We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If I could rate 0 I would.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Express Inn Indianapolis
Ranked #160 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Riverside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If I could rate 0 I would.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Reserved a Non-smoking room. When I opened door the room smelled worse than the guy smoking outside. Cig tar on the walls. Floor was dirty, Sink had hair in it. Bedspread was dirty and ratty and full of holes. Bathroom had a hole in ceiling where vent should be. Sheets were itchy and not completely sure they were clean. When I tried to call front desk the phone didn't work. Got back in car drove to front desk (didn't bother unloading car). They said only room they would have. Talk to manager tomorrow. So next day I make plans to be back at motel (which meant I lost at least 5 hrs. out of my plans that I wanted to do that day). Manager says only room they have. After arguing for 1-2 hrs. he finally said he would give me another room after they had a chance to "clean it." Was the room next door and was just as bad but they had febreezed the crap out of it so the smell didn't knock you over. AND not only did he NOT give me a discount, He had the BALLS to charge me $40 more for the other room. I tried to get into other hotels, there was nothing for 30 miles, so I had no choice. I would have been better off sleeping in my car, But Hygiene says that I need to shower once in a while, which I am not sure how clean I was when I left the bathroom/shower/room. Didn't see any bugs but that would be the only way this could have been worse.

Room Tip: Tip?!?! Don't stay here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    0
    0
    2
    18
See reviews for
3
3
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I can't even begin to explain how horrible our experience was. We were there for only 20 mins, and ended up leaving because the rooms were disgusting. There was a cockroach in our bathroom, the toilet paper had urine on it, there was someone else's dirty underwear hanging on the back of the bathroom door, and I could go on. To top that off, the "manager" Richard, I believe his name was, was basically the most rude human being that I've ever had to deal with. He acted as though nothing was wrong, and told us he could not refund us anything, but could place us in another room. That may have been an option, had another couple 3 rooms down from us not been getting back in their car after only walking in their room to unpack. They said their room was filthy and they hoped that ours was better. So we assumed that moving rooms would have been pointless. Luckily we know better now, and will NEVER be staying at another Knights Inn ever again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah7277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Indianapolis hotels

Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

terrible place!!! even the bed bugs are moving somewhere better. The manager Shawn is a joke they will mislead you and take your money. They don't care about customer service or quality as long as they can get you to reserve before you see the place. don't think they will refund your money either

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Well, we had read the other reviews and tried anyhow. We were in Indy for a NASCAR race. We had been to enough races to know stay in a hotel away from the track. Plus we were trying to save some money. The other reviews aren't that far off. We didnt' get scabies - but it was VERY dirty. I don't mean a little I mean grossly. There was some sort of huge stain right inside the door. But at first that was all we saw. However, the bathroom was really bad. Other peoples hair and yukky mildew. The tub looked really old and not taken care of. The towels weren't dirty, but they were dingy and stained - which REALLY shows on white. The sheets were the same story. Not dirty, but dingy and stained. The TV worked but was distored on the top 1/3 of the screen. The dresser was obviously in a bit of disrepair and not level as the two drawers didn't stay shut. The tub didn't drain. So we were waiting about 20 minutes between each persons shower before the next could go. I mean, for one night, whatever. The bed wasn't great... but in the end, we were in the room less than 12 hrs. What really made us angry, the breakfast in the morn (also a joke) had coffee. I got one for my husband and I. Took a sip... IT WAS COLD! Dirty bathroom. Old, worn down beds. Stains on the carpet.... COLD COFFEE! Ick. Wont stay here again.

Room Tip: Probably should just skip this joint
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

OMG the pictures of this Hotel are a lie. Stated it had a Pool - it does not. Its ran down, Dirty, my kids caught scabies from here. Worst Hotel ever, the manager is very rude - NOT customer friendly. The manager did not want to give me a refund. Dont Go there!!!!

Room Tip: Dont stay here at all its Infected- Scabies are MITES that borrow into your skin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dothedangthang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Beware - Stay away from this motel. We reserved 3 rooms with king size/ non smoking beds. We got 3 standard smoking rooms instead. The room were very dirty and poorly kept. One of the rooms already had someone staying in that room. Very scary place ! We walked out in 5 minutes. Knight Inn charged my credit card and refused to refund even though we didn't stay. Save you money, keep safe, and stay away from this place !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hari m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

On a recent trip for a concert, we had reserved a room at this Knights Inn location. The lobby was clean, but had an employee (family member) sleeping on the couch. We checked in, were sent to our room at the back part of the property (property seemed vacant) and driving up to the parking space, the property just looked deserted/run down. Every single room had a "protected by ADT" sticker on the window. Upon entering, the room was dirty. The walls and lamp shade was stained like someone sprayed soda all over. When checking the bed for bedbugs which we do with any hotel, there were none but under/behind the bed was beyond dirty with plenty of trash, and looked untouched for years. The bed sheets were not fitted. The pillows were super thin, only two on the bed, with both the bed and pillows being uncomfortable. The bathroom was dirty, and was super small, with almost enough room for one person. There was a big piese of loose plywood where maybe a cabinet under the sink used to be. The TV remote did not power the TV, but did change the channels. The TV, very old had picture problems on each channel with the top quarter being scrambled but the bottom 3/4 ok, still very annoying. The floorboards were wobbly near the bed and felt like you would fall through. The only positive side to the hotel was that you could park directly in front of your room/door. This hotel is so run down and reminded us of a horror flick. After only 10 minutes in the room, we got a refund and left. This property should not be renovated, it should be torn down.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere, even sleeping in your car is better then here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank radze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn East
Quality Inn East
#100 of 178 in Indianapolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn East Indianapolis
Comfort Inn East Indianapolis
#103 of 178 in Indianapolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis E...
#93 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Indy East
Americas Best Value Inn-Indy Eas...
#120 of 178 in Indianapolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Indianapolis East
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express Inn Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express Inn Indianapolis

Property: Express Inn Indianapolis
Address: 7101 E 21st St, Exit 89, Indianapolis, IN 46219-1761 (Formerly Knights Inn Indianapolis East)
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Express Inn Indianapolis 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Express Inn Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing