We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Swan(East Ilsley)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
84
25
12
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
25
12
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubbacon buttystayed herepiefor sunday lunchextractor fanup to datepoached eggsideal locationa great place to stayevening mealkentucky derbyan overnight stayaccommodationridgewaypintvenue
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip last week. Room was cute and on trend in terms of style. Hallways looking a bit tired if I’m honest. But the food and service was terrific - nice warm welcome and I think every team member working that day said hello. Dinner and breakfast were excellent and couldn’t fault either meal. Yes it’s a pub so yes there are people sat outside having fun, certainly didn’t spoil my stay, in fact it was a really nice, buzzy atmosphere. For previous reviewers who complained about the fact people were outside talking, my advice would be - don’t stay in a pub! Very good - will be back.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank swfeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOXFORDS, General Manager at Crown & Horns Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Top class review and thank you. We are delighted that you have had wonderful stay and look forward to seeing you soon

Regards Dave Keogh.
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

As a family we’ve been a few times in the last couple of months to the Crown and Horns. Good experiences. Very helpful staff. Good food. The menu is diverse and the ‘pie of the day’ is excellent food. Recommended

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOXFORDS, General Manager at Crown & Horns Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear Mike
Thank you for the great review, I am delighted that you have enjoyed the food and service. I will be passing your comments on to them all this weekend

Regards
Dave Keogh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

This was day 3 on our Ridgeway walk and we arrived a little weary and footsore. They were very welcoming and accommodating to our needs! The food was great, the bed comfortable, and the packed lunch provided for the following day enjoyable. An all-to-brief stay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CandWBull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOXFORDS, General Manager at Crown & Horns Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear CandWBull
Thank you for the great review, I am delighted that my team looked after you all so well. I will be passing your comments on to them all this weekend

Regards
Dave Keogh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

This was a last minute trip away. As soon as we walked in we were made to feel welcome by the staff and the regulars. Everything was so nice and relaxed, was so nice to sit in front of a open fire with a glass of wine. The room we stayed in was lovely and felt nice and cosy. We also had dinner which one of the nicest meals we have ever had! Breakfast was also lovely!The staff we're very pleasant and helpful. We would definately recommend this to anyone that wanted a nice, quiet relaxing get away. Would definately stay here again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kateedgeworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOXFORDS, General Manager at Crown & Horns Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hi kateedgeworth
Greta review thank you so much. It was a pleasure looking after you when you stayed. I passed your great comments on to all the staff

Regards
Dave Keogh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

Stayed 8 to 10 Dec 2017. Room was very unclean. Thick dust on bedside cabinets. Huge amount of cobwebs on beams and walls, back of chair and under chair. Had not been cleaned adequately at all. Smears of things on bathroom walls. Evening meal was appallingly slow and cold. Breakfast was the most appalling ever. Owner has been responding for months on trip advisor that all problems have been solved. Untrue. Many problems here. Read the reviews. Drunks from the pub stand outside the room, under the porch, smoking and shouting swearing obscenities. Had diarrhoea and vomiting day we left here. Do not stay or eat here.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank uisge2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOXFORDS, General Manager at Crown & Horns Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear guest
I am very sorry to hear all your points in regards to your stay. I really wish we could have done something when you were here to rectify your stay. I have taken every point very seriously and have spoke to all the relevant members of the team inn regards to them. I do hope to see you again, Please contact me directly on info@crownandhorns.com

Regards
Dave Keogh
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews