We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol
Ranked #53 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice people, comfortable room”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I've been living at this hotel for over a month now between Mondays and Fridays for work. I have to say its a great place to stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff knows my name and greets me every day, and the hotel is located in a good area to get anywhere you need to go really. I also have to say that one of their employees, Jack, who runs the kitchen, has guided my team and I to some of the bet restaurants I've been to. He really knew his stuff and I was never disappointed. But everyone is really nice and easy going. Jason up front is great too. He hopped in the kitchen and made me a coffee my first day here, despite it being a closed, because he realized my flight was delayed and, as he put it, "...you earned it."

Room Tip: I'd stay on the top floors. It's nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bomot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    111
    43
    11
    6
See reviews for
65
54
11
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed here this past weekend with my swimmer-son for a meet at IUPUI. It would be a very easy walk to the pool, were it not for the frigid weather. Clean, quiet room, although someone had messed with the heating/ac unit and it was ignoring the thermostat. Facilities came up right away and improved it. BTW, our room was on Senate, no problem sleeping.

The bistro (n.b. there is not free breakfast here) had a decent enough menu, but was overwhelmed when we tried to eat at about 8:45 PM. Staffing issues?

Overall, I was made to feel like an important guest, so if you like good service, this is a very good choice. In fact, I made a reservation to stay here again in March.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellngcircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, and will be returning in March. I am sorry that our dinner service in the bistro was unable to meet your needs. I appreciate the feedback as we are always seeking to improve. If you need assistance with your reservations, please feel free and contact me directly. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our property.

Warm regards,
Annie Moskol
Front Office Manager
anne.moskol@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Not the first time staying here' but it was the best. Jason at the front desk was awesome! Helped me with the reservation that I had mistakenly made for the following night. Got a nice room upgrade and breakfast vouchers.Jason even got my next night reserved, on N.Y.E. even. This is why I always come back to Marriott! Also, have some pub grub at Bourbon Street across the street. Fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hello Brad,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with our hotel. Also, thank you for the nice note about Jason. He is an asset to our team-- I will be sure to pass on your comments to him. When your travels bring you back to Indy in the future, please feel free to contact me directly for assistance making reservations.

Warm regards,

Annie Moskol
Front Office Manager
anne.moskol@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Positive 1. This Courtyard was very close to downtown.
Positive 2: I was given a suite which was also nice.
Positive 3: The staff was great.
Positive 4: Even though this is an older building you could tell it had been recently renovated so everything was very clean.
Downside: My room faced Senate Street which was very noisy. There are a number of hospitals nearby so I was awoken by sirens 4 times during the night and there is a lot of traffic on this road. If I was staying any longer than a couple nights I would have requested a different room.
If you do stay here request a room on the parking lot side of the hotel so you can get some rest.

Room Tip: Rooms on the parking lot side will be quieter.(West)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odraighnean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenniferrichter, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Brandon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with at our property. It sounds like we were able to meet and exceed your clean and friendly expectations, but I am sorry that the street noise kept you up all night. We do appreciate your feedback very much, Thanks again for reviewing our hotel, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Annie Moskol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days/nights this December. Our room was very comfortable, clean, and nicely decorated in an updated theme. The bathroom was very large, with safety bars on the walls in the bath; our room was one of several available, designed for people with disabilities. Hotel staff were very polite, helpful, and efficient. You can order a hot breakfast or a variety of other items at the dining area in the lobby; the fresh fruit was indeed fresh.

We left our car in the hotel lot and walked or taxied where ever we wanted to go. It's about 5 blocks from the Courtyard Marriott to the JW Marriott, where our convention was located, and another 3-4 blocks from there to the dining and shopping district downtown. A nice walk, if the weather's good and you want some fresh air.

Green Features: Like many hotels these days, the Courtyard Marriott will change bath linens upon request or that are left on the bathroom floor, otherwise the towels etc. are reused. Fine with us, as the number of towels was more than enough for two adults.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJZemper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenniferrichter, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Greetings Ms. Zemper,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor.com. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to utilize our Courtyard Bistro. The Bistro has many healthy choices available from 6:30a-9:30 weekdays (7a-10a weekends) for breakfast and 5p-10p every night for dinner. If your travels bring you back to Indianapolis in the future I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again!

Warmest regards,

Annie Moskol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed at this property for the Big 10 football championship. Parking is in a gated lot which is shared with the Marriott Residence Inn across the parking lot. Front desk service was very friendly; he was apologetic that an upgrade was unavailable due to sold out status. For a sold out hotel, the room was very quiet and I had a wonderful night's sleep. Having stayed in downtown Indy before, I noted that these two Marriott properties were on the other side of the Capitol building from downtown and the other downtown hotels. After walking multiple times between this Courtyard and the downtown shopping, restaurants and Lucas Oil Stadium, it appears to me that the capitol/governmental buildings are a bit of a dividing line between the "hopping" part of downtown Indy, and a less busy area that seemed to me to be the "other side of the tracks". I had my guard up a bit more as I got closer to the hotel area, but in no way would I consider it a run down or bad area, just a bit more desolate and quiet.

I did not have the opportunity to eat at the hotel's Bistro, but the dining area was spacious with an adjacent sitting area complete with big screen TV. Regrettably did not have time to utilized indoor pool/jacuzzi, but appeared very nice. A very nice property, just know where you're going if you head out by foot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenniferrichter, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hello,

Thanks so much for your positive review on the Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit with us. Although we are a bit further that some other downtown hotels, our property is still in walking distance to many attractions such as the Indianapolis Zoo, Massachusetts Avenue, and much more. The next time you come to Indy I hope you can come back and check out our Bistro as well as our pool area (open 6a-11p every day). Please feel free to contact me directly for any assistance making reservations.

Warm regards,

Annie Moskol
Front Office Manager
anne.moskol@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantsburg, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed at the Marriott on Dec 3rd, 2013 in Room 214. It was a nice room, but when I woke up in the morning and took a shower, I noticed a splotchy rash on my arm. Thought it was an allergic reaction or something. Later in the day the welts from bites became obvious. I called the Marriott management right away so that they could take steps to control this, but they were quite disinterested. They sent for a pest inspector, and called me to say that the room was clean. There is nowhere else I could have gotten these things. Corporate Marriott management responded with the same disinterest. Evidently the victim must supply proof of infestation, and pictures are not enough. I wonder what is.....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roderick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenniferrichter, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Roderick,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. Regarding the cleanliness concern in room 214, we did bring out our professional partners to do a thorough inspection on that room after you contacted our hotel and they did find no pests whatsoever. As always we do appreciate your feedback and if you have any further concerns please feel free to contact me directly. I hope to welcome you back to our property in the future.

Warmest regards,

Annie Moskol
Front Office Manager
anne.moskol@whitelodging.com
317-405-6233- direct line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Downtown Indianapolis
Home2 Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
#49 of 182 in Indianapolis
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol

Property: Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol
Address: 320 N Senate Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46204-1708
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#27 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#27 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stand-out among hotels in downtown Indianapolis, the renovated Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol is located on Senate Avenue right behind the State Capitol Building and the Indiana Government Center. Guests also appreciate our location within walking distance to the Indiana Convention Center, Bankers Life Fieldhouse, Circle Center Mall and IUPUI. Our open lobby space and renovated guest rooms feature the modern conveniences today's traveler has come to expect. Enjoy our onsite Bistro with lounge seating and full bar, interactive touchscreen GoBoard in the lobby as well as private media pods with personal TVs, a 24 hr. Market and boarding pass printing station. The Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol has space and flexibility unmatched by other hotels in downtown Indianapolis to help you make the most of every travel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Indianapolis At The Capitol Hotel Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott
Indianapolis Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing