We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great manager's reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kendalville
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kendallville
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great manager's reception”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

The check-in process was fast and efficient, and the best touch was the manager's reception with one free cocktail. The location is close to restaurants and a Wal-Mart. The room was huge and had 3 sheets and soft and firm pillows. Had a little trouble getting the room temp. Comfortable though.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kzooman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    34
    10
    4
    9
See reviews for
28
12
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huber Heights, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights on this trip. Have also stayed here on other trips. Will NEVER stay here again. I was triple charged for both our rooms. The staff was very, very rude. They lied directly to my face about the charges and then got extremely rude when I corrected them. Hotel is renovated. But it's like putting lipstick on a pig. Long story short, Stay somewhere else!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda485, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kendalville, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Daniel W,
I would like to extend my gratitude to you for leaving a comment regarding your stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay with us and that there was an issue with the billing of your rooms. Please know that your comments have been discussed with the appropriate management and we will make sure that your billing issue is corrected. I am sorry that we let you down and I hope that you will except my apologies for your disappointment with us. If we can ever be of service to you again, or if you have any other questions or comments we would love to hear from you.
Warm regards,
Brenda L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I checked in late in the evening. The lady at check-in was friendly and helpful.
When I opened the door to my room, I was overwhelmed with a stuffy smell as if the room had been closed for a year with no ventilation. I quickly turned on both air conditioners and the exhaust fan in the restroom. This did not help before I went to bed.
The next morning, I left the room and came back. When I entered the room in the morning, I noticed it still smelled stuffy but not nearly as bad. I would guess another day with the air conditioners running would make a huge improvement.
Note to hotel staff: Leave the air conditioners and/or exhaust fans on so the rooms don't smell horrible.
A small issue I noticed on the bill: An incorrect Priority Club / IHG Rewards Club membership number is on the bill. I called and the issue was resolved promptly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is used often so it doesn't smell stuffy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperPoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda485, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kendalville, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Mike E,
I would like to thank you for the review that you left for us. Our guest's comments are very important to us. I would like to apologize for letting you down in regards to the stuffiness and smell in your room and also for the correction of your Rewards Club Membership number. I am happy to hear that we were able to resolve this issue for you. Our staff tries very hard to meet our guest's needs, and I am sorry that we have let you down. We will do our best to correct these issues in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us your comments.
Warm regards,
Brenda L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Heights
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Our Golf league went to Kendallville Indiana in Aug for our annual trip from Chicago Illinois. We were very happy not only with our accomidations but the exceptional service provided to our members. Even with many changes ( on our part) all the way up to arrival the staff and management took care of our needs.
If you want to golf in the Kendallville area I highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express. They really take care of golfers. Sandra and her staff handeled our golf needs as well as Rick from Noble Hawk Golf course. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda485, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kendalville, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Edward K,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review you gave regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Kendallville. We are thrilled to hear back from our guests and were so excited to hear that we were able to meet the needs of your golf league. We work very hard to make our guests feel happy and comfortable during their stay with us and I am happy that we could be of service to you. Have a great time on your golfing excursions and we hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards,
Brenda L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candler, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at your motel from Friday, Sept. 6 thru Sept 9th. We were pleased with everything except the last night there. Our room rate increased from $72.00 per night to $93.00 on Monday, Sept. 9th without our knowledge or any notification. Needless to say, we were most disappointed with this.

As far as the room, it was very clean and the breakfast was awesome.

A shout out to the girls at the front desk as they were so nice and friendly but never notified us prior to any rate change. Appears there must be a breakdown in communication somewhere!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda485, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kendalville, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Ronald R,
I would like to extend my gratitude to you for your review and comments regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Kendallville. We love to hear feedback from our guests. I would like to personally apologize for any break down in communication regarding the rate for your last night of stay with us. I understand that you extended your stay for this night and stopped by the front desk to take care of this. At that time you initialed the new registration card that indicated there was a different rate for that night. Our hotel and employees are not permitted to change a rate without your knowledge. However, I can understand how this may have been confusing since it was a different rate than your previous rate. We strive very hard to make our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay with us, and I am sorry for any confusion this may have caused. We appreciate you being our guest. We are sending you a coupon for a future stay with us, and also a copy of your initialed registration card indicating the rate change. We hope this will help to clear up any confusion or miscommunication. I am happy that you were pleased with the rest of your stay with us. Once again, I would like to extend my apologies for any confusion regarding your extended night of stay with us and I hope that I have been able to clear up any confusion or break down in communication. We are very happy that you chose to stay with us and for your very valuable feedback. If we can be of service to you again, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Warm regards,
Brenda L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, USA
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This Holiday Inn Express (Kendallville, IN) was a very nice surprise. The staff was first rate, all area's were clean and neat, the room was well furnished. One of the Very Best stays in an off the beaten path hotel that I have stayed in. Very well done!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda485, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kendalville, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Donald S,
We would like to extend our gratitude for the wonderful comments and review you gave us regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Kendallville. We are so happy to hear that you found our hotel to be nice and clean, and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in making our guests feel comfortable while they stay with us. We wish you all the best in your future travels and hope that you will come back and see us one day.
Warm regards,
Brenda L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This HIE is not really right on the main road but we found it along the way and recommend it. A nice location on Highway 6. Rooms were nice and spacious with microwave and refrigerator - always a plus. Breakfast starts really early (5:30) if you want to get on the road quickly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwkrengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda485, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kendalville, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Jwkrengel,
I would like to thank you for the very kind comments and review you gave us regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Kendallville. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, and would recommend us to others. We take great pride in meeting our guests needs while they stay with us, and we are very happy that we were able to do this for you. We wish you all the best in your future travels and hope to see you again one day.
Warm regards,
Brenda L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendallville
0.9 mi away
Best Western Kendallville Inn
Best Western Kendallville Inn
#1 of 3 in Kendallville
172 reviews
9.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Auburn
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fremont
9.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 7 in Auburn
159 reviews
23.6 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kendalville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kendalville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Kendalville
Address: 1917 Dowling St, Kendallville, IN 46755-9436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Kendallville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kendallville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kendalville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with the totally renovated Holiday Inn Express of Kendallville! Our amenities are the newest around. Every feature designed to exceed the needs of every guest. Our hotel is the place to stay, whether for business or pleasure. A stay with us is not just a night at a hotel…it’s an experience to remember! Don’t compromise your stay. Our goal is to provide you with the most outstanding customer service experience you deserve. We offer an extended breakfast from 5:30–10am daily. Our hotel has executive king rooms, queen rooms, even Jacuzzi suites. Every room has been renovated with an urban scheme. We provide luxurious pillow top mattresses, high quality thread count sheets, choice of soft or firm pillows, desk & chair, refrigerator, microwave, coffeepot, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, luggage rack, and TV with HBO all for your convenience. We have a private business center with essentials available 24/7. We are the only hotel in the area with an elevator making accessibility easy on every floor. Relax in our whirlpool spa, enjoy our newly remodeled pool area, lounge on our comfy new pool furniture, and have the benefit of our lovely outside patio. This is a great place to hang out with family and friends. For our athletic guests we have our new fitness room that is available for use around the clock. The Holiday Inn Express of Kendallville is the perfect rest destination! Our qualified staff has the skills needed to ensure you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kendalville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kendallville
Kendallville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Kendalville Indiana/Kendallville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing