We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms need improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Indianapolis
Ranked #23 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I am a Starwood member and got in very late on a Tuesday night. I was very disappointed that I did not receive a better room. The makeup mirror had been ripped off the wall, the phone did not work and the air conditioner did not work at 68, I needed to turn it to 63 to get the room somewhat cool, although I fix not figure out I needed to turn it down that low until the second night.

The view of downtown was very nice, there is a Starbucks in the hotel, a breakfast place next door and the location is great. It would have been nice for the concierge to give us directions via the canal vs the streets. The canal is a nice walk.

As always the Westin Heavenly Bed is heavenly! Just wish they would keep the rest of the room up.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrsTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinIndyGM, General Manager at The Westin Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thanks for the great feedback, we truly appreciate it. I’m sorry that you found the bathroom to be less than what you had expected. The issues you encountered with the makeup mirror, the phone and the A/C are not acceptable; we will certainly look into them and make sure that no one else has to deal with the same problems. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Westin in Indianapolis is excellent......room was clean and well furnished. Location is good...near many sites in downtown Indianapolis. Would most definitely stay here again. Personnel was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinIndyGM, General Manager at The Westin Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thanks for the great review, especially about the staff, the location and the rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have stayed in the Westin Indianapolis a couple of times for business trips. The quality of the hotel is perfectly fine -- rooms/bathroom is clean, comfortable bed, well equipped gym, etc.
However the one thing that is lacking in this hotel is service. I understand that hotels want to skimp on toiletries provided to guests in order to save money, however I had to wait almost an hour for guest services to deliver cotton swabs and cotton balls to my room. Additionally, cleaning service needs significant improvement. They never put away the ironing board and iron if I leave it out in the room and one time, they left two pillows on my bed without covers! I have long hair, which falls on the bathroom floor, and that was never vacuumed.

On my most recent trip to Indy a couple of weeks ago, I ordered room service (steak salad, to be specific). While eating the salad, I noticed that there was a slight crunching sound while I was chewing, which I passed as lettuce that was not properly washed. However at the bottom of my plate, I noticed that there was a large piece of glass in my salad (thank goodness I didn't bite on it!!). I immediately reported the issue, the manager on duty called me right away, and I was compensated accordingly for the mishap, however I would have much preferred this experience to not have occurred at all. It is absolutely unacceptable for a Westin to have this happen and I hope that they properly train their kitchen to avoid situations like this in the future.

All Westins have a "Make a Green Choice" campaign to opt out of daily housekeeping and receive either $5 dining credit or 500 SPG points. The fine print is not very clear on the signage or the $5 cards they give you, but you need to keep the cards during your stay and trade them in for the points at check out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p_s_y_429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinIndyGM, General Manager at The Westin Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thanks for the great feedback, and we certainly appreciate that you have continuously chosen to stay with us while you are in town. My most sincere apology for the issue with your In Room Dining order, that should not happen and we’ll do everything we can to ensure that it never does again. I have forwarded your comments about the housekeeping service to the Housekeeping Manager so that she can use it to help improve our guest experience for future guests. Please know that we value the feedback and will certainly use it to help improve all aspects of our operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family stayed here last week for a couple of nights and had a wonderful time! The location of this hotel could not be more perfect for family outings (zoo, children's museum), site seeing, and dining. The staff was wonderful and very helpful! We could not have asked for better accommodations. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dogloversanantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinIndyGM, General Manager at The Westin Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and share your experience. Glad you had a chance to see some of the wonderful downtown amenities while you were here. Thank you also for the kind words about our staff. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The location was excellent, we walked everywhere downtown and the hotel was just perfect.The room were very average though, the bathroom was literally the smallest I have ever seen, it was only big enough for one person to fit in and then only just !!!
The walls were paper thin, we could literally hear the conversations from the room next door, at 4am the alarm clock from the room next door started going off, I am not sure if anyone was actually in the room but it rang and rang and rang out, after 10 minutes of being awake I called reception and asked if they could sort it out. No one ever came up to their room, the phone didnt ring so I know they made no attempt to call them, so for additional 15 minutes I tried my hardest to not listen to the most annoying alrm clock ever. Eventually it stopped on its own. I was mad though that reception made no attempt at all the stop it.
We visit Indy a couple of times a year, I dont think I would select the Westin as my hotel of choice next time we are in town

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinIndyGM, General Manager at The Westin Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thanks for the great feedback and my apologies for the small room and the noisy neighbors. We certainly dont want that to be the lasting impression. I've passed your comments along to our team and they will use it to help us improve on our guest experience going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed here this past week and had a good experience. We got a great rate on the room, which was clean and spacious. The location is right downtown and allowed us to walk to the bars on Mass Ave, which was a nice plus. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yankeebaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinIndyGM, General Manager at The Westin Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thanks for the great comments about the property and the staff. We truly appreciate it and please know that we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

After the remodel, this place is truly a gem in the city. I know there's a JW Marriott right next door, however, this Westin is a better property, and layout.

Great rooms, nice courtyard views, and up to date amenities. Turn down service is appreciated, as they leave a dark chocolate square on your pillow.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinIndyGM, General Manager at The Westin Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for the great review and for sharing it on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,801 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#4 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,335 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#13 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,496 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
#27 of 185 in Indianapolis
953 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#8 of 185 in Indianapolis
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Indianapolis

Address: 241 W. Washington St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3406
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#22 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#31 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#35 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: £98 - £435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 573
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Indianapolis enjoys an unbeatable location in the heart of the city. Connected by a covered sky-bridge to the Indiana Convention Center, Lucas Oil Stadium and Circle Centre Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Westin Indianapolis
Indianapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing