We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Left before staying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel
Ranked #54 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Left before staying”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Disappointed. When we arrived, the hotel was FILLED with a few sports teams. There were people everywhere. You could barley walk in. Check in was chaotic and you have to go through a courtyard to get to the rooms, which seemed a bit odd. Again, the courtyard was filled with lots of people. We stopped on our way to the room to look at the pool and the smell of the pool was overwhelming. Again, it was filled with people. I have no idea how all of these people could be staying at this hotel. We arrived in our room and I was so disappointed. It had an awful smell and the lighting was horrible. The room had some updates, but nothing that was too impressive. We had reserved a one bedroom suite, but aside from the wall separation, I did not feel like I was in a suite. There was a small fridge and microwave. As we stood in the room not sure what to do all we could hear were people running up and down the hallway, people laughing in the hallway etc. We just knew we were not going to get any rest and since we had a lot of driving the next day we knew this was a poor choice. So, we went back down to the desk and requested to leave. The manager was extremely understanding about the noise and disruption and she canceled our reservation for us and we left. I would say that the staff seemed to be doing the best they could. I know this was great for them, it just did not work for our needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dstratos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Trip Advisor Member,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are so sorry to hear that your arrival experience was overwhelming as well as your initial arrival into your room due to teams occupying the hotel. I am happy to know that our Manager on Duty was able to assist you and refunding you for your stay due to your experience.

I would love to speak to you directly to further explore these matters.

Zachary Donofrio
General Manager
(317) 574-4601
zdonofrio@alliancehospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    113
    50
    22
    19
See reviews for
94
48
37
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I needed to stay in the northern part of Indy. I used Hotwire and got this one. Definitely not a risky option. The hotel is ordinarily well located but mid-July, 2014 there is a lot of construction throughout Carmel and especially this exit. It is a full-service Holiday Inn so the amenities are good but the food prices are high. Very strange that there was very little light in the bathroom so hard to shave. We stayed just one night and arrived rather late and very tired so just crashed. But beware if you are facing the freeway because it can get loud. In fact the hotel provided a "sound machine."

Room Tip: Beware if you are facing the freeway because it can get loud.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FredS2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Trip Advisor Member,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We cannot disagree that the road construction on US 31 can be an inconvenience but we are blessed it does not affect our hotel. We have updated our local maps and INDOT is working with map services for local restaurants, attractions and businesses in the area.

Again thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback.

Zachary Donofrio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
213 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I recently facilitated a four day meeting for a client and the meeting was held in this hotel. The meeting room was set up exactly as requested, breaks and meals were provided on time and as provided in the contract, the room was cleaned appropriately each day. While everyone we dealt with in the hotel provided good customer service, special thanks should go to Ramon, the Banquet Captain, who was outstanding - if we had any questions or issues, he did his best to resolve them immediately, he was always accessible, took the initiative to constantly check in with us and see if there was anything else we needed, and was always pleasant and friendly to work with. He was the epitome of excellent customer service and we appreciated his help.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeingTheWordFromORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Been staying here for years while visiting family and friends in Indianapolis.
Always consistent with frequent remodels.
I enjoy ending the day with a couple of drinks at this hotel bar.
"The Bartender" knows his stuff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

nice clean a little out of the way but nice front desk staff for sure

bartender/ wait staff was only interested in going home

lots of kids groups there- making a little too much noise but that's true anywhere this time of year

I'd go back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Proroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Kyle, "The Bartender", was fantastic. As a business traveler he made the typical dinner scene at a hotel, far from typical. Apparently, he was trained as a flair bartender and so he showed off several tricks for us while we ate and drank. Great guy.

The hotel and amenities were very good as well. Classy looking place.

The only thing that could be improved from my stay was the breakfast. There was only one person on staff, so it was a struggle for the person to keep up. The food was good though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have been traveling to the Indianapolis area frequently this year for medical treatments. I stayed at this hotel 4 times so far this year, and have found it to be very good. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and well maintained. The service is excellent. The hotel restaurant has good food, and a very good selection. The bar is nice, too, and the bartender provides very good service. There is plenty of free parking. The front desk is very accommodating, and moved me to a quieter room one night when I was in a room near the elevator shaft.
My only complaint is that there are often a lot of youth sports teams staying at this hotel. Along with the kids, comes noise in the hallways and near the elevators, sometimes late into the night. Some of the rooms have white noise machines. I just use the app on my tablet, and that works fine.
I am an IHG Rewards Club Gold member, and I usually stay at Holiday Inns or Holiday Inn Express. I have found this hotel to be better than most of the typical Holiday Inn properties.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevator shaft. Also, ask for a room facing the courtyard. Those rooms will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwmiller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indianapolis
0.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Indianapolis Carmel
Drury Plaza Hotel Indianapolis C...
#21 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - Carmel
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Indianapolis Carmel
Courtyard Indianapolis Carmel
#76 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#97 of 178 in Indianapolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Carmel
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Indianapolis North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel

Property: Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel
Address: 251 Pennsylvania Pkwy, Indianapolis, IN 46280 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Indianapolis Carmel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#33 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#59 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Indianapolis Carmel is ideally located in a park like setting in the heart of upscale Meridian Corporate Business Park and minutes away from the beautiful downtown Carmel Arts and Design District. Our unique six story design hotel is the only Holiday Inn located in the Indianapolis area. Renovated, spacious guestrooms and suites offer all the comforts of home including Holiday Inn signature bedding for a restful night sleep, microwave and refrigerator for your convenience and HDTV channels providing an array of viewing options on the 32 inch flat panel TV. Join family and colleagues for breakfast, dinner or drinks in the Terranova Bar and Grill. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi, 24 hour sundry shop and business center. To unwind from the day, take a dip in our indoor pool or whirlpool. Reenergize yourself in the fitness center. Business travelers will find our hotel conveniently located to companies within the North Meridian corridor including St. Vincent Hospital, Liberty Mutual, Delta Faucet, Teradata, Ingersoll Rand, Monster, Bridgestone Firestone, Belden, Verizon, and Thompson Technical. Take the day to enjoy attractions such as Broad Ripple, Children’s Museum, Butler University, The Palladium, Lucas Oil Stadium, and Indianapolis Speedway. We are only 20 miles from Indianapolis Airport. Relax knowing you have made the right choice with Holiday Inn Indianapolis Carmel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Indianapolis Carmel
Four Points By Sheraton Indianapolis Carmel Hotel Indianapolis
Radisson Indianapolis
Indianapolis Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing