We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Lafayette
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We were welcomed by the staff as soon as we walked in! very nice rooms. The bar is very comfortable and relaxing after a long day. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Very nice hotel for the money!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank buzz911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    69
    50
    17
    20
See reviews for
61
20
10
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greendale, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel is in a great location when we visit our son at Purdue -- we've stayed at the Holiday Inn City Center 3 times over the past year. As travelers we like to get our breakfast delivered from room service, but 2 out of the 3 times they forgot to deliver. The first time our room was located in an out of the way corner on the floor we were on so I thought they just didn't see our card hanging on the door. The second time I gave the card to the person who delivered something in the evening. When we didn't get the breakfast I called and the room service person to ask what happened and she said "Awwww" -- no I'm sorry or anything. Then the manager called and gave us the meal for free. Also, even though check out isn't till noon, the cleaning ladies are knocking on the door to clean before 9 am. In my opinion it's all about the quality of people you have working in your hotel. Sorry to be harsh, but that's what it is.

Room Tip: The rooms we've had have always been spacious and clean (7th or 8th floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Vicki N,

Thank you so much for your recent comments. It is nice that you gave high scores for our location and room accommodations. However, I sincerely apologize that your visit was negatively affected by the room service mishaps. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lafayette hotels

Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
329 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel has contrasts. An attractive exterior and public areas but rooms, while clean and spacious are scarcely furnished and decorated. For a college town hotel maintenance is obviously good because there is no evidence of college party wear and tear. The restaurant is well done for a value priced chain hotel. This is my third stay, so, amongst Lafayette choices this hotel does well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WARSAWRUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear WARSAWRUN,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests’ feel it is necessary. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

This was at least the 4th time we've stayed at this hotel in the past few years and we have never been disappointed. We are always treated exceptionally well and recognized for being Platinum Elite PC members! The hotel lobby is very pretty and good for gathering (with the bar right there, its very convenient)!! NOTE: Our room had a nice walk-in shower, which was perfect for us but if you require a tub -- you better ask for a room that has one.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandleronthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Parking good, location average and within walking of a few eating places.
Hotel restaurant pretty average.
Rooms large and lean.
Service ok throughout.check in was a bit slow.
Here on business so was suitable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 187069Mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear 187069Mario,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is our pleasure to accommodate our guests needs the best way we can and we are so pleased you were satisfied with the location of our hotel as well as the service received and your room accommodations. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Once again, thank you for your comments and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Every door leading into every guest room in this hotel has an attached brass piece with sharp corners. If you use your forearm to hold the door open, you can easily pull a thread. It happened to me twice (with two different shirts nonetheless). At $50/shirt, I'll probably go broke staying at this hotel. I don't understand why they don't round off the corners. It's obvious that multiple people have snagged something on each one of them.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Joe D,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. It is with regret that you did not enjoy this visit due to the issues encountered with the property’s maintenance. Please be assured that we will use your comments to take into consideration for future upgrades needed at our facility.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

This was my third stay at this hotel. The location is great while visiting family at Purdue. The beds are comfortable but the pillows are only about half the size of a standard pillow.
We had problems from the onset. I booked a room with 2 queen beds 4 mos prior. Upon a near midnight arrival we were informed they only had a king size bed available. Great, except we were 3 people. They offered the most uncomfortable roll away that we had to place the mattress directly on the floor... And even that didnt help much. We were traveling with a diabetic so we requested a refrigerator for the insulin. They told us we needed to wait until the next day to get one. After requesting it again the following day, they brought it up to the room.
At check in they told us the type of room we requested would not be available until 2 nights later. Each day we checked at the front desk to check to see if one was available. Each person, different each time,said we had to wait the 2 days.
On the first day housekeeping did not come into the room. When we questioned the daily housekeeping policy, the manager became very argumentative and very rude. She obviously missed the Hospitality Promise class that the hotel proudly displays on a sign though out the hotel.
Finally on the day we expected to change rooms, the same unprofessional manager informed us that one was not available although we had been promised one from check-in. Once again, she was very agrumentative in the lobby in front on other guests checking in.
The only pleasant part of our stay was breakfast in the dining room. The service and food was good with friendly staff.

We will certainly be looking for another place to stay since my daughter will be at Purdue another 3 yrs.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lsquizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Lsquizz,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Lafayette, IN.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lafayette
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Lafayette
Courtyard Lafayette
#6 of 21 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lafayette
Hampton Inn Lafayette
#2 of 21 in Lafayette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lafayette
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lafayette East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre
Address: 515 South Street, Lafayette, IN 47901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Lafayette City Centre in Lafayette, Indiana Returning the tradition and elegance to historic downtown Lafayette, Indiana, the Holiday Inn Lafayette City Centre offers 147 hotel rooms and 7,500 square feet of meeting space. A grand, new hotel built to reflect the quality and craftsmanship of a bygone era, Holiday Inn Lafayette City Centre rises 8 stories above ground, establishing a new landmark in the downtown skyline. From our rooms, guests can look out over scenic downtown Lafayette. Located in the business district, this grand hotel is blocks from the Tippecanoe County Court House, walking distance to the Long Center, theaters, art galleries, restaurants, live entertainment and more. We are also just one mile from Purdue University in West Lafayette, and close to many major businesses such as Eli Lilly, Wabash National, Caterpillar, TRW, Alcoa, Arnett Clinic, Landis & Gyr, Chemtura, Toyota, Subaru, Wal-Mart, Cargill, Fairfield, State Farm Insurance, St. Elizabeth Hospital, Home Hospital, and Unity Medical Center. Ascend our grand staircase in the main two-story lobby to the elegant meeting rooms on the second floor. Experience Italian dining at Toscana Italian Grill & Bar, where the menu includes seasonal and fresh market ingredients including premium ground beef, ground fresh from whole cuts of beef. Toscana also offers its customers a fine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre Hotel Lafayette
Lafayette Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing