We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Vernon Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hanbury
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here while on business and was very impressed. I wanted a foodie pub/hotel and this was a perfect choice. I booked the superior room which is very nicely decorated and has a great en-suite with a huge bath - not really a shower- just a good shower attachment but the bath was fabulous. I had dinner in the restaurant with a business colleague and it was excellent food - some very different choices and great value too. It has a modern, stylish decor, very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also very good. It is rurally located, no shops nearby but I prefer to be somewhere scenic and the countryside around it is great. It is very near the motorway network so very accessible too. I wish I was always so lucky to find a place like this to stay when away on business.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohmigod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    15
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
22
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

On my first visit i vowed id take my wife there to show her. I got my chance on the first May bank holiday.

We arrived on the sunday late afternoon and opted for food in the bar which was superb. The addition of morrocan preserved lemons to the smoke salmon really made the dish. And the tempura was crisp and hot.

We stayed in room 10 which was lovely and was also quiet at night. The following morning we had a great cooked to order breakfast to get us on our way

A delight to stay at

Room Tip: Room ten was lovely and quiet being at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I went for a meal with my family to The Vernon on a saturday night. The food was delicious and delicately presented. I had the scallops on a pork hock and it was to die for! I could not fault it. I then had the lamb which was perfectly cooked to what i asked for and was bursting with flavour. I had the asiette of desserts and was presented beautifully and taste lovely.

This is a great restaurant and i have heard from family members that the room are top notch. The setting is really nice and is defiantly a place to visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Was happy to have shared this special lunch with my family who all loved this beautiful sunday lunch. Had heard many good reports regarding the food at the Vernon and i wasn't disopointed. Beautifully presented,locally sourced food in a quality surrounding. Will definately be back in the future. A la carte menu looks great too?

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Came here for a family meal for a birthday. First impressions very inviting, nicely decorated & clean. Staff were very friendly & helpful.

Food was presented beautifully and very tasty. Only gripe I have is that the portions are a bit on the small side. I myself prefer things like vegetables with my main meal.
We had the set menu which was very good value for money- no quarms there! Glad we did as we would if left hungry without the 3 courses!!
Only thing I would say it lacked was atmosphere. No background music just the chit chat from the kitchen where the staff seemed to congregate & chat when unoccupied. I wouldn't want to be the one paying the staff wages at the end if the day (more staff than customers!)
Would definitely return but only for a special occasion. Not really a pub lunch or dinner sort of place but def worth a visit.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PheasantOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Shaky start as we weren't booked and at 7.30pm was told we would have a table at 8pm however by 8.20pm we were still waiting. All was made up by the delicious food and great evening. Enjoyed it tremendously and would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank debbiefrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This surprising little inn provides great quality in a location that is not well served by interesting places to stay. The initial impressions were good with a bright and well cared for facade, ample parking and fields out the back. They were not let down by the friendliness of the staff and smart and modern appearance of the interior.
The bedroom was clean with a large comfortable bed and nice soft furnishings. The en-suite shower room was similarly clean and well equipped with an ample supply of toiletries.
The only criticism I have is about the size of the bedroom-the bed over filled the room and there was only just room to squeeze round two sides making access to the wardrobe very difficult. If there had been two of us trying to occupy the room we would have had to be fairly acrobatic and very tidy. More inconveniently there was nowhere to work other than lying on the bed. The en-suite was small but perfectly adequate for a sole traveler
However the bed was exceedingly comfortable and, in spite of being right beside a fairly busy road, the sound insulation was very good and I had a really good nights sleep.
The high point of my stay was the excellent restaurant - this really is a restaurant with rooms and the menu was extensive enough to provide an interesting variety without being excessive. The food was beautifully presented, delicious and the quantity was just right. The wine list had, unusually, some interesting wines by the glass and the staff provided just the right level of service without being annoying.
All in all very enjoyable which was carried through to the freshly cooked breakfast served the following morning which really set me up for a busy working day.
Overall a very good experience and one that I will look forward to repeating when I am working in the area again and one I am seriously considering for leisure as well - would just need a bigger room for two.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waldo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanbury
1.2 mi away
Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre
1.9 mi away
St Andrews Town Hotel
St Andrews Town Hotel
#2 of 4 in Droitwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Crown by Marston's Inns
2.9 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bromsgrove South (Worcester Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vernon Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vernon Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Vernon Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Droitwich Road, Hanbury, Droitwich B60 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Droitwich > Hanbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hanbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vernon Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully refurbished to an exceptional standard this village pub has an exceptional restaurant that serves lunches and evening meals. We have five bedrooms all decorated in a modern and fresh style. Hospitality is our focus here and every member of staff will go out of their way to make your stay wonderful ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Vernon Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing