We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as bad as the reviews said it was”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Astoria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Astoria Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knox
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Not as bad as the reviews said it was”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed at the Astoria Inn one night because of a family party. While it is definitely not worth the $93 they charge, it wasn't as bad as the reviews said it was. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. However, the rooms do not have a coffee pot (there was coffee in the lobby) or hair dryer and the only personal care product was the tiny bars of soap and the shampoo in a dispenser in the shower. And, oh yes, they hand you the TV remote when you check in and it is to be returned when you check out! (Never have experienced that in all our travels!)

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jwelhwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    5
    5
    29
See reviews for
21
6
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

I rented two rooms for my family last weekend. (July 11, 2009) This was the hotel from HELL. Go the extra 20 miles to Valpo or over to Plymouth and get yourself a real hotel room. Motel 6 would be better. No battery in the smoke alarm, (Out of Fire Code), Filthy room, dirt along the walls. Blood/urine stains on the mattress. Pubic hair in the shower. Tub did not work, Don't even think of amenities. No water glass, no hair dryer, nothing extra at all. two towels and thats it. No one speaks good ENGLISH there. The elevator was last inspected in 07, rattles and shakes going up and down. The pool has scum floating on it, fed by a water hose, with a broken ladder. There is a bottle of bleach floating in the water. You get two beds and that's about it and that may not even be safe. I did not see housekeeping changing any beding. Please go to another hotel, you won't be sorry you did .

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meyer712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Knox hotels

indiana
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

I reserved 6 rooms at this hotel for my family from out of state to stay at while here during my kids graduation. I had several calls in the nights they stayed here due to saftey issues. The first call came on day one with my brother saying there were no batteries in the smoke detectors and that the latch on the door was broken so that his two year old could get out. When he asked for it to be fixed they did fix it but we later found out that all the door latches were the same. Everyone was told there were no batteries for the smoke detectors and that they didnt have anything to worry about. Day two came with the dirty towels being left in the room after it was cleaned. When asking for more towels they were told the others were stained. The cost of the rooms kept changeing and family members with the same exact room were all paying a different price. None of them were the price listed on the sign. The pool we were told was open when we reserved but when they went to swim were told the pool not working. Everyone was disappointed when they woke in the morning to find no continental breakfast. We were told the sign was from the old place. I can tell you that according to the chamber of commerece this is the same name and hotel as it was when it was first built. the next thing that happened was one of my guest took thekids back to hotel to sleep and when they turned on the tv it began to smoke. The only thing they did was move them to a different room. During the move they were told the hotel had no insurance and that they had lost another hotel that had no insurance. they also stated the elevator has not been inspected since 2007. I felt really bad letting my family stay in a place like this and will never recommend this place to anyone not even my dog. As far as I am concerned they are liers and thiefs of peoples hard working money. DON'T STAY HERE. DRIVE THE EXTRA MILES AND BE SAFE. IF YOU DO STAY HERE BRING YOUR OWN TOILET PAPER. AND BATTERIES/ NO ROOMS HAVE ANY.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momallfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

Drove in 12 hours for a graduation. Very dissatisfied with every part of this hotel. (hell hole). saft door latch broken, no smoke detector battery, no clock,dirt sheets,hair in shower, small amount of toilet paper had to go by own. two towels in room when asked for more towels they had no clean ones. told pool worked when making reservations, but after check in pool was broke. no breakfast like the say was told that was a old sign and they have not had a chance to take it down. do not use elevator it has not been inspected since 2007. half the t.v. channels did not work. vending machines out dated food and pretty much empty and did not want to take a chance on the pop. and another guest in our part thier t.v. started to smoke. danger do not stop go the distance to a better hotel. this is the [--] hotel (hole in the wall) that i have ever stayed in. this place should be shut down before some one gets hurt or possibly killed. the owner should be ashamed to have this place open and take peoples money for a hotel that should charge $20.00 a night. and watch out for the starke county tourism tax. what a laugh.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littletj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

Absolutely terrible ... Dirty, smelly!! The towels are stained, the sheets are stained, the walls have filth all over them, the bathrooms are moldy .. stay away!!!
I have to do business right in Knox, but drive an extra 20 miles just to avoid having to stay at this Rat infested hell hole.
On top of that .. I was quoted 39.00 a night and charged $79.00
100% GROSS GROSS GROSS!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2008

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. No continental breakfast like the sign advertised. Half a roll of toilet paper to use in the room!!! Lack of towels, no clock, etc......
Very bad management. Sleep in your car if you have to!!!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
1 Thank knob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knox, indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

I am a Knox resident and have stayed here. The rooms are overpriced and run down along with false advertising of a continental breakfast, also the indoor pool is rarely opened and always cold. I have stayed at many motels over the years thru my line of work and feel the public should be advised of this motel,

  • Liked — was truely dissapointed
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ez_go_n_Knox_Indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knox
11.0 mi away
Culver Cove Resort
Culver Cove Resort
#1 of 2 in Culver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
13.5 mi away
Swan Lake Resort
Swan Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
17.1 mi away
Days Inn Plymouth
Days Inn Plymouth
#5 of 6 in Plymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Super 8 Plymouth
Super 8 Plymouth
#1 of 6 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
15.2 mi away
No photo provided
Indian Head Motel
#1 of 1 in Winamac
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Inn

Property: Astoria Inn
Address: 2001 S US Highway 35, Knox, IN 46534-8531
Region: United States > Indiana > Knox
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Astoria Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Astoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Knox
Astoria Inn Indiana/Knox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing