We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorites in Kokomo”

Taku Japanese Steakhouse
Ranked #13 of 153 Restaurants in Kokomo
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of my favorites in Kokomo”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I always receive good service when I dine at Taku. Prices are reasonable for lunch perhaps a bit steep for the dinner options. I have food from the grill and sometimes go for the sushi. All of the food has always been very good quality. Definitely recommend people trying it out!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lafayette11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jones, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice find on a business trip”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were on our way through town on a business trip and decided to try Taku. It was a good decision. The sushi rolls were very good. It was a nice light lunch for traveling. The price was good for lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenfoxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just ok for the money.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Meh. It was just ok. The Japanese place in Dixon plaza has was better sushi. Better, fresher quality ingredients as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wook_Slayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Decent Sushi Bar”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Decent but unremarkable experience eating at this restaurant. I ate at the sushi bar which is a small section in the restaurant. The atmosphere is 'open' and contemporary which created a very noisy atmosphere. They have a large table tucked in next to the sushi bar creating a fairly cramped space while much of the middle part of the restaurant is a wide open space.

I did not experience the hibachi 'side' of the restaurant, so I cannot comment on that.

The sushi rolls were decent and prepared quickly. The service was acceptable, but not very attentive. (I had to retrieve my own napkin and chop sticks).

Would consider returning, but it would not be at the top of the list.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SHTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really good food. With agreat show!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a birthday party. The meal started off with a lettuce salad, awesome dressing. A tasty soup. Our party of ten dined at the grill. The chef was fantastic with his culinary skills and interaction with us. Freshly grilled vegetables and choice of noodles or rice for your side dishes. Then pick your entree. I chose the half order of shrimp for $12.95. It was more than an ample serving of full blown Japaneese cuisine. They have lobster, tuna, scallops, salmon, steak, chicken, sushi and so much more! If you're hungry for Japanese cuisine and entertainment this is a great place to go. It's not cheap but if you're looking that. There are plenty of fast food places near by!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ardvarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Taku Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing