We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Over the hill property, cleanliness not great”
Review of Omni Severin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Severin Hotel
Ranked #13 of 186 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a nice property in a great loacation. Right in the heart of downtown Indy, close to great restaurants and everything else Indy has to offer. The service was great, helpful at checkin , great with questions. The rooms while well kept up were clearly out of date: the hallways and doors cramped, the layouts spoke to 1980 while the furniture and decor was more modern and upscale. The cleanliness was a bit lacking: lot of hair in that bathroom that wasn't mine. The public spaces were nice, spacious and good amenities all around. Overall nice place but in this price range I expect better rooms and better cleaning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RolloX24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Our location can’t be beat, but we’re sorry that you didn’t like the layout of the hotel. Unfortunately the structure and layout of the rooms and public space is difficult to change without drastic renovations, but we renovated the rooms in the last two years to provide modern amenities. We also apologize for any cleanliness issues. In the event that a room isn’t properly cleaned when you check in, we ask that you call the front desk so we can change your room or have housekeeping come and clean the room. We hope our positives outweigh the negatives and that you will consider staying with us again next time you are in Indianapolis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,785 - 1,791 of 2,521 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

The quality of the room is not inline with the rate charged. The cost to eat in the restaurant is not for the average quest. You are charged $20.00 for breakfast. It would cost a family of 4 $80.00, just to eat breakfast. If you are in town for a family trip or just to see a game the last thing you want to do is spend a lot of money on breakfast. However there is a Starbucks on site if all you want is coffee. I found the bathroom to be small, there was not enough room to place your toiletry items. The bath towels are stored under the sink next to the toilet with nothing to protect them from being urinated on. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I did spend some time outside enjoying a good cigar, but found that panhandlers are a bit of a problem as you sit outside.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Lonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Our breakfast buffet is comparable to other hotel buffets in the area. With such a wide variety of high quality food options and since it’s all you can eat, if priced lower we could potentially lose money. However we do have the Starbucks as you mentioned, and also continental breakfast options through room service and al a carte breakfast items that are cheaper than our buffet. We’re sorry that the bathroom didn’t have as much vanity space as you had hoped. Being a historic hotel, we have designed the rooms to have the maximum amount of modern amenities as we can within the architectural structure of the room. Despite the fact that you didn’t think we were a good value, we hope you might try us again if you don’t find another hotel in Indianapolis that you prefer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Excellent service and attention to detail. The staff is very quick to address any issues and assure that you have a positive experience. I have stayed at the Omni Severin for the past 19 years while in Indy for business.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We got a real deal on this lovely hotel and we immensely enjoyed our stay there during a weekend in Indianapolis. Our room was elegant and we appreciated that there was lots of closet space to stow our luggage. The staff, from the doormen to the concierge to the desk clerks were unfailingly polite, courteous and helpful. The hotel had thoughtful touches, like the containers of refreshing cucumber and citrus infused water in the lobby. Our only issue was the charge for Wifi. During our trip through the American southeast, this was the only hotel that charged for Wifi. Apart from that, we'd heartily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We always prefer king rooms. They seem to be roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We enjoyed our initial stay because of the hotels presentation and the great service (and personal and entertaining bar staff). However, we returned and had an even BETTER stay! Great price for the accommodations and we received complimentary upgrades to the top floor. Excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank RebPowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I recently stayed at the Omni and it was a heavenly experience. My room was a large corner suite with big windows and it was perfectly appointed. The hotel is conveniently connected to the Circle Center making it easy to access stores and restaurants. All of the staff members were extremely friendly and helpful. This is a great hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Tacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The staff were very nice and polite. The valet parking guys were extremely nice and helpful. Hallways seemed to be clean but the room its self was nice except needed a thorough cleaning. The air vents were very dusty and one of the access panels in the ceiling was hanging somewhat on one side. The carpets needed edged. The balcony had LOTS of cigarette butts all over it (we are non smokers). The toilet would not flush properly and we had to call for repair x2. No exhaust fan of any kind is very hard to deal with in such a small bathroom. Sliding glass door to the balcony did not lock (although you would have to be spiderman to get in that way). lol I did really appreciate the skywalks so that I was able to get to the convention center each morning for training without having to deal with the traffic or weather. Overall, I would stay at OMNI again. Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Janie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 186 in Indianapolis
2,882 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#5 of 186 in Indianapolis
2,403 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 186 in Indianapolis
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 186 in Indianapolis
1,825 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#9 of 186 in Indianapolis
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Severin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Severin Hotel

Address: 40 Jackson Pl, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1077
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#13 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: £104 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Severin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 424
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Severin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Indianapolis
Omni Indianapolis
Indianapolis Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing