We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown and Horns Inn

Crown and Horns Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Romantic break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room one, one of the outer rooms which are adjoined to the pub. The room was sumptuous, fresh and clean. Felt like we were the first people to have stayed. Staff friendly and attentive. Gluten free friendly, plenty of options. Lush food. Breakfast was fresh and lovely, though it would be nice to see GF sausages on the menu. Great place with great staff. Hope to visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim O, General Manager at Crown and Horns Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thanks for taking to time to post your comments in the madness of the Festive Season. We are really pleased that you enjoyed Room 1. Will pass your comments onto May our rather fab house keeper. I am sure she will be chuffed! It makes us happy to hear that you had a lovely romantic weekend. Have spoken to Chris the chef about further gluten free items for the menu, so watch this space. Happy New Year and we hope to see you back here soon. Kind regards Kim, Chris and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    50
    13
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Met a friend for lunch and was a little disappointed with the service at this venue. There did not seem to be overly welcoming. We were shown to a table where we then waited quite some time before anyone took our order. When we did eat I was a little disappointed in the portion size for the cost! My friend ordered the pulled pork which was supposed to be served on a brioche roll, but was actually served with a normal sesame roll. We finished with coffees, my decaffinated was not very pleasant, and they were not served very professionally. It seemed to fall somewhere between ordinary pub and gastro-pub, but did not really pull it off, not quite polished enough.

Overall not sure I would go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikkathedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim O, General Manager at Crown and Horns Inn, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to the Crown and Horns. The brioche roll that you mention is currently out of stock with our supplier and you should have been informed that your meal would differ from what is printed on the menu. We strive to offer consistently friendly service as well as value for money (especially in the current climate)and I am sorry that you found us lacking this time around. I will pass you feedback back to the staff and we will endeavour to make improvements based on your comments. Once again thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. Kim, Chris and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Monday evening get together with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Have been to this place over many years and at last it is really very good again, there are a decent selection of real ales and the selection and presentation of the food was very good. The crayfish fish cakes were good as was the chicken breast. My belly of pork was a little too fatty for my liking, but I am being a little picky here. What a change from the last time when it was very run down, but now it is welcoming, good to see locals still drink here, well worth the deviation off the A34 to find this pub.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xto36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim O, General Manager at Crown and Horns Inn, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We do appreciate your deviation off the A34 to come and sample our food and beer and we are really pleased that you enjoyed what you found here. It is great to hear that you think we are on the way up again! Thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review. Many thanks Kim, Chris and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding service ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived very late due to motorway closures, hosts stayed up to let us in. Bedroom was clean and tastefully decorated with comfortable bed and pillows.
Clean bathroom with good hot shower.
Breakfast beautifully presented and good quality. Would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend to friends.

Helpful?
Thank Button1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim O, General Manager at Crown and Horns Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
After so little sleep over the last few days and a journey from hell, I am surprised and delighted that you had the energy to put a review on. Thanks you so much, we really appreciate your enthusiastic comments and are very glad you had a good night's sleep. We hope that the next time you visit you are able to stay more than a few hours. Kind regards Chris, Kim and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Walked in hungry and not knowing where we were!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely friendly atmosphere, yummy food and pleasant staff. We arrived after a 3 hour walk over the chiltern ridge absolutely starving. We were served gorgeous food out of hours...thank you to staff and chef. Highly recommend this pub. Staff also helped us find our way back to where we were staying! Would come back without a doubt.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim O, General Manager at Crown and Horns Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
It's great to see that you were so well looked after and that you enjoyed your visit to the Crown and Horns. We really do appreciate you taking the time to put your comments online. I will make sure all the team receive your feedback. Many thanks. Kind regards Chris, Kim and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown and Horns Inn also viewed

East Ilsley, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 
West Ilsley, Berkshire
Compton, Berkshire
 

Been to Crown and Horns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing