We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average stay...cant believe this is a Hyatt property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Ranked #21 of 180 Hotels in Indianapolis
New Jersey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location, average stay...cant believe this is a Hyatt property”
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Location is in the center of downtown. Shops, Bars and Restaurants are just outside. Rooms are average, not like any other hyatt I've encountered. Bathrooms need renovation. Staff are not very helpful...we were looking for a spa and they had no suggestions. We asked for directions, we were given wrong directions. ALso I put the do not disturb sign up and a man just walked in my room when I was getting out of the shower. Valet staff are nice. Should be a holiday inn.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinamagill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    500
    247
    94
    72
See reviews for
279
284
72
825
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

COLD UNINVITING ATMOSPHERE. Not all about customer service like most hotels.

Bad news first. I stayed in one of the Capitol View rooms. The room was on the corner of the hotel, and was not too spacious. The coffee did not taste to good, and I had to go all the way down to One South to get some cream or milk for my coffee. My grandmother and I decided to just get starbucks in the hotel. Then our toilet broke, and the handle would not flush the toilet. We had to take the lid off and lift the chain until it was fixed the next day as we requested.

There was another important aspect of this hotel. I do not get to stay in hotels very often, so I come to a hotel to enjoy the atmosphere of a hotel. The Hyatt seems like an apartment building. It is just so big and half of the building is an office building. The atmosphere is one of an office building. It is hard to describe, but it just seemed so cold in the Hyatt and the customer service seemed pretty unwilling to say anything to you such as Good Morning or something like that unless you talked to them first.

Now I am going to start on the elevators. I come from Evansville, small city. I do not get the opportunity to ride such fast and nice elevators very often. These are the nicest elevators in any of the hotels I have been inside of in Indy. There is a 20-story atrium and the elevators look down on them. They are fast and the view they provide is absolutely amazing! (Glass elevators)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blakestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattIndy, Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Hello blakestravel!

Thank you so much for your review about our property. We are happy you enjoyed our elevators during your stay! They are one of a kind in Indianapolis.

We were concerned to hear about your room condition and the atmosphere of the hotel. This is not the expectation our guests have when staying at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis. We pride ourselves on giving our guests the best experience possible. Thank you for bringing the facets of your stay to our attention, so that we can work to make the corrections and prevent similar situations in the future. I personally would like to contact you to address the issues of your stay. Would you please contact us at qualityindri@hyatt.com to go over the details of your stay. We look forward to hearing from you! Thank you again for your time and comments!

Thank you!

Rajeev Brown
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Had a nice experince here. Not to much to say just another Hyatt Regency. Super nice fitness center.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWilson500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattIndy, Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
Hello AWilson500!

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent visit to Hyatt Regency Indianapolis. I’m happy to hear that you had a nice experience and enjoyed our fitness center. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Thank you again for your time and comments!

Rajeev Brown
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2011

check inn fast,,1st. night not bad, next morning going to the bathroom the shower dairy, to toilet not working well, 2nd. night well people running outside room, shouting I need to call front desk 3 times it took one hour to fix the outside problems, The morning restaurant, and valet parking very good,
A the end I asked for my bill and they didn't apply my payment made through hotel.com I need to show them a copy of my printed reservation.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertoRivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattIndy, Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
Hello AlbertoRivera,

We were concerned to hear about your stay and realize that this is not the expectation our guests have when staying at Hyatt. We pride ourselves on giving our guests the best experience. Thank you for bringing the facets of your stay to our attention so that we can work to make the corrections to prevent similar situations in the future. I personally would like to contact you to address the issues of your stay. Would you please contact us at qualityindri@hyatt.com to go over the details of your stay. We look forward to hearing from you! Thank you again for your time and comments!

Rajeev Brown
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

I've stayed at this Hyatt many times over the years. Very pretty and elegant. About as good a workout room as you get in a hotel. Nice, clean rooms. Very close and indoor walk to the mall. Good bar.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasGatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rensselaer IN
Level Contributor
180 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Well my gal booked this place as a pre v-day getaway for just us to be alone. Upon arrival everything seemed great. The valet was very nice but when we got up to the room it became a different story real quick. The room was filthy, The bed looked like it was layed in, the floors were dirty and the bathroom was still dirty from the previous guest. The ottoman had a huge stain on it that was just vile. So we went down and asked for a new room. We looked at 2 other rooms which included the best room they had to offer and all the same filth everytime. In there top room there was still blue painters tape left on the walls where they stopped painting. Come on really. Now I understand its a 4 star hotel but its not a one star. So we asked for our money back., The front desk was very understanding and courteous. We ended up staying at the Omni hotel that night and were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattIndy, Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
Hello jgflys,

I am sorry to hear of the recent experience you had at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis. Could you please message me the details of your reservation? I would be happy to further look into these issues. I can be reached at qualityindri@hyatt.com. We look forward to hearing from you! Thank you again for your time and comments!

Rajeev Brown
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

I have stayed at this Hyatt in years past. We travel to Indy frequently for cheer competitions. We stayed at another hotel, and bad weather came in so we needed to stay another night. I went to the Hyatt and they were accommodating to get me in a room for the best possible price. We were with some of my daughter's friends and asked for the same floor, I was disappointed that we didn't get the same floor or an explanation as to why we didn't get the same floor. The room was dusty, but otherwise clean. I mentioned it at checkout and the gentleman at the desk offered me Starbucks for the inconvenience, which I appreciated. Because of the layout of the hotel, it can be noisy and the elevators can take awhile if there is an event with a lot of kids, like the cheer competition.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homeykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 180 in Indianapolis
1,417 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#15 of 180 in Indianapolis
2,269 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#5 of 180 in Indianapolis
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 180 in Indianapolis
1,402 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis Hotel & Suites
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Property: Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Address: 1 S Capitol Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#15 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#36 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated downtown hotel with a soaring 20 story atrium and vibrant, contemporary decor. 497 renovated guest rooms with high speed Internet access and clean, modern design compliment 25,000 square feet of meeting space with T1 high speed Internet access. Guest rooms feature luxurious bedding, marble bathrooms, large workstation with ample lighting, ergonomic seating, two dual line phones, refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons & boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing