We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend get a way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Ranked #35 of 179 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Weekend get a way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My stay at the residence Inn On the Canal/January 14,2012 was very nice. The room was wonderful. Only problem I think they over charge for parking $17.00 if we are staying at your facility it should be free and included in the stay

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    112
    40
    14
    3
See reviews for
127
59
11
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jenison, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here for two night in January 2012 during a swim meet. Our room had just been renovated and was missing a couple items. The staff was very accomodating to get us the items needed.
The staff was very friendly any time we walked through the lobby or needed to speak with them.
Hot breakfast with waffles, eggs and more.
This is right on the channel so we feed the duck and walked the channel.
We will definatly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you get a choice choose the channel side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shecar1136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for a swim meet. The location was perfect. Within walking distance to IU and other downtown destinations. The room was very spacious and well appointed. The beds were great and it was awesome to have a kitchen. The pool/spa area was very well maintained and provided some much needed relaxation. The morning breakfast was hot and fresh and very convenient. Lastly, the staff could not have been friendlier. Every time we entered or left the hotel, we were greated. Thanks to Vicky, the hotel manager for EVERYTHING!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDad1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 10 consecutive nights starting on the 5th Dec 2011-16th Dec 2011. I LOVED it!!! For the value, the rooms were VERY nice! Good full breakfast every morning plus a small meal at night(usually not too impressive, but free beer). Some of my friends stayed at the Courtyard across the street for the same price and didnt get nearly the same benefits. All the rooms have also been recently remodeled. It's about a 3/4- 1 mile walk to bars and restaurants downtown, or a $5 cab. If you're staying on business for an extended period, I would highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Central Indiana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I have stayed at this property many times over the last 10 years. It is located on the canal, and is within walking distance of many amenities. You can take a scenic walk, or cab very quickly to any destination in Indianapolis. My favorite part of this hotel is the fact that the people are very friendly, and it is very clean. The price is right, and the breakfast is provided. I would also like to compliment the availability of parking. If you have to park a large vehicle, it is very affordable. I routinely take large and small groups to this hotel. The staff will remember you and treat you like a celebrity.

Room Tip: I would suggest that you stay on floor 2 or above. If you are doing a social gathering, it is nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WuSongLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The Residence Inn on the canal in Indianapolis is a hotel which upholds the Marriott standards, please be advised that they will be going through a remodeling starting 11/01/11. The rooms are fine but a bit outdated, have flat screen TV’s and all the necessary kitchen items. The breakfasts (which are included) are very full and family centered. The location on the canal helps make it accessible to several museums and sites. Also it is near the bike and paddle boat rentals. The pool was just the right size and it has a small hot tub. They also have a pool table which was fun to teach my daughter and she could not leave the table. The staff were great, it was late Friday and we had just come from a show (see report on Mind Tripping) I wanted some milk, and the closest convenience store was 8 blocks away, the desk staff went into the kitchen and gave me 2 cartons, no questions asked. Earlier that day, I had to do a conference call for work, and my family took a nap, when I came back in, they were picking out some snacks at the hotel snack shop, the desk staff did not have a local map of the canal area; I had found one on the web and shared it with them, and he gave my family their treats for free (quid pro quo). The only down point was the $17/day parking. The lot is gated and they give you a card to swipe as you go in and out, but $17 is a bit much. The location is great for many sights and touring, don’t forget to shop websites for the best prices.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoopy5176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albany
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We loved being on the canal, very relaxing hearing the sound of the water. Loved the fact the windows opened! The staff are fantastic, extremely friendly and helpful. Tlo top things off, we were provided dinner and wine on Wednesday and Thursday night as well as breakfast. Very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cavamebri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Home2 Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
#16 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal

Property: Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Address: 350 W New York St, Indianapolis, IN 46202-3240
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#29 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#41 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal is the only hotel in downtown Indianapolis on the Historic Canal! Experience our modern look, high-tech amenities and beautiful views. Our Indy hotel on the Canal provides apartment-style suites with full kitchens, free WiFi, separate living areas and 32" flat-screen TVs. Enjoy complimentary grocery shopping service, free daily breakfast buffet and evening social hour plus the least expensive parking in downtown. From our balcony and terrace overlooking the Canal to our location just minutes from Lucas Oil Stadium, State Capitol and White River State Park, our pet-friendly Indy hotel on the Canal is perfectly positioned for great extended stays. Be sure to take a stroll on the adjacent running/walking path right outside our doors, rent a paddleboat, bike, Segway or feed the ducks! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown On The Canal Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing