We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Blue Heron Inn
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn La Porte(LaPorte)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Economy Inn(Hamlet)
US$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
Cool Springs Inn(Michigan City)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City(Michigan City)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
53
25
5
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
25
5
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewst bonepine lakewhirlpool tubhouse boatsecond floorattached restaurantbalcony overlookingmom and pop placefree breakfast islong weekendhot breakfastwafflesmorning breakfastking bedpontoonfishingtiki
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We've spent several nights over the years in LaPorte because it is a good stopping point on our road trips across I-80. Usually have stayed at the very mediocre (but ok) Holiday Inn across the street. A waitress at T-bones restaurant gave us a tip about the Blue Heron. Glad we stayed here on our return trip. The hotel is less expensive than the Holiday Inn-- also cleaner. The best part was the the patio facing the lake. Very peaceful room with a jacuzzi as well. The varied reviews on trip advisor are surprising given our very positive experience. The hotel should advertise more because it is a nice change from a banal Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: First floor, facing the water.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had a fortunate experience as walk-in, no reservation, after stopping at one chain and trying to book at another. No standard doubles available, but we had a choice of discounted suites on the lake, chose quiet main floor unit next to pool. Night clerk was wonderfully helpful. Good internet, good restaurant dinner specials on site, seating on the water with sunset view! We wanted to stay on but were on a road trip. Rib steak and walleye were delicious and perfectly prepared in the restaurant. Very friendly service all around.

Room Tip: Ground floor suite next to pool is quiet because no other rooms around.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andarcaminos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This place has potential. Our lakeview room had a pleasant view but there were ants coming out of the baseboards near the whirlpool and in the bathroom; in fact it looked like dead bugs were caked around the baseboard in the bathroom, the floor of which was filthy. Our screen door kept falling off and the white plastic patio chairs on the deck and around the pool were filthy. From the second floor you could see layers of caked on dust on ceiling fans, beams, and plastic plants.

The remainder of our room seemed clean enough, but when we left in the morning I mentioned the ants and the unclean bathroom to the clerk. She seemed suspicious of my claims, which my gradeschool-aged daughter even confirmed to her! The clerk did not apologize and instead started asking odd questions about my traveling alone with my daughter.

As I said, this place has potential, but it must be deep cleaned. The night clerk, by the way, bent over backwards in niceness. I wish we would have discovered the ants early enough to tell her about them instead of the unfriendly and suspicious morning clerk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Bridget F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed on one of the houseboats at the Blue Heron Inn. It looked just like a little hotel room with a view. It did sway when you walked on it and when the wind blew, it bobbed as well but actually was very soothing. The only problem I had was with the shower - only had luke warm water for about 2 minutes and then it went ice cold. Talked to the desk clerk about it and said that they would check it out. Still had the same problem, it wasn't fixed. I believe that this is a problem with only our unit because a friend of ours stayed in the houseboat next to us and he said that he had plenty of hot water. Other than that issue, no problems. The staff was very friendly especially Cassie on the night shift, she was totally awesome. I didn't try the restaurant T-Bones but the smells coming from it was mouth watering. The Blue Heron itself has a charming New England type appeal and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karend924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Wanted to see if our past, very positive experience could be repeated. It was. The price for a basic room was comparable to anything else in the area and we were provided (without asking) with a wonderful upgrade. The the front desk service was excellent, the meal at T-bones superb and the room most comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trykk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews