We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rembrandt Molen van Sloten - Amsterdam / Kuiperijmuseum
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
166
56
10
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
56
10
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews working windmill guided tour short walk worth the trip last stop personal tour tram line number tram explained how hidden gem inner workings fantastic tour small museum explained everything pumping water nice trip great museum
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

On our trip to Netherlands we saw a lot of windmills but never actually know what was their function, this place is amazing!!! They show us everything, how is build, how it works, how to take care of it etc, is a great way to learn the culture and the past of Netherlands, highly recommended, specially the owners are amazing people and they really care for their windmill and their guests!!.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Nacho G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Highly recommended change of pace from the rest of Amsterdam. Friendly and knowledgeable volunteer staff, especially Bill our guide. A fascinating piece of history, but still a working facility.

We also had a lovely 'Healthy' sandwich at the Half Moon (Halve Maen) across the road.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

As windmill is an iconic part of Dutch Landscape, we make it a must to visit one of it.
It is approx 20 min tram ride & 10-15 min walk to the Rembrandt Molen van Sloten, the only operational windmill in the city. The entrance fee is included if you have an
I-Amsterdam City Card.
The Lady guide took time to explain everything clearly on how overall the windmill operates, the canals and history on Rembrandt too. Just be prepared to climb some steps & ladders to get a view a the very top. We were told that the positions of the windmill blades can indicate a wedding, a new born or death occurring in the village.
An interesting tour well worth taking !!!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank WorldGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

This was well worth the train ride out, which on Line 2, was a tour on its own. The volunteer guide was informative and interesting. We learned a lot about the purpose of windmills, canals, and a little on Rembrandt too. We loved walking through the cute little down of Sloten too. We recommend a visit to the site and it is included in the I Amsterdam card!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

An trip well worth taking. A quick bus ride on the 195 from Schiphol Airport. We were warmly received by the ladies at the front desk and were given an informative background to the history and engineering by a truly knowledgable tour guide who has had the practical experience of running such a windmill.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank jrattham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews