We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Unbelieveable Beauty"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Miner's Cottage
Reviewed 13 August 2012

How can one improve on the "Best of the Best".

We stayed 2 nights celebrating our 40th Wedding Anniversary and had the most amazing holiday experience ever. What with a fully stocked fridge and blazing log fire on arrival, a very comfortable bed and breakfast with friendly chickens out on the back verandah overlooking the little creek and amazing greenery, we could not have asked for anything better.

Very peaceful, serene and totally refreshing for body mind and soul.

We would highly recommend this to anybody just wanting to get away and escape the hustle and bustle of city life.

As the name suggest the "Miners Cottage" is just that. A two room cottage amazingly done out in items from that period but with the convenience of a modern bathroom and kitchen in separate buildings.

We Will Be Back. Thank you Godfrey for an amazing holiday. (And the Watch - an inhouse joke)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

Absolutely lovely getaway in the Barossa. Completely leave everything behind in the middle of winter for roaring fires, romantic isolation, hot baths and delicious local food. This is not for the pampered 'four seasons' traveller but for those who want lovely rural romantic seclusion.
Godfrey is the consummate discreet host and gives perfect Barossa advice for food/wine indulgence and local tours.

Don't listen to the miserable mmstyle review - if you want 'more service' go to a Hilton and if you think you might 'run out of things to do' perhaps you should go to Disneyland.

WE LOVED IT!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed 2 nights... First night in the lavender cabin as the cottage was booked... Lovely cabin, clean, fresh flowers, amazing linen, bathroom with fridge and provisions for tea/coffee! The second night was in the miner's cottage... WOW! love love LOVED it!! From bath to bed to roaring fire to the amazing breaky provisions! Godfrey has done such an amazing job with this place! I honestly believe you will be hard pressed to find another gem like the miner's cottage else where in the barossa! The whispering wall is a must see... It's just up the rd! Thank you for our amazing stay Godfrey! We will be back ;)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simplethings20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We relied heavily on Tripadvisor when we booked the Miner's Cottage. It sounded like everything we wanted as we left Adelaide on our trip. But the whole experience was a bit surreal. We called for directions as our GPS was a bit confused. Godfrey said he was not there, but that everything was ready. We arrived and everything was prepped and charming and peaceful-breakfast for the next day was in in the front fridge (there is a kitchen and a kind of half kitchen in front). The pool looked inviting, but it wasn't warm enough to warrant a swim. We soaked up the ambience, walked the grounds, and having no idea what else to do, we looked up a nearby town and programmed an address into the GPS to go grab something to eat.

We went to Lyndoch, but didn't find much so we went on to Tanunda. By then we were quite hungry so we called Godfrey and he recommended 1918 (great food-see my review). When we arrived home, there was a note recommending wineries and a few other things. I found having to go out the back door to the bathroom at night a bit unusual, and having to put shoes on means that the floor got dirty rather quickly over the next 2 days (the map does not really show this clearly, its a step or two out the door).

We were booked on a wine tour the next morning, so we ate and left. When we came back, we still did not see Godfrey, or find anyone at the main house, and were wondering how to settle things the next day. We did not have cell phone reception so we had to get back in the car to drive out to get reception to call and ask when we would see him, and to ask if internet was available (which would allow us to at least make calls, etc). He said he would stop by after work. When he got in, he let us know that the phone lines were down, and lent us his iPad for email. We went back to town for dinner.

When we got home we wanted to ask a couple of questions and were surprised there were no additional breakfast provisions. There was no answer at the house, and frankly, we did not want to drive out yet again to make a call. The next morning, my husband drove to a convenience store to buy additional eggs for breakfast.

If you know what to expect here, it would be lovely. I just did not expect the lack of contact, and had expected that additional supplies would be left. Also, as the bathroom is (quite naturally of course) prone to getting a few bugs and natural debris, it needs to be cleaned regularly, which I would expect at the price we paid.

I do hope to return to the Barossa, but I would stay elsewhere, because I do prefer accommodation with more service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We were so impressed with this place. A great location to explore wine country on bike or with a car and watch kangaroos in the wild! This is a very secluded getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmers0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We love The Miners Cottage - it's quaint, beautiful and serene. We booked all 3 cottages and had the entire place to ourselves. Godfrey, the owner, went out of his way to make us feel really at home. The finer touches that he put in - chocolates, fruits, flowers... were really appreciated. If we were to visit Barossa again, we'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OngFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

This was our second stay at Miner's Cottage and it was as fabulous as the first. The cottage is quaint and perfectly located down a short, dirt road which adds to the seclusion. The finishing touches are what really makes this place - the stock of nuts and nutcracker out on the porch, selection of magazines and books in the lounge room, great breakfast ingredients and gorgeous bed linen. Add to all of that the use of the pool and it really is a magical spot to stay. Highly recommend it to all!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pink_bear19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockatoo Valley
7.0 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
3.7 mi away
Barossa Shiraz Estate
Barossa Shiraz Estate
#1 of 4 in Lyndoch
117 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Eagle Foundry Bed & Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Barossa Country Cottages
12.9 mi away
The Paddocks
The Paddocks
#1 of 1 in Nuriootpa
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Miner's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Miner's Cottage

Address: 111 Goldfields Rd, Cockatoo Valley, South Australia 5351, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Cockatoo Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cockatoo Valley
Price Range: £152 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at the Miners Cottage is to enjoy a uniquely Australian rural experience. The Miners Cottage is situated at the edge of the South Australian wine region, the Barossa Valley, a region that can boast making a large portion of Australia's finest premium wines. The region is steeped in the history of its founding pioneers and presents an abundant opportunity to taste at some of Australia's most iconic wine companies cellar doors. Add to that some excellent restaurants, all with a wine focus, a wonderful farmers' market and plenty of good shopping, especially well-priced antiques, vintage clothing and books. The Miners Cottage complex includes The Miners Cottage, The Miners Cottage Barn and the Lavender Cabin. We can accommodate a maximum of six persons with queen size beds in each cottage. Three couples can enjoy completely independent privacy and enjoy the communal areas of the cottage and of course the lap pool and entertainment area by the pool. Each section of the Miners Cottage accommodation is a separate entity and all enjoy individual stunning Australian bushland views with magnificent ancient gums and abundant wildlife. Visitors can enjoy bushland walks on the picturesque property. The Miners Cottage Barn and The Lavender Cottage Can only be booked in addition to The Miners Cottage to accommodate larger groups. This ensures complete privacy for your stay. Hosts Rebecca & Nick provide assistance and local knowledge and understand the pleasures and indulgence of solitude and privacy. We're delighted to be included in the latest edition of Beautiful Accommodation Australia's discerning guide to hand picked accommodation. Recipient of the Australian Good Food and Travel Guide '2014 Readers Choice Award' for The Barossa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Miner's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing