We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Mexican Gem in Jasper”
Review of El Maguey Grill

El Maguey Grill
Ranked #14 of 58 Restaurants in Jasper
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Mexican Gem in Jasper”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped for lunch. They had 12 lunch specials for $6.99. That price included the soft drink and sales tax! Amazing! As expected, they gave us chips and salsa. The chips were light and warm. The salsa was good, but mild. Our meals were quality and plentiful. My companion had fajitas and the quantity of meat and veggies were overwhelming. However, they charge for extra tortillas, after the original three. I had the lunch special quesadilla and rice. It had lots of chicken and was very tasty. The service was fast and the staff very attentive. The restrooms are modern and clean. I will absolutely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boilerbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My wife and I decided to stop in for lunch on the recommendation of her brother. They have a very extensive menu and friendly waiters. One of my favorite dishes is carnitas. I happened mention that I wish they had carnitas on the menu and the waitress immediately said that the chef could make it for me, no problem. When the dish came out, it was the best carnitas I have had anywhere. My wife's meal was also excellent. While eating the chef came out and asked if the carnitas were ok. I told him they were better than ok, they were wonderful. The whole experience there was great. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great meal”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Excellent mexican food. Lots of meat in our dishes, nicely grilled without too much oil. Their hot sauce on the side is "to die for" - real heat with flavor. The meal was very good, but the service was superior. Our waitress had a wonderful smile. Several other people asked if we needed anything during the course of the meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Town!”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This is a BEAUTIFUL restaurant. The decor is lovely and the food is amazing. The staff is somewhat inexperienced but friendly and accomodating. The manager is very visable. He asks customers for their opinion and is obviously striving to make his establishment top notch. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 725Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Maguey Grill also viewed

 

Been to El Maguey Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing