We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Hyatt Regency. We arrived around noon this past Sunday and were given a room right away. We only encountered the one employee at check-in but she was very personable and made sure to explain everything to us.

The room itself was very nice and the bed was super comfortable. There was some kind of musical organ conference in town, but it didn't affect our stay. In fact, we swam on both Sunday and Monday in their pool and were the only ones in there.

When/if I come back to Indie, I would definitely stay here again. I feel like we got our money's worth.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccoll83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear ccoll83,
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review! I am glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and your time with us. Please come visit us again. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards,
Keith Spinden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    472
    227
    87
    69
See reviews for
261
266
68
762
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

As a Hyatt Platinum member, I have had great service thus far staying at various Hyatt locations. We came here for a wedding, and stayed for 2 nights. The hotel itself is located on one side of an office building, with a central atrium open and some stores (including a Starbucks) on the ground floor. The lobby is nice, but the rest of the hotel is dated.

The rooms (we had a 2 Queen, and a King room) were clean, but not what I had expected for a Regency. Peeling paint, and not the most updated.

The pool was also dated (metal container in the ground). Fine for limited use, but felt a little uneasy using it looking so old. This also goes for the hot tub as well. Again, because I expected more from a Regency.

The location is great, within walking distance of restaurants, etc.

Overall, I'm not sure if I would stay there on my own (we were asked to stay there as part of the wedding, and I had a discount). I stayed at the Embassy Suites a few years ago, and if the prices were comparable, I'd probably stay at the Embassy Suites over this Hyatt given the fact that you have a living area and sleeping area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwaysbetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located at a perfect spot in Indy; right next to Circle Centre Mall and close to tons of good restaurants. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. I appreciated their list of complimentary items they would give you if you forgot your own (for me it was a corkscrew and toothbrush). They also have a list if things you can borrow for your stay such as robes and a lighted makeup mirror. We stayed on the 19th floor and had a beautiful view. The Unfortunate thing Was The Fire alarm Went off at 2.37 a.m. Management was good at handling the malfunction the next morning and compensated us for the stay. I would say despite the alarm, it was a nice stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lets_travel_add77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Our visit to the Hyatt Regency Indianapolis was beyond expectations from beginning to end. The valets were friendly and helpful. Our room with a view of the capital was spectacular. Kudos and our thanks to MAUD, she was wonderful! We have come to expect the best from Hyatt and we weren't disappointed once again. The location was great, walkable to historic downtown sites. This will be our hotel of choice when we visit Indianapolis again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy8842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Peggy8842,
Thank you for the kind review. I am glad to hear you had a great stay and will be sure to share your words with Maud. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.
Best Regards,
Keith Spinden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Staying at this hotel for a conference, the hotel did well to cater to the conference attendees--there were no major issues that the attendees encountered while at the event. As an event venue, I'd say this hotel is very good.

But, as just a hotel, it's rather average. There's nothing special about it. The rooms are clean; the Internet works; the location in the downtown area is very central; and there are a number of dining options at the hotel complex and in the surrounding area.

The staff at the hotel were less than helpful in a few scenarios--generally around check-out. My keys stopped working to get me into my room and despite a few visits to the front desk to get new keys, I ended up having to get help from the cleaning staff to open my door.

Secondly, there was a scenario where cleaning came into a room of a conference attendee and apparently did the "check out cleaning." When the attendee came back to his room to actually check-out, he found his suitcase missing. Despite raising the issue with the front desk multiple times, he was unable to get anyone to help him find his suitcase and he ended up leaving the hotel without it. A call with the cleaning/maintenance supervisor a day later resulted in him paying to have the hotel ship it back to him. Less than ideal, but the cleaning staff was unable to find it while he was physically at the hotel.

So, if you need somewhere to stay, it's an average and clean hotel. Just don't expect a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were here to visit with family. The facility and the staff did a great job at making us feel welcome and comfortable. Honorable mentions go to Shay, Teyon, Adam amongst others.

The bar is a great place to relax, watch sports on TV and have a drink.

Our room service experience exceeded our expectations.

Another great Hyatt Regency performance!

Room Tip: We had a corner room for a slight upgrade cost. It was spacious, but a little dark because of where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Greg P,
Thanks for the stellar 5 Star review! I appreciate you taking the time to make a review. I will definitely let Shay, Teyon and Adam know that you mentioned them.
Please come back and see us again soon.
Best Regards,
Keith Spinden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Easy check in and check out. The pool was a little chilly, but the hot tub was nice. Liked having the in room fridge. Went up to the Eagles Nest for a drink. Very pretty at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jguynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#25 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
#14 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#7 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Property: Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Address: 1 South Capitol Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#15 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#36 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated downtown hotel with a soaring 20 story atrium and vibrant, contemporary decor. 497 renovated guest rooms with high speed Internet access and clean, modern design compliment 25,000 square feet of meeting space with T1 high speed Internet access. Guest rooms feature luxurious bedding, marble bathrooms, large workstation with ample lighting, ergonomic seating, two dual line phones, refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons & boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing