We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service, decent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Indianapolis South
Ranked #73 of 180 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible service, decent location”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This place was insanely disappointing for the Marriott brand, and we will be following up through every avenue we can find to alert them to this fact.
When we arrived, we were put in a room that had not been adequately cleaned. We had started to unpack when we realized that there were newspapers and notes around the room. We called the front desk and they moved us to another room that was slightly larger, and we asked for a manager at this time (Friday afternoon) and were told there was not one available.
We stayed in this room one night, and then the next morning the bathroom light stopped working. We called to report it, but when we got back about six hours later it was still not fixed. We had to call again about it to be told that they were unable to fix it and that we would have to move to a third room. We packed our stuff back up and moved next door to a room with an older, louder, less effective air conditioner and no floor lamps to provide adequate lighting at night. When we asked to speak to a manager, we were transferred to a voice mail on Saturday in the early afternoon.
This room had no major problems, but the next morning we received a list of charges with no sign of apology for the inconvenience of moving rooms twice due to hotel fault. Now, if we were just picky about the bad decorations or strange smell in the third room I can see not doing anything about it, but when your own cleaning staff miss major articles in cleaning a room and then your wiring mysteriously stops working, that's the time to step up and offer some other consolation aside from a different room.
Now, perhaps it's the six years of customer service my wife and I have between us, but there's one more hugely frustrating issue with this hotel: nobody took ownership of the problems. I can only assume that the lower level staff who were there in the managers' absence had no authority to make changes in the course of serving customers, but if you're going to leave no manager for three consecutive days, especially a weekend, in a business that is inseparably linked to hospitality, you may want to consider training them and/or authorizing them to make billing decisions that will ensure future business and prevent bad reviews. I hope the managers understand what they did wrong in ignoring their guests.

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfieldInnGSR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Indianapolis South, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
I apologize if the situation was insufficiently resolved during your stay. The employee who handled your complaints is new, and while that isn't an excuse, I do hope that you'll consider that every effort has been made to fix the error on our side and that you will be willing to try us again should you come back into town. I encourage my employees to be confident and offer compensation for situations like these and I apologize that your issue was not handled well.

I'm very glad that I was able to contact you on Monday to resolve the issue, even though I wish we had been able to do more during your stay for you. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention; we want to improve on our weaknesses and it is very important to us that our employees are up to standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    29
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
15
3
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Basic amenities but for a family with 2 small children (3&6) this was a great property...nice small indoor pool (hot tub was broken so wife wasn't happy about that)...2 queen beds that were very comfortable. Micro and mini fridge to keep some things chilled. Close to many restaurants and right off i-65. About 20 mins to get back into heart of city for stuff but that didnt bother us. Plus was free breakfast that included biscuits/gravy...fresh waffles and a decent selection as compared to other free breakfast places we've been to before.

Room Tip: Hotel is small enough anywhere works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonjaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I just wanted to let Fairfield Inn know that my husband and I wil never ever stay at one of your properties ever! He called last night to get a rate of 84 dollars that was listed online. Phillip the GSR on duty who answered said the rate for Sunday night was $99 and there was nothing he could do about it. My husband has worked for Marriott before and he was able to do that as a GSR, why couldn't he? I spoke with Reanna this morning the General Manager of the Fairfield Inn and Suites South in Indianapolis where we called last night and she said she stood behind Phillip and that he didn't have to us a lower rate and that their system wasn't updated yet to give that rate even if it said so online last night. She was absolutely rude, interrupted me several times and hung up on me. I spoke with the Jameson Inn and they were willing to give a good rate for Sunday night. I hope it was worth Marriott losing a customer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MCRANE0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Very Happy with service and clean. Con if one is the breakfast is small but good.

Room Tip: Nothing to add they have elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mo4049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed here for a shopping/dining trip with my fiance. Close to airport and several nice area restaurants. Close to the freeway for easy access. Nice rooms but could use a little updating.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FormerHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Clean, very comfortable hotel. very close to assortment of restaurants within walking distance. Will definitely stay here again next time to Indy area.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at end of building away fro elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamzeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The bed was very comfortable. The room was clean with flat screen TV. Nice new clean lobby. Breakfast is standard fare for budget hotel. Room is relatively quiet but as with most budget hotels you can here footfalls from the room above you.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deaconridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indianapolis
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Indianapolis South
Courtyard Indianapolis South
#88 of 180 in Indianapolis
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Indianapolis South
Best Western Indianapolis South
#65 of 180 in Indianapolis
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Indianapolis-South
Hampton Inn Indianapolis-South
#12 of 180 in Indianapolis
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis South
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenwood
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Greenwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Indianapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Indianapolis South

Property: Fairfield Inn Indianapolis South
Address: 4504 Southport Crossings Dr, Indianapolis, IN 46237-4641
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 180 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Indianapolis South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly off of exit 103 on I-65 South, our hotel is located just south of Indianapolis. We're a sixty-two room, three-level hotel with both elevators and stairs. On the first floor sits our pool and hot tub, both available from six in the morning to ten at night. Our first floor also hosts our breakfast room, where guests can receive complimentary hot breakfast (included with the price of the room) and have small gatherings at night.Restaurants like Texas Roadhouse, Scotty's Brewhouse, and Cheeseburger in Paradise are within walking distance, making our hotel the perfect lodging solution for sport teams and other large groups that can't pick up and go like smaller families. You'll find shopping malls, chain retailers, and gas stations cropping up close to our location, eager to serve our customers in a quick and timely fashion. Perry Park, which features a large waterpark during the summer and an ice rink during the winter, is only fifteen minutes away and perfect for families with small children at all times of the year.As you travel deeper into Indianapolis and explore the downtown area, you'll find intriguing attractions -- including the Indianapolis Zoo, the world's largest Children's Museum, the Indianapolis Museum of Art, and the White River State Park.Finally, at the heart of the city, you'll find our famous Monument Circle. It holds the Indiana Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument in its center, which pays respect to the fighters of the American Revolution and frequently holds concerts, festivals, and free events on its multitude of steps that lead inside to the Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum and stairs that take you to the top of the monument to look across the city's skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn Indianapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Indianapolis
Fairfield Indianapolis
Indianapolis Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing