoor pool. The pool temperature was nice and warm. The fitness center area is smaller but kept up very nice.

I only ate at Starbucks which is located in the lobby, pricing is consistent with other Starbucks.

The location is awesome as you can't really get more downtown than the Hyatt. It is connected to the Circle Center Mall as are several other hotels.

When I arrived, the front desk agent was very nice but unable to see if it made sense for me to change to a AAA rate and recommended I call the reservation phone number. I felt that this was a bit odd.

I was in the hotel for two nights and ended up leaving with very dry skin and chapped lips. I am not sure if it had anything to do with the room or the soap or even the pool but it is possible. I was outside a lot in the cold air during this trip, so maybe it was completely coincidental and indepenent of anything in the hotel. However, I am from Michigan so my skin is pretty used to cold, dry air.

Room Tip: If you want a cool view of the atrium lobby from above, choose a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear bryan22,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and for your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed our prime downtown location and newly renovated guest rooms. Your comments and feedback are appreciated. Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    472
    227
    87
    69
See reviews for
261
266
68
762
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt for a friends bachelorette party. The hotel was clean and modern. The rooms were on the small side but very crisp and spotless beyond belief. Service was ok, it took a while for us to get checked in to our rooms. There was a young man at the front desk, I believe his name was Gail, he was very personable and offered tips on places to visit in the vicinity. The location was great and within walking distance to major restaurants and bars downtown. One major perk was the easy access to Circle Center Mall. The hotel is connected to the mall via skywalk. The amenities in the room were nice and they even provide a tube of toothpaste which I found to be a nice touch. My only complaint was the parking. The parking garage was pricey at $22 per night. This does seem to be the trend in downtown Indy. The garage was slightly difficult to navigate and it took a minute to find a spot. Overall, I was highly impressed with the Hyatt and will return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMT6510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear AMT6510,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a flattering review and for your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our recently renovated guest rooms and the customer service of our Front Desk Agents. We look forward to your return visit to stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincennes, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I swing in for a 3 day stint from Monday 3/11/13 to Wednesday 3/13/13 to check out the conference that my company has paid for. Usually I don't like to gripe, but WOW! They charge out the nose for parking in the garage even though you are a GUEST! Why can't they put it on the room so the company picked up the tab? It cost me about $87 for 3 days. That came out of MY pocket. YEAH! A few people I met wanted me to go to a restaurant for dinner and I made the mistake of agreeing. I go down, get in the company vehicle and try to leave. Before I can leave I have to pay $44 on Tuesday night. I was so ticked off I decided NOT to go and came back to the hotel. NOW.... I just left.... and now the parking garage is "FULL"". It was about 60% empty when I left and they're trying to tell me that I need to pay them the extra money for "VALET PARKING"" I said NO, I've already paid more than I usually spend on food in a week for two days of parking and would rather self park. I asked "how can it be FULL? I just left and it was almost empty? The Sneering Valet says, yeah,"it fills up pretty fast"". Ok... whatever... Where can I park? He said ""go next door to the mall and try their garage."" What choice do I have? pay the VALET? I'm the kind of person that has to right the wrongs so I'm not going to give him money for his little CON and said Sure... I park in the garage next door. Walk back to the hotel, go down into the garage of the hotel. SUre enough... less cars than there were when I left. WATCH YOUR BACK if you stay here. or just be a SMO and pay the con. If I had stayed without moving my truck for 3 days it would have only cost $66. Yeah.. ONLY

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Anthony E,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and will follow-up with our valet service.

Best Regard,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

What I noticed the most was how small the room was. It was clean though. Didn't like the artwork much. The elevators were nice, but the lobby wasn't very nice. The food at the breakfast restaurant was not very good, wish I had skipped that meal. Pool was closed our first night of two. Disappointing.
The hotel connects to the Circle Center Mall through walkways. It was nice, not having to go outside to go shopping. Overall, don't know if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Jennifer P,

Thank you taking the time to write a review and for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. Our apologies for the unscheduled closing of the pool. We hope that you would come back and stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

They have it all figured out. Bathroom is just right. Beds comfortable. Plugins everywhere. This place is always top notch. Location right downtown, with everything you need. Front desk is very helpful and always nice! Some of the quietest rooms I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redleader4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Redleader4,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Indianapolis and for taking the time to write such a kind review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our recently renovated guest rooms and that our staff was able to provide you with exceptional service. Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Nice place overall:

On the plus side:
Reception was very prompt and professional. Conceirge and ready to help always there and friendly. I asked for a slightly late check out and was denied, except that I called later and was allowed.

Bathroom was exceptional..,not big but everything worked well and nice toileteries.. room was very nice too. I got a super view of the nearby state house. But, the room just accross from the elevators where I was, were terrible for noise from the elevators. I should have moved but....

lobby is kind of open and has a bit of a cold vibe...but certainly nice enough

also, housekeeping will knock at 830 and try to come it...a bit early for me!

Room Tip: stay away from the rooms ending in xx20. Ask for a view if possible tho Great, best organic plain y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear jidoo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our recently renovated guest rooms. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you have the opportunity to come back and stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

love the hotel being so close to downtown. our room was clean and comfortable and the bed i so wanted to take it home.
the sad part was the fee they try to charge for internet usage. even the fast food and cheap motels offer this free. but no they want to charge you for it. a big negative in my view. also someone thought it would e great to have a dog that barked all night. it echoed through the halls. but somehow no staff from the hotel noticed. as clearly they have a no pet policy.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Hello Charles W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your recent stay. I am pleased to hear the you enjoyed our recently renovated guest rooms, and we appreciate your feedback. I hope that you come back and stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#25 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
#14 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#7 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Property: Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Address: 1 South Capitol Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#15 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#36 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated downtown hotel with a soaring 20 story atrium and vibrant, contemporary decor. 497 renovated guest rooms with high speed Internet access and clean, modern design compliment 25,000 square feet of meeting space with T1 high speed Internet access. Guest rooms feature luxurious bedding, marble bathrooms, large workstation with ample lighting, ergonomic seating, two dual line phones, refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons & boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Booking.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing