We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fw2”
Review of Astoria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Astoria Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knox
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Drove in 12 hours for a graduation. Very dissatisfied with every part of this hotel. (hell hole). saft door latch broken, no smoke detector battery, no clock,dirt sheets,hair in shower, small amount of toilet paper had to go by own. two towels in room when asked for more towels they had no clean ones. told pool worked when making reservations, but after check in pool was broke. no breakfast like the say was told that was a old sign and they have not had a chance to take it down. do not use elevator it has not been inspected since 2007. half the t.v. channels did not work. vending machines out dated food and pretty much empty and did not want to take a chance on the pop. and another guest in our part thier t.v. started to smoke. danger do not stop go the distance to a better hotel. this is the [--] hotel (hole in the wall) that i have ever stayed in. this place should be shut down before some one gets hurt or possibly killed. the owner should be ashamed to have this place open and take peoples money for a hotel that should charge $20.00 a night. and watch out for the starke county tourism tax. what a laugh.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littletj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2009

Absolutely terrible ... Dirty, smelly!! The towels are stained, the sheets are stained, the walls have filth all over them, the bathrooms are moldy .. stay away!!!
I have to do business right in Knox, but drive an extra 20 miles just to avoid having to stay at this Rat infested hell hole.
On top of that .. I was quoted 39.00 a night and charged $79.00
100% GROSS GROSS GROSS!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. No continental breakfast like the sign advertised. Half a roll of toilet paper to use in the room!!! Lack of towels, no clock, etc......
Very bad management. Sleep in your car if you have to!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
1  Thank knob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

I am a Knox resident and have stayed here. The rooms are overpriced and run down along with false advertising of a continental breakfast, also the indoor pool is rarely opened and always cold. I have stayed at many motels over the years thru my line of work and feel the public should be advised of this motel,

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ez_go_n_Knox_Indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2008

We stayed at this motel for a family getaway and were very disappointed at every turn. When we arrived in the evening to check in, there was no one at the desk. The place looked abandoned. Finally, someone showed up and checked us in. We booked two rooms and were given adjoining rooms on the second floor. Upon entering our rooms, we found the following problems:
Room #1: No battery in smoke detector. Connecting door was missing a lock making it possible to see in from the next room. Stained linens in the bathroom.
Room #2: Piece missing from the security latch on the hallway door, allowing our child to leave the room. Stained sheets so thin that you could actually watch TV through them. Actual soil on toilet seat.
Other problems: The very small pool was not open during our whole stay. The vending machine had expired food. There were no clocks in the rooms. When checking out, the front desk clerk was rude.
Positives include: The beds were comfortable. The carpets were vacuumed. The ice machine worked.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iblaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

My stay at the Astoria Inn was horrible. I recently stayed there for a two night stay with my family for a reunion. The stay was shoty to say the least. We had no radio/clock in our room, no hair dryer, the pool was closed for most of our stay and when it was opened the heater was turned off making the pool unenjoyable since it was to cold to enjoy. Plus there was a door to the mechanical room in the pool open. And not to mention that the soap bar in the room was from the Alabama Parks and Rec and the ice box and tray were from the Rodeway Inn. There was also an electrical outlets on the third floor that did not have face plates and these outlets were out in the hall were children could easily access them. And there was no conteniental breakfast which was advertised. I do not recommend this hotel at all and we will not be staying here ever again.

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank charmed029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2007

We recently stayed 1 night at the Astoria and it was filthy and things were broken. We were in a 2 room suite with 2 adults and 2 children. We were given 2 towels and when we asked for more they were not able to get us any because they were out. The elevator sounds scary. The safety chain on the room door was broken and the battery was missing from the smoke detector. The bedroom door handle and the couch were broken. We were not given any TV remote controls because they didn't have enough. They do not have a continental breakfast. The fan in the bathroom was covered in dust and dirt. I was afraid to touch the phone because it was dirty. My husband and I felt dirty just being in the room. When we checked out we left a list of complaints and the request for a discount or refund and were told they would get back to us after reviewing our complaints. That was 12 days ago and we have not heard from them. If I could give negative stars I would give it a negative 5.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sparrowIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Astoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Inn

Address: 2001 S US Highway 35, Knox, IN 46534-8531
Region: United States > Indiana > Knox
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knox
Price Range: £78 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Astoria Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Astoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Knox
Astoria Inn Indiana/Knox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing