We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT SPOT”

3rd Base Bar and Grill
Ranked #8 of 81 Restaurants in LaPorte
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
La Porte, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“GREAT SPOT”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The food is excellent. Not fine dining, but great pub fare (wings-salads-sandwiches). Usually busy and can be crowded after work. Staff is very good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Arlington, New Jersey
1 review
“Great local bar”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Perfect spot for a late nite beer and hamburger. First time visit and our waitress was extremely pleasant and helpful. Ample draft beer selections and very good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mbsjrnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We eat here for lunch frequently. Always very good soups and sandwiches. Never been disappointed in any of their meals. There's not of seating, they need a bigger place because people really enjoy going here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DWestfall2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“a great gem”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

great comfort food. We were pleasantly surprised as to how good the food was. I just wish they had more tables for families. There are only 2 booths and 1 or 2 tables unless you can sit outside (in the winter this is not an option LOL). This is due to the fact that 3rd Base is a bar first and grill second so most of the space is taken up by the bar area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChristineR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPorte, Indiana
Level Contributor
201 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best food for a local bar”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Third Base is our favorite local bar. They have gone non-smoking which is nice. The food is excellent. Our favorites include the southwest salad, club sandwiches, and amazing burgers. Outdoor seating abailable with nice views of Pine Lake.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 3rd Base Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to 3rd Base Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing