We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A dream come true! A nordic must!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birka and Hovgarden

Birka and Hovgarden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46.13*
and up
Birka the Viking City - Boat and Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Bjorko
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Here at Bjorko, in the middle of lake Malaren, Birka town was based during the 750's and is today known as Sweden's first city. To this day there are visible traces of the people who were born and who lived and died here. Today Birka is one of UNESCO's World Heritage Sites and has several important ruins and offers seasonal reenactments of Viking life. Birka is also a beautiful island with a historical landscape, perfect for a stroll or a refreshing swim. Restaurant Sarimner offers meals and drinks and the museum gives you an insight the the life of the Vikings that lived here.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Netanya, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A dream come true! A nordic must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I am in love with Nordic history and culture and Birka has that to spare!

The cruise to the island is around an hour and 45 minutes, but it passes some amazing views of the islands, and in a good sunny day (like we had) you can have a lot of beautiful pictures and just a really nice and calm start for the day.

The guided tour was very informative and interesting and took us through some very beautiful scenic landscapes on the island and very nice photo places!

The restored town was very beautiful and authentic and you really feel like you are placed in a different epic era in time!

The museum was rather small but had amazingly detailed models of the village and life in that time and place.

The souvenir shop was the best souvenir shop I've seen. It had a collection of cool and beautiful yet not tacky items that really gives you a memento of that adventure while keeping it authentic and unique!

And finally, the guides are super nice! I've contacted one of them prior to the visit to get more information about the trip and he was super nice and answered all my questions and when we arrived there and met him, he even had a surprise for me and gave me a few minutes to wear the actual clothes, shield, spear and helmet of real vikings so I could take some pictures with them...And that was a dream come true! (which you can see on my FB profile pictures lol).

So in conclusion, this was an epic adventure and I really recommend it to anyone who loves the Nordic culture and loves to feel inside an epic era!:)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Nir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    25
    15
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great trip with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We really enjoyed our trip to Birka and found it tremendously evocative of the Viking period. Our three kids had a great time and the fact that you can walk all over the site definitely kept them engaged. Parents enjoyed it too and learnt quite a bit!. A couple of tips: you can swim on the beach, so be prepared for that. Also the trip is quite long (2 hours on the boat each way) so bring entertainment. It's also really worth following up the trip with a visit to Historiska Museet in Stockholm where many of the artefacts are actually kept.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Daytrip from Stockholm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

As a big history buff, I really enjoyed the day trip to Birka (Bjorko). You must go as part of a package deal. There's not a lot on the island - the small museum takes, at most, 30 minutes. The Viking town ruins are not conspicuous, except for the ramparts around the hillfort. However, it's a lovely little island and if you've done a bit of background reading and have a good imagination, it's very evocative and I could have easily spent 2-3 hours longer than we had on the island. There's a small restaurant on the island that opens to meet day trippers for lunch. I highly recommend also making a reservation to have a late lunch/early dinner on the trip back to Stockholm. Make sure you take one of the guided tours that begin at the museum (once daily in English).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank ARedLetterDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna K, Web communicator at Birka and Hovgarden, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Hi ARedLetterDay.
Thank you for writing a review! We´re so happy that you enjoyed your day trip to Birka! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
307 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Viking Settlement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Birka is an island with one of the oldest and largest of the known Viking settlements. You need to take a two-hour ride to get to and from the island. In summer, the boat leaves at 10:00 from Stockholm harbor and from Birka at 3:30. It has food and drink for purchase. This site is well worth visiting if you are interested in the history of the Nordic countries and peoples.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Eclipsegroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“island of viking burials”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

This place is other-worldly. I don't mean the village or the cafe or the museum, which are all fine, but take a long walk out to the burial mounds. It is worth it. Each pile of stones is a viking grave, and under that huge grey sky and among all the silence, just transporting to 1000 years ago. Just beautiful. Birch trees and green grass and wildflowers.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
8 Thank SeasideNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birka and Hovgarden also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Birka and Hovgarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing