We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable standard”
Review of Bistro 501

Bistro 501
Ranked #7 of 229 Restaurants in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bistro 501 is the premier dining experience in downtown Lafayette. From foodie to formal, we have a beautifully crafted menu and expertly curated cocktails and wine. Our menu features a range of dishes from more adventurous escargot and roasted marrow bones to the classic filet, fresh seafood and roasted chicken. Lunch is a must try with a full selection of handcrafted sandwiches, salads and entrées. Check our social media for nightly and weekly features, see you soon!
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reliable standard”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great place, menu varies by season, always very good. We have a few dinner favorites that are always on menu. Service and ambiance excellent.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne and Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    32
    18
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, overall”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Overall the experience was good. The food was great. I had the duck. It was an ample portion and cooked to perfection. The service was poor. The waiter took our order and collected the check. He did not visit our table throughout dinner. Therefore, I felt compelled to rate the experience as average.

Helpful?
Thank Johann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bistro 501 is sliding down hill”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I have lived in West Lafayette for 3 years now and have eaten at Bistro 501 many times for lunch and dinner and mainly for business (colleagues, seminar speakers, guests etc). I would estimate at least 2 dinners per month. Over the past two months (September - October), I have eaten at Bistro at least 5 times and each experience has gotten worse in terms of service, food and wine availability, and quality of food. I am not sure what is happening but it has led us to take our guests to other local places. My last two experiences were on Wednesday night when they 1/2-price bottles of French wines. Both nights, dinner at either 6 pm or 6:30 pm, they were out of a number of bottles and even appetizer and dinner items. The waiter and waitress were slow and hardly anyone was in Bistro at the time and the last time my check was completely messed up with charges that were put on, taken off etc. I have talked to some of my colleagues and they have experienced the same problems. I am not sure what is happening with Bistro but I hope they get it fixed. I am writing this as I wanted to go again this evening with an out of town seminar speaker but I am going, once again, somewhere else.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mesecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Let's get a cocktail”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My husband and I have eaten at Bistro and really enjoyed it, but tonight we were just wanting to go somewhere different for a cocktail and to quietly visit without a lot of background noise. We ended up ordering the pate' plate and tempura shrimp for a snack and I must say, having traveled alot, that was the best pate' we've eaten.....period! Lots of local market produce and french flare! Great evening!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griffith, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unnecessarily Pricey”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I went to Bistro 501 with a friend from work while traveling to the Lafayette area. The food was good but for the price I did not feel it was that good. I've had a better steak at LongHorn or even Texas Roadhouse but paid twice as much. The atmosphere was not however.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro 501 also viewed

 

Been to Bistro 501? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing