We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff and good location to highways”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South
Ranked #67 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night after Indy 500. It was a good location to the city, yet not the higher city prices. We easily drive into the city for activities and also had good places to eat nearby.

The staff was very friendly and helpful offering us suggestions on where to eat. We will plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Diana,

Thanks for taking the time to review us. You are right, we have easy access downtown without the downtown hassles..prices and parking. Best thing is that happens all the time not just during special events. We truly love it when our guests enjoy themselves and want to stay again!! Glad you had a nice time here in Indy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

Driving 1200 miles from Milwaukee to Florida, we left late to avoid Chicago traffic and planned to make a quick pit stop south of Indianapolis before continuing our journey. This location is ideal, about 30 seconds off I-465. We booked two rooms the day of travel and got an incredible rate on one of the travel sites. Free Wi-Fi, free parking, and free breakfast are much appreciated.
We were dead tired upon arrival, but the night clerk made check-in very easy. She was so pleasant at 1:30 a.m. that, despite my sheer exhaustion, she made me smile. We were assigned first floor connecting rooms near the exit door, which made for easy egress in the morning. Despite being on the first floor, we heard not a peep during the night and slept very soundly. We love Holiday Inn beds and pillows - they slurp you in for pleasant dreams.
Rooms were well furnished with coffee service, microwave, mini-refridge, ample toiletries. One in our party didn't have a toothbrush ... the front desk provided one gratis. I really like that HI provides free personal hygiene items, should you forget something.
Free breakfast included scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, sausage patties, instant oatmeal, four cold cereal choices, pancakes, toaster waffles, muffins, pastries, etc. The coffee was good. The chef might put less salt in the scrambled eggs, but otherwise no complaints. Some fresh fruit would be nice for healthy eaters, as would some non-porcine meat (turkey sausage?)
All in all an excellent experience. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FancyFree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Hi! Thanks for your thorough review. We really appreciate your feedback. Especially on what we can do better. We will also forward your ideas to our corporate offices so they can look into expanding our menu. Again, thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We came in from out of town after driving 8 hours and we were exhausted. They were very nice and breakfast the next morning was great. We didn't get time to explore the pool because of a busy schedule while in town. The hotel was clean and the staff take care of you. I had no issues at all. It was a good experience for us being from the south.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fyrecplnga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Barbara,

We truly do appreciate your review. Although we have many stars you are right that Heather is one of the brightest. I am also glad that we can make a returning guest impressed enough to write us a review. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Thank you to all the staff. Our stay was GREAT. We would like to thank Heather. We have stayed at this location before and the experience has always been good, but this time was over and beyond what we needed. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: A room in the back is better, not in the front by parking lot.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Sorry for missing a chance to respond to such a nice review. Thank you for writing about us. I will let Heather know of your nice comments. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed here 1 night for a dance recital weekend. We did check in late (after 8:00) and it was a breeze. Jess at the front desk was very helpful and nice, and I appreciated her attitude and pleasant smile. The room was nice and clean, bathroom was pretty well clean, I had no issues. The pool area was small, but for 1 night, it was plenty of fun for my girls. The only "spot" during my stay is that when they say 10:00 is the end of breakfast, they mean it. Everyhting was completely cleaned up by 10:10. Which was fine, however they were out of juice and everything else non-dairy to drink by 9:35 and when my husband asked if he could water, they showed him the water fountain. Check out was no problem, and again the front desk went above and beyond when my husband asked for an extra package of their awesome make up remover - they gave 3 packs!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aremley99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Hi!

Thanks for reviewing us. I am sorry about the juice. I will look into that, it seems that the breakfast person didn't realize the juice machine can dispense water also. I am very happy to hear that we were able to leave with an awesome final impression! Come back and stay again please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I stayed here for three weeks. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was clean and well maintained. I would most defiantly recommend the hotel to a friend or family member. They are a lot of restaurants in the area. And very quite at nite, good location and just a few minutes from down town Indianapolis.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

What an awesome review. Thanks for hitting so many of our high points! We are glad we could be your home away from home for a while. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Friendly welcome and average cleanliness to facility. Rooms were good, bed a little firm but comfy sheets. Good water pressure and temperature for shower. Plenty if towels. No vent fan in bathroom though. Really like being able to turn the room fan on the heat/ ac unit. It really helps breakup any outside noises. Most hotels don't let you do that. Good location for being only a few minute from downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jc5065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thanks for the kind words about your stay with us. We are glad you found it so easy to get where you needed to be while visiting us. We are close to the action downtown and to Greenwood. There are lots of restaurants near by. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we will use it to help us get better and better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South
Comfort Inn South
#29 of 185 in Indianapolis
262 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis - Southeast
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Indianapolis-South
Hampton Inn Indianapolis-South
#18 of 185 in Indianapolis
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis South
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#99 of 185 in Indianapolis
64 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South

Address: 5151 S East St, Indianapolis, IN 46227-1984
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: £88 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and welcoming staff, comfortable clean rooms and less than 7 miles from the heart of downtown Indianapolis. Each of our rooms features a microwave, mini-fridge, 32-inch flat screen LCD TV, family-friendly PPV movies, and a Keurig coffee maker. Stay with us for a night to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South Hotel Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing