We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Nearby Hotels
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Alexander(Indianapolis)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
JW Marriott Indianapolis(Indianapolis)
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
180
128
44
22
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
128
44
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice residencemain elevatorsocial hourbedroom suitefull kitchenwithin walking distancebottom floorthe sofa bedeating breakfastfront desk staffdirect accessparking feeindianapolis downtownsmall poolswim meetchildren's museumwaffles
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We are SO GLAD we chose the Residence Inn on the Canal. Great views of both downtown and the canal. This is the only hotel right on the canal. The front desk staff was awesome. Latoy made us feel at home right away and answered all our questions. It was like we knew her for years. The room was nice, we had a city view and looked out the window maybe once (not really in the room that much) with so much to do and views offered for all the guest of the Canal, no need for a Canal view room. The free breakfast was great!! Breakfast burrito, eggs, hashbrowns, sausage, banana's, cereal, belgian waffles with all the toppings, toast, bagels, muffins just to name a few items. They also had a managers reception from 6pm-7:30pm that had free beer,wine,pop, salad,meatball subs and some of the best chocolate chip cookies I ever had. Great time to mingle with other guests. I would stay here again for sure if we ever came back to Indianapolis. Only negative I would say is biggest size bed is a queen. Having a few king size beds rooms would be alot nicer. Give Residence Inn on the Canal a try..... You can thank me later!!!

Room Tip: No need for a Canal view room, plenty of views available without having to spend the extra money on Canal view room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PKJoeyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirbyBrown, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We are thrilled to hear that you are satisfied with your choice of hotel! We are ecstatic that you chose us as well! We cannot thank you enough for the glowing review and testimonial that you provided. We can't wait to have you back as our guest!

Thank you,

Kirby Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I just returned from a week in Indiana and staying at this hotel. The hotel and staff were all top notch; my room was very clean and spacious. The restaurant is close to downtown however there are not many places to dine at that are very close to the hotel. If I could make a suggestion, perhaps a van that might run guests to the downtown area as I found it impossible to get a taxi to drive me downtown. The elevator is also so stinking slow, so a stairwell close to the elevator would make a big difference.

Room Tip: Far from the elevator and take the steps whenever possible.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirbyBrown, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us such valuable feedback. We work very hard to make sure the hotel is clean and the staff is inviting and friendly. That fact you took the time to recognize that means a ton to each one of us.... Thank you!

We hope to see you back with us again, and the elevators (both being hydraulic) will still be on the slow side, so we'll make sure to get you a room near the stairs!

Thanks again,

Kirby Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My room was on the canal side and the view was so pretty. The staff members were very helpful and nice. The breakfast is so good and the evening social a nice added bonus.

The rooms were clean and spacious.

This hotel is centrally located so it is very easy getting around on foot in the city.

I would definitely stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Marcie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirbyBrown, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. Your review touches our hearts, as our goal is for each and every guest to have an EXCELLENT stay! We are very excited that you found our property and staff to meet that expectation. We hope to have you as our guest again soon, and we truly appreciate your feedback.

Kirby Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Wife and I booked this hotel for a few days because it is within easy walking distance of the Convention Center. A short stroll along the Canal, then a couple blocks around the Capitol and you're there. Hotel grounds and parking were clean and inviting. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, even when we slightly overslept regular breakfast hours one morning. The kitchenette was handy for those times we just wanted to keep some snacks & cold water on hand. And thankfully there was no "mini-bar".

A HUGE plus for not charging for internet. It is ridiculous in this day & age that "premium" hotels charge for internet, while 2-star hotels & even hostels provide it for free. Thanks, Residence Inn, for not gouging business travelers like some of your fellow Marriott's (and others) do!

There were only a couple issues that caused this to receive less than a 5-star rating:

1. I booked with points & at first booked for one night. When I wanted to add additional nights, the additional nights required more points than the first night. Marriott claimed the hotel had been "upgraded" in the few days gap. How, by adding water to the pool? Nothing else changed in three days, unless it was the demand, and that translates to gouging.

2. When someone was in the room above us, you could hear every movement they made. Rooms need to be better insulated.

Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Canal side would be quieter & with a nicer view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pocestnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirbyBrown, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay. We are sorry to hear about the confusion with your Points redemption, and we will work with Marriott to make sure those types of hiccups are eliminated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your return.

Thank you,

Kirby Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Really surprised with the quality of this hotel
* staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They really seemed to enjoy their job. We had a special request, and they went out their way to meet it.
*Stayed at Easter, and they had a fun Easter egg hunt for adults and kids
* nice location on the canal. This was also close enough to downtown attractions that we could walk everywhere.
* nice clean hotel.
* allows dogs to stay.
* good breakfast

Overall highly recommend

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirbyBrown, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn for your visit to Indy. We strive to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel in the downtown area, so we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience. Glad to hear that the Easter Egg hunt was fun as well.

Hope to have you back as our guest soon!

Thank you.

Kirby Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews