We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is a treasure.”

Howard Steamboat Museum & Mansion
Attraction details
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This place is a treasure.”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Our guide, Lowell Smith, was wonderful. At 88 years young he regaled us with his wonderful wit. HIs knowledge of steamboat building, the Howard family and life in the mid 1800's brought history alive. His first hand recounting of his experiences in WW2 made us a captive audience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank phyllis644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Period rooms and lots of interesting memorabilia”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our tour guide was cordial, enthusiastic and knowledgeable. There are many, many interesting items in the museum's collection. Our eleven-year old ended up enjoying the visit even though he was hot and tired after a soccer game. The mansion has modern air-conditioning. There's a flyer at the entrance for a free self-guided walking tour of the grounds. We'll walk the grounds next time. Free parking along the street behind the mansion.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Soccerfamily474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, OH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic mansion and steamboat history”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stopped in for a tour of the Howard Steamboat Museum and loved that the mansion and Howard family history was so preserved. Our guide, Dorothy, was lovely and took us back in time as she showed us around. This historic home was especially interesting in that most of the furnishings and displays were actually of the Howard family and used in the home.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LollieKym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
399 reviews
279 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“The Good Old Days”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We have visited the Howard Steamboat Museum on multiple occasions. Twice just for the tour (we took friends back) and once for the the festival. What an epic way to enjoy a day, get a great look at the past, and an understanding of how people lived in a bygone era of great steamships. This museum is a really great place and great value! Highly recommended!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drexel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So this is how the other half lives.”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Thank goodness we stumbled upon this museum by accident. The combination of being a huge family home plus the artifacts of designing & building steamboats back in the day made us all interested to take the tour. It was a bit costly but worth every penny.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Howard Steamboat Museum & Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Howard Steamboat Museum & Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing