We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spa Cabin with a good view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Geelong
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Belmont
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This nice Tourist Park is a gem we found online through the recommendation of a friend, nicely tucked away in a little corner within Belmont, with the entrance facing a river. At check-in we got asked some details just to make sure we're the correct persons, but generally smooth procedure. I personally think we just have to be nice to the staff and they will be more than willing to go the extra mile for you. The old gentleman at check-in even told us to help ourselves to a copy of the Geelong Intro Guides they have placed at the counters and went on to show us some visit-worthy places.

We got allocated to SU03, which is a Spa Cabin, ideal for couples. It's situated right at the end of the Tourist Park, somewhere at the centre within the row. An elevated cabin means that it would help keep out the rain water from flowing in on rainy days. Also, the driveway to park my car was more than enough for my Nissan Dualis to open all its doors at its widest including the boot of this hatchback, without occupying at space on my neighbour's parking lot. However, I do agree that some other cabins didn't have this luxury of such big parking space.

Pleasantly surprised that the cabin doors are like chalets, sliding door style, with blinds available from the inside. Greeting you at the door is the living room, with the kitchenette, which is really useful, especially considering that eating at restaurants will take quite a bite off your wallet compared to cooking on your own.

The highlight of this cabin is Jacuzzi tub they have in the bathroom, with heating lights available, so you can still feel some warmth after your shower. This is extremely useful if you're planning to take a shower early in the morning during winter days.

The all-in-one air-con/heater is working fine and kept us comfy throughout the times when we were in the cabin. Nothing to pick on, really. The view from my cabin is just nice facing the sun rise every morning and with the dining table near the door, I always enjoy a scenic breakfast watching the sub rise every morning.

The only grouse I have is that the Kitchen Vent is not working, luckily we found out about this prior to frying, so what we did was we only cooked soup stuff, otherwise the whole house would have been really oily and smelled bad.

Overall quite a comfy stay, other than the channels being limited and sometime bad signals will further limit your TV watching experience, but it didn't really bother me much, since we can do online viewing from our laptop. I didn't bother about WiFi because I bought a Data Sim Card which I tethered the data off my phone.

One thing to note is that the reception is only open from 8am to 6pm, so if you're too early, you've got to wait till they open. If you're checking out earlier, all you need to do is to drop the key through a letter hole at their reception door, then off you go. But if you're driving, be sure to tap the reader at the exit, drive your car out before depositing the keys, otherwise you'll be stuck inside until the staff comes back and you may miss your next timing to meet or worse, your flight.

So just plan your timings properly and I guarantee you'll be in for a really enjoyable time at this Tourist Park.

Room Tip: Get a spa cabin if you're travelling as a couple, not bad. Family Cabins are nice too, from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Brianong88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Cabins great but cramme in like sardines - not even enough room to park a vehicle in designated spot and open doors properly - we found 2 of the management staff we dealt with incredibly rude and very intolerant. Always stay in big4 parks, this would be our worst experience in 30 years.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sidandglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks - Geelong, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Geelong Riverview Tourist Park, we are very disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay.
Our staff are trained to deliver a high standard of customer service and we apologise that you feel you did not receive this. I will pass your comments on to Management and they will be used for the ongoing training of our staff.
We hope that your experience does not deter you from visiting one of our other Aspen Parks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed two nights at this beautiful park, staff were very helpful.Unit was very clean with very comfortable beds. Would certainly stay again and will recommend the park to others.The only problem we found was turning the heater on instruction leaflet would have been helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently stayed in a family cabin (closest to the front of the caravan park) and it was wonderful. The cabin was well furnished and presentable. Everything was clean and tidy and we had a great night.
Will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: The family cabins are spacious and well spaced out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We booked a two night stay online in a spa cabin. It is a lovely tourist park and very nicely situated so travelling into the city, or to the Great Ocean Road is not a problem.
The staff were friendly at checkin and gave us a tourist map and highlighted several spots we were planning to visit so we where easily able to find them on the map.
Our one bedroom spa cabin was clean, neat and just lovely to stay in. I would have preferred a couch rather than two large arm chairs but it in no way detracted from our stay. We had a huge spa which was great to use. Price for the two nights was quite reasonable.
The only thing I would suggest when you book is to make sure you book a stand alone cabin. I did not realise our cabin was part of two that were joined. The first night was fine because the second cabin was empty but the second night we could hear high heels on the floorboards, things being moved so it was a bit distracting. Otherwise it was a delightful stay.

Room Tip: Check that you have a stand alone cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Awesome small park, only stayed one night, wished we could have stayed longer, not a lot of sites, very reasonable, nice grassy sites, no highway noise. Close to central business district, quiet and very friendly staff at both check in and when we requested a forward booking. We would definitely stay here again. Loved my first night ever on an en suite site and it didn't cost that much more!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gumgully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I arrived hoping for a cabin being mid week and shoulder season but none were available and so I opted for an unpowered site and pitched my tent. The rate seemed a bit steep for a single with a tent but the site suggested had good lawn and was close to the amenities block which was clean enough. The surprise came when I wanted to go to sleep. Not sure what it was but something to do with the giant gas cyliners attached to the amenities building meant that there was an intermittent and sustained roar all night. I employed my trusty earplugs which generally filter most things but the noise was so loud it made for a very sleepless (and annoying) night. The location is good and the river provides a foil to urbanisation for those coming in from open spaces and the facilities were fine. The continual racket throughout the night was not. I have a long day tomorrow and am writing this at 4.00am having given up on trying to rest.

Room Tip: Don't get anything near the amenities block unless you are a very hevy sleeper unaffected by ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmont
1.4 mi away
Rydges Geelong
Rydges Geelong
#9 of 18 in Geelong
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 18 in Geelong
137 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Parkwood Motel
Parkwood Motel
#7 of 18 in Geelong
77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parkside Motel Geelong
Parkside Motel Geelong
#5 of 5 in Belmont
76 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Admiralty Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Geelong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Geelong

Address: 59 Barrabool Rd, Belmont, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3216, Australia (Formerly Geelong Riverview Tourist Park)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Belmont
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Belmont
Price Range: £64 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks - Geelong 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geelong Riverview Tourist Park is located less than five minutes drive from the centre of Geelong and fifteen minutes from World Class beaches. The Great Ocean Road region offers surfer’s year round action with dozens of surf breaks along the coast including the internationally famous Bells Beach. Bells Beach is the home of the Rip Curl Pro Surf & Music Festival one of the world's longest running surfing competitions held in April each year. Swimming, sailing, boating, scuba diving and surfing are all popular pastimes in the region. If water sports isn’t your scene then explore Geelong's Waterfront; a perfect place to take in the sights and sounds of Geelong. Take a stroll along the boardwalks to Cunningham Pier for family fun or pack a picnic and enjoy a day in the sun on the vast expanses of lawn at Eastern Beach. Visit the beautifully restored steam-driven, antique carousel, view public art on a waterfront walk and discover the many quirky Baywalk Bollards representative of the many characters who formed Geelong as we know it today. Uncover Geelong’s History and explore National Trust listed buildings. View a collection of outstanding Australian paintings and sculpture at the Art Gallery, explore Geelong’s darker side and take part in a ghost tour of the Geelong Gaol or learn about the history of wool at the National Wool Museum. Nearby, the Bellarine Peninsula is home to beautiful cool climate wines, superb restaurants, quaint cafés, fresh local produce, seafood and Sunday markets. Geelong Riverview Tourist Park offers the perfect place to begin or end your Great Ocean Road journey. Travel along one of the world's most scenic roads and discover the wonders of the Twelve Apostles, the Otway’s rainforest, Bells Beach and the Surf Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Discovery Parks - Geelong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing