We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, poor facility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Ranked #56 of 188 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2011

What a shock (and disappointment) to have the Marriott name attached to this property. On the plus side, the staff couldn't be nicer...courteous, accommodating and willing. The rooms, however, left much to be desired. Paper thin walls allowed me to hear the occupants walking above and talking in the room next to ours. Those same thin walls also allowed me to know when they were using the bathroom. Not good!!! Also, when the fan/blower kicked in for the AC, it did so with a bang each time. This is not conducive to a good night's sleep. The kitchen area was hopelessly outdated and made me not want to even use the kitchen. The TVs are not flat screen or hi def. It's hard to go backwards on this when you are used to viewing hi def. The TV in the bedroom was basically impossible to watch. This facility is desperately in need of an upgrade. Shame on the Marriott for even letting it get to such a point. For what I paid for my room, it was a rip-off.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UConnfan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2011

First, the front desk staff go out of their way to make an extended stay like being at home away from home. Cherie, Annette, John and Connie greet you personally to make you feel welcome and go out of their way to assure your comfort during your stay. A simple task such as giving extended stay guests a laundry basket ( cost less than $5 ) instead of those unwieldy plastic bags to carry one's dirty clothes to the laundry room make the stay enjoyable. Second, the hotel is on a canal. Joggers, walkers, bikers etc can be seen every day and in better weather you will see paddle wheel boats, kayaks and an occasional gondola on the water. 2 seater and 4 seater bikes are available in season for rent. A trip around the canal is approx. 3 miles. There are several museums, condos and
a college campus for Indiana U and Purdue U on the canal. You are within walking distance of Lucas Oil Stadium, Conseco Fieldhouse, Indiana Repertory Theater and downtown Indy including Circle Center Mall . Free Breakfast is served daily at the hotel and free meals are served several evenings for those too tired to venture out to numerous restaurants also within walking distance.Swimming pool, hot tub and exercise room are also on the premises. I just completed my fourth stay at the hotel and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMcHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Simple touches make this hotel stand out. Friendly check in with a welcoming note from management for starters. A problem with the front gate so they eliminate the nightly parking charge when you know most would still insist on it. Coffee at 5 a.m. when breakfast officially starts at 6. (I've literally had other hotel dim the lights in the lobby until the official breakfast time and refuse to turn them on.).
This hotel gets it. Treat people like they're at home.
Now, for the big things. The room was clean and the bed comfy. The social hour had decent options and plenty of them. The hotel also is centrally located for restaurants and bars and even has a canal walk running behind the property, which is ideal for a little jog or brisk walk.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suncoastrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

A great stay. Had room on 4th floor facing the canal. You get your own apartment at a Residence Inn--and this property is no exception. Staff was top notch. Room was spotless. Did NOT need vacuming like many hotel rooms do. And a full 6+ coffee maker--not the downsized versions found these days in most hotels that make just 1 cup. Full kitchen. Microwave popcorn. Free weights in the weight room. One free Uniguest computer. And unlike most hotels which have HD TVs but not HD channels--this property has the traditional TV. Ask for a room facing the canal. And if it is a weekend avoid the outrageous $17 parking charge and park on the street. Walk to the mall and nearrby restaurants--a cab is hardly needed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Did overnight trip with family to Indy. Very pleased with this Residence Inn. Located right on the canal. Very relaxing view and good amenities such as billiards room, pool, and fitness rooms. Staff was very friendly and even upgraded our room for us! Parking was steep ($17.00) but found space on street to park for free. Definitely plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famu1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We had to be in Indy to go to the Indiana University hospital. We had to bring our little dog along with us. The Residence Inn was the most pet friendly hotel we've ever stayed at. The staff were absolutely wonderful, helpful, and supportive. (Thanks Annette and Courtney!)

If we're ever back in Indianapolis again, we will definately stay at the hotel again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrlsRul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I stayed at the Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal for two nights in August 2010. My stay was excellent! Check-in was very easy and we even asked for a room change to be closer to a friend who was staying there at the same time. The location is very good, being right on the canal. You can go down to the lower level and walk right out to the sidewalk! It's near the highway so it was easy to get back from excersions around town and in downtown, so there was easy access to the sites and resturants there. Rooms were clean and appointed with needed ammenities. One of the televisions in our room was upgraded to a flat screen and one needed to be. Our friends room didn't have either upgraded so that is something they should work on. Breakfast was declious with lots of variety and the fresh cookies in the afternoon were a great treat!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newbutterfly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol
Downtown Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
#27 of 188 in Indianapolis
997 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#4 of 188 in Indianapolis
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal

Address: 350 W New York St, Indianapolis, IN 46202-3240
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#29 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#41 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: £116 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal is the only hotel in downtown Indianapolis on the Historic Canal! Experience our modern look, high-tech amenities and beautiful views. Our Indy hotel on the Canal provides apartment-style suites with full kitchens, free WiFi, separate living areas and 32" flat-screen TVs. Enjoy complimentary grocery shopping service, free daily breakfast buffet and evening social hour plus the least expensive parking in downtown. From our balcony and terrace overlooking the Canal to our location just minutes from Lucas Oil Stadium, State Capitol and White River State Park, our pet-friendly Indy hotel on the Canal is perfectly positioned for great extended stays. Be sure to take a stroll on the adjacent running/walking path right outside our doors, rent a paddleboat, bike, Segway or feed the ducks! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown On The Canal Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing