We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pass on this one” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Lafayette
Burlington, Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“pass on this one”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

we stayed here for my birthday so we wouldn't have to drive after hitting the bars. our daughter came by before our festivities began to swim in the pool. they didn't tell us when we were checking in that the pool was closed... on a saturday! the guy that was filling the pool said it would be ready in a couple hours, so we waited in the room and ordered pizza for a couple hours and went back to hear it wouldn't be ready till the next day! with check out at noon and my husband and i planning on being hung-over the next day, we talked to the front desk and got the ok to check out later in order for her to come back and swim. sunday came and the water registered at 50 degrees! the poor kid wanted to swim so badly that she struggled through it for about 10 min until i made her get out with blue lips!! if we had known the pool wouldn't have been ready, we would have gone to the hilton instead.
aside from the pool problem, the rooms need some serious updating. it looks like a beautiful hotel on the outside, but the inside looks like any other hotel that hasn't been updated since 1985! not what you expect for the price!
i wish there were more options downtown lafayette, but if we ever decide to get a room there again, i'll be going to the hilton!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole4790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    69
    50
    17
    20
See reviews for
61
20
10
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

The location was nice, but are stay was prompted by a severe weather storm. We paid around $150 each night of our stay. The rooms were clean but had an outdated tv. They also charged $10 night for the use of a frig...this room should of had the appliances already...small pool, and the next day, the prices were lowered to $91 for the same room! Very shady for an "upscale" hotel. I will stay at the Hilton across the street next time!!! Expectations were not met...

Dallas Fountain
Visited 2/1/11-2/3/11

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dfountai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPorte, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

We stayed two nights when visiting for a Purdue class reunion over a football weekend. We selected this hotel because the reunion banquet was being held here. The experience started out badly and didn't get any better. We checked in at 3:00 pm on Friday, and upon arriving in our room, found that we had been assigned a handicapped-accessible room. The "closet" consisted of two bare bars placed on the wall, one over the other. It was impossible to hang anything longer than a shirt. The bathroom had an old "roll-in" shower with a fold-down seat, and the bathroom itself had a drain in the floor -- right in front of the sink. The shower head was actually a small, cheap hand-held model just like you would add on a hose to your home bath or shower to wash the dog with, which was mounted on a slide on the wall and had water pressure comparable to an elementary school drinking fountain. There was no bathtub, so there was no alternate to the trickle shower head. The room also had no refrigerator, which seemed kind of strange for an "upscale" hotel.

We immediately called the front desk and asked for a room change -- they refused. They said that the hotel was full and they could not switch us. It was 3:00 pm on a Friday afternoon, so I'm pretty sure all guests had not checked in. They were unwilling to switch rooms with guests who had not even checked in yet! We had made the reservation through the Holiday Inn website over one month prior, so this was not a last-minute thing, nor were we told at check-in that we had been given a handicapped-accessible room.

As I said, things didn't get any better. The website advertised "refreshed" rooms, but ours still had older furniture and a tube-TV (there was a high-def channel guide in the room which did not apply). The bedside light on one side of the bed did not work, nor did the special computer outlet on top of the desk -- which I found out when I returned to the room to find my laptop, which was plugged into the outlet, dead. As I feared, when we took showers, the bathroom became a pond. The floor was slippery and extremely dangerous to anyone was not in a wheelchair. I'm glad that hotels have handicapped-accessible rooms available, but this room was clearly sub-standard, handicapped or not.

I did relay our experience to Holiday Inn corporate. I received a stock response telling me that since we had reserved a "standard" room, they could pretty much put us anywhere they wanted. So much for customer service.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corkigood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lafayette hotels

Westfield, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

We have stayed at this hotel twice this year for different weddings and were impressed both times. The hotel is clean, the lobby is beautiful, the beds are comfortable, and the hotel staff is friendly and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed staying here, would definitely stay there again, and would highly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aedavis08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

We booked this hotel back in March for a "football weekend" in November. We had to cancel the reservation about a week later due to a wedding that we found out was the same weekend. Called the hotel directly and canceled our reservation. On my credit card bill in October, I got charged for the entire weekend's stay. I called to hotel to inquire and they said that they didn't have a record of our cancellation and I needed a cancellation number (which I no longer had since it was 8 months later... who saves a cancellation number for 8 months? I hadn't thought about this reservation since we canceled it in April). Talked to the reservation specialist and hotel manager who refused to do anything but keep out deposit (over $500 for two nights which is a little outrageous anyway) even though it was their mistake. The hotel refused to give us a refund so we are now disputing the charges with our credit card company. I am so ticked about this... never had a problem with anything like this and we travel a lot! BEWARE!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

We spent the night at the City Centre on a non-football game Saturday, and got a great rate on the room. Upon check-in, we were greeted by two very friendly staff members and I was upgraded rooms because I had joined the "Priority Club" (no charge) at the time I made the reservation.

We checked out our room, which had a nice view of downtown Lafayette and was very spacious and clean. The bathroom configuration was a little strange, but we made it work. We needed a few more pillows (had four, but I wanted 2 more) and the staff brought them within 5-10 minutes. We also forgot toothpaste and were given a complimentary tube by the front desk.

The hotel put out yummy coffee in the morning and had all of the amenities that we were looking for. The staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and like valued customers. We cannot wait to return to this hotel and will recommend it to any travelers visiting Purdue!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyTraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn while visiting our son at Purdue. The hotel was OK: reasonably comfortable although without some basic amentiies and with a barebones bathroom. It is reasonaly close to Purdue by car, and within easy walking distance of Lafyette's restaurants and stores. This was easily the most expensive Holiday Inn I have stayed at, probably because it was Family Day at Purdue and a home football game. Unfortunately there are not many alternatives unless you want to stay out by the interstate.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCVISIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lafayette
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lafayette
Hampton Inn Lafayette
#2 of 21 in Lafayette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Lafayette
Courtyard Lafayette
#5 of 21 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lafayette
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lafayette East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre
Address: 515 South Street, Lafayette, IN 47901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Lafayette City Centre in Lafayette, Indiana Returning the tradition and elegance to historic downtown Lafayette, Indiana, the Holiday Inn Lafayette City Centre offers 147 hotel rooms and 7,500 square feet of meeting space. A grand, new hotel built to reflect the quality and craftsmanship of a bygone era, Holiday Inn Lafayette City Centre rises 8 stories above ground, establishing a new landmark in the downtown skyline. From our rooms, guests can look out over scenic downtown Lafayette. Located in the business district, this grand hotel is blocks from the Tippecanoe County Court House, walking distance to the Long Center, theaters, art galleries, restaurants, live entertainment and more. We are also just one mile from Purdue University in West Lafayette, and close to many major businesses such as Eli Lilly, Wabash National, Caterpillar, TRW, Alcoa, Arnett Clinic, Landis & Gyr, Chemtura, Toyota, Subaru, Wal-Mart, Cargill, Fairfield, State Farm Insurance, St. Elizabeth Hospital, Home Hospital, and Unity Medical Center. Ascend our grand staircase in the main two-story lobby to the elegant meeting rooms on the second floor. Experience Italian dining at Toscana Italian Grill & Bar, where the menu includes seasonal and fresh market ingredients including premium ground beef, ground fresh from whole cuts of beef. Toscana also offers its customers a fine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre Hotel Lafayette
Lafayette Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing