We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the lake, quiet, friendly, great bed!”
Review of The Blue Heron Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had a fortunate experience as walk-in, no reservation, after stopping at one chain and trying to book at another. No standard doubles available, but we had a choice of discounted suites on the lake, chose quiet main floor unit next to pool. Night clerk was wonderfully helpful. Good internet, good restaurant dinner specials on site, seating on the water with sunset view! We wanted to stay on but were on a road trip. Rib steak and walleye were delicious and perfectly prepared in the restaurant. Very friendly service all around.

Room Tip: Ground floor suite next to pool is quiet because no other rooms around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andarcaminos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

This place has potential. Our lakeview room had a pleasant view but there were ants coming out of the baseboards near the whirlpool and in the bathroom; in fact it looked like dead bugs were caked around the baseboard in the bathroom, the floor of which was filthy. Our screen door kept falling off and the white plastic patio chairs on the deck and around the pool were filthy. From the second floor you could see layers of caked on dust on ceiling fans, beams, and plastic plants.

The remainder of our room seemed clean enough, but when we left in the morning I mentioned the ants and the unclean bathroom to the clerk. She seemed suspicious of my claims, which my gradeschool-aged daughter even confirmed to her! The clerk did not apologize and instead started asking odd questions about my traveling alone with my daughter.

As I said, this place has potential, but it must be deep cleaned. The night clerk, by the way, bent over backwards in niceness. I wish we would have discovered the ants early enough to tell her about them instead of the unfriendly and suspicious morning clerk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Bridget F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed on one of the houseboats at the Blue Heron Inn. It looked just like a little hotel room with a view. It did sway when you walked on it and when the wind blew, it bobbed as well but actually was very soothing. The only problem I had was with the shower - only had luke warm water for about 2 minutes and then it went ice cold. Talked to the desk clerk about it and said that they would check it out. Still had the same problem, it wasn't fixed. I believe that this is a problem with only our unit because a friend of ours stayed in the houseboat next to us and he said that he had plenty of hot water. Other than that issue, no problems. The staff was very friendly especially Cassie on the night shift, she was totally awesome. I didn't try the restaurant T-Bones but the smells coming from it was mouth watering. The Blue Heron itself has a charming New England type appeal and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karend924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Wanted to see if our past, very positive experience could be repeated. It was. The price for a basic room was comparable to anything else in the area and we were provided (without asking) with a wonderful upgrade. The the front desk service was excellent, the meal at T-bones superb and the room most comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trykk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I've never stayed here before. I booked the room, was snooping online abs came across tripadvisor, read all the bad reviews and thought crap, I made a mistake. I was expecting the worst. I was very pleased with the room. The inn is right on the lake, you look out and all you see is water. And having a jacuzzi and fireplace in the room, very affordable compared to other places with the same things. T-bones restaurant was very good too. Plus they have boat rentals in the summer. I wasn't let down. I would say don't believe all the negative reviews. It's a nice place.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Titanakadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for a wedding. We had a lakeview room with a jacuzzi tub. The room was booked by another party for us and we didn't have any problem checking in. The receptionist was friendly enough but her appearance was a bit off-putting. Not as professional as I would have expected but it didn't effect our stay! The lobby was decorated beautifully for Christmas and the overall atmosphere of the hotel is quiet and relaxing. The wedding I was attending had most of the rooms booked and the staff handled us all very well. Our room was large, clean and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and the view was gorgeous! The fitness area consists of one tredclimber on the second floor but hey it's better than nothing if you really want to exercise on vacation. The breakfast offering was ok but nothing spectacular but the onsite restaurant was very good and the prices were very reasonable. My children had a standard room with 2 Queen beds. Their room was a bit small and plain but overall was as clean and well appointed as our room was. The bathroom in both rooms was spacious and clean and the shower had good water pressure! I would love to stay here again but during summer just to see the view of the lake when it is "alive"!

Room Tip: Ask for a Lakeview jacuzzi room! The view is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed in a lake view room on new years eve and it was surprisingly quiet...
When we arrived the receptionist seemed a little agitated (not sure why) and sorry she was the first impression, because beyond that,it was a good experience. The lobby was still directed from Christmas with a huge beautiful tree and gorgeous large wreath hanging above the fireplace...really pretty.
Our room was very large with an ample size two person jacuzzi, fireplace and flat screen tv.
The bed was not extremely comfortable, really seemed to probably need a new mattress and the had a VCR no DVD player...do that was way outdated. But other then that a really great experience...would maybe next time, look for a groupon deal...one night was $140...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dionne1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaPorte
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn La Porte
Hampton Inn La Porte
#1 of 7 in LaPorte
349 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center
10.1 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
8.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Heron Inn

Address: 1110 Lakeside St, East Shore of Pine Lake, LaPorte, IN 46350-2216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Price Range: £71 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Inn location on the east shore of Pine Lake in LaPorte, Indiana is dedicated to the tradition of making your vacation a pleasurable and relaxing experience. We feature several accommodation options from a basic no-frills guest room to a two bedroom suite with a fireplace and whirlpool tub. All rooms, regardless of type are decorated with elaborate crown molding, tasteful colors, and fine linens. If you are one of our frequent corporate guests, the refrigerator, coffee pots, and video entertainment options will surely make your extended stay convenient and pleasant. Our complimentary wireless internet access makes staying connected easy and convenient.While staying with us enjoy the intimate and elegant atmosphere of T-Bones Pier 11. This classic steakhouse features steaks, chops, and seafood. We have a magnificent fine wine selection as well.If you have a business function, celebration, or rehearsal dinner, give your guests the best treatment by selecting from several options available to entertain. The Le'Cabernet, which seats up to 50 people offers the elegance for those "special occasions". Pompeii's Pub greets you with a more casual setting ideal for up to 25 guests. Catering of food by T-Bones will wow your guests, and is available to fit many budgets.The Blue Heron Inn is open year round. This charming turn of the century retreat offers something for everyone. Whether you enjoy boating, visiting area orchards, golfing or simply relaxing Blue Heron has it all! Call today to learn about our special packages we offer. Gift certificates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Blue Heron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Heron Hotel Laporte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing