We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wednesday Lunch Day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown and Horns Inn

Crown and Horns Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Wednesday Lunch Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We regularly go the the C&H's for lunch on a Wednesday and are always looked after so well by either Chrissy or Mia who greet us with a smile. The guest beers are excellent as is the macaroni cheese. Give it a try.

Helpful?
Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    51
    13
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inkpen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Most Enjoyable Evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husband and I and two friends went from Inkpen to the Crown and Horns for Dinner last night. The service, ambience and food were all very good, we all had 3 courses and they were all different so we sampled quite a selection between us and no complaints at all, all dishes were really good. We will return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tokkihazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Picked this place from trip advisor reviews as it was in a central location for a family (and dog)get together.
I rang a few days ahead to check and book and they were very helpful...good start. very easy to find, only a minute or so off the busy A34.
We arrived a little early for our 1pm booking but were made very welcome. As promised we were seated at a lovely table that completely met our needs.
We were left to choose at a relaxed pace while our drinks were brought promptly.....as was a water bowl for the dog.
Not a huge menu but we all easily found something that we liked. Food arrived after a short wait and was very beautifully presented.
Portions were good and the food was very well cooked, succulent meat and lovely veg.
Nice desserts and coffee to round off a thoroughly pleasant afternoon...made nicer by the staff here who are all smiley, polite and friendly without being in your face.
The Crown and Horns has a lovely comfortable and relaxed atmosphere and we will definitely be returning again, Thank you for a great visit :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thankgoditsholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Passing Through - Pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

En route from Cheshire to Salisbury we tapped our location into TripAdvisor seeking a lunch break.

What a little find.

A wonderful welcome from Chris before we had even entered the property followed by the broadest smile from the barman.

Steak sandwiches rare with a glass of Merlot preceded by a great pint of Village Idiot. Brilliant - sitting out in the sunshine.

A memorable lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Colonel1Sandbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing food, amazing welcome, easily the best pub in the area!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I was looking for a pub to eat in that accepted dogs as my Father was coming to visit with his 3 small dogs. We booked a table in the bar for Saturday and went on a trial on the Friday night and took our St Bernard with us. To say we were welcome was an understatement. The staff bought out a bowl of water for him and gave him loads of fuss and cuddles (there were already 2 whippets in there when we arrived). The food was out of this world, and the popcorn on the bar was a nice extra. The next day we had another amazing meal, even my father loved it (which is a miracle) and there is plenty of choice on the menu. We were welcomed by the staff like old friends! The Pub/Inn has a really lovely feel to it and SO clean...I wished I lived further away just so I could stay in one of the rooms!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jirral D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown and Horns Inn also viewed

East Ilsley, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 
West Ilsley, Berkshire
Compton, Berkshire
 
Chilton, Vale of White Horse
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to Crown and Horns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing