We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Get A Way”
Review of The Blue Heron Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

It is a Great place to kick back and relaxes, in the summer you can catch some rays, go swimming, jump in your in room spa, walk over to the restaurant patio eat, have a cocktail and watch the sunset over Pine Lake. This is a prefect day to me.

The food is great and people are wonderful, and there are any different types of rooms to choice from so next time your in LaPorte IN stay at the Blue Heron Inn.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms and spa room are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great rooms. Very large rooms.beautiful views. Loved the spa. Loved the fireplace. The in room kitchen was very useful. while eating in the dinning room u can see great views of pinelake everywhere. Very quiet and Cozi.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckyskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We chose to stay on the bigger size house boat because we had our grandchildren with us. It was a lot of fun and a very unique experience. YES, the house boat does rock so get prepared to be awaken at around 6:00 in the morning when the fisherman start the morning out with their quest to find the biggest fish at Pine Lake. We stayed Labor Day weekend so there was plenty of activity on the lake going on. We were all amazed at the big turtles that linger around the boats looking for food. If you like fishing you can sit on the deck and do some fishing. The boat is a good size - plenty of room for the four of us. The only problem that we had besides the kids fighting was that there was not enough hot water for showering. My advice is to shower very quickly or stop the water during the process, soap up and then turn the shower on again. Seeing that we stayed on a holiday weekend it was a bit pricey but definitiely worth the fun that we had. They also offer a continental breakfast however there wasn't a lot of room in the dining area to eat so a lot of people ate on the deck of the restaurant. They have a outdoor pool which is kind of small. We did not use the pool because there were always a lot of people swimming. They also have a bar/restaurant which is very nice.

Room Tip: Go for the experience and get the bigger house boat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I booked a surprise wedding anniversary trip for my husband and I to the beautifully tranquil Blue Heron Inn. We had gotten the Lakeview whirlpool room and were quite pleased. The front desk clerk was happy to show us around the property and when we made it to our room we were happy to see that updates had been made to the rooms from the pictures that are posted on their website. There is a flat screen TV, updated bedding, and a high poster bed with new firm mattresses. We appreciated the beautiful sunset on the lake from our balcony.

The breakfast was wonderful each morning of our stay with scrambled eggs (always with some extra green peppers or onions or cheese in them) and a meat.

We had dinner our first night at the on-site restaurant T-Bones which was delicious. I had the roast beef which was mouth watering.

Room Tip: The Lakeview rooms offer a view of the setting sun over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEB2013mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We've spent several nights over the years in LaPorte because it is a good stopping point on our road trips across I-80. Usually have stayed at the very mediocre (but ok) Holiday Inn across the street. A waitress at T-bones restaurant gave us a tip about the Blue Heron. Glad we stayed here on our return trip. The hotel is less expensive than the Holiday Inn-- also cleaner. The best part was the the patio facing the lake. Very peaceful room with a jacuzzi as well. The varied reviews on trip advisor are surprising given our very positive experience. The hotel should advertise more because it is a nice change from a banal Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: First floor, facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had a fortunate experience as walk-in, no reservation, after stopping at one chain and trying to book at another. No standard doubles available, but we had a choice of discounted suites on the lake, chose quiet main floor unit next to pool. Night clerk was wonderfully helpful. Good internet, good restaurant dinner specials on site, seating on the water with sunset view! We wanted to stay on but were on a road trip. Rib steak and walleye were delicious and perfectly prepared in the restaurant. Very friendly service all around.

Room Tip: Ground floor suite next to pool is quiet because no other rooms around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andarcaminos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This place has potential. Our lakeview room had a pleasant view but there were ants coming out of the baseboards near the whirlpool and in the bathroom; in fact it looked like dead bugs were caked around the baseboard in the bathroom, the floor of which was filthy. Our screen door kept falling off and the white plastic patio chairs on the deck and around the pool were filthy. From the second floor you could see layers of caked on dust on ceiling fans, beams, and plastic plants.

The remainder of our room seemed clean enough, but when we left in the morning I mentioned the ants and the unclean bathroom to the clerk. She seemed suspicious of my claims, which my gradeschool-aged daughter even confirmed to her! The clerk did not apologize and instead started asking odd questions about my traveling alone with my daughter.

As I said, this place has potential, but it must be deep cleaned. The night clerk, by the way, bent over backwards in niceness. I wish we would have discovered the ants early enough to tell her about them instead of the unfriendly and suspicious morning clerk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Bridget F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaPorte
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn La Porte
Hampton Inn La Porte
#1 of 7 in LaPorte
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express La Porte Indiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
8.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Heron Inn

Address: 1110 Lakeside St, East Shore of Pine Lake, LaPorte, IN 46350-2216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Price Range: £63 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Heron Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Inn location on the east shore of Pine Lake in LaPorte, Indiana is dedicated to the tradition of making your vacation a pleasurable and relaxing experience. We feature several accommodation options from a basic no-frills guest room to a two bedroom suite with a fireplace and whirlpool tub. All rooms, regardless of type are decorated with elaborate crown molding, tasteful colors, and fine linens. If you are one of our frequent corporate guests, the refrigerator, coffee pots, and video entertainment options will surely make your extended stay convenient and pleasant. Our complimentary wireless internet access makes staying connected easy and convenient.While staying with us enjoy the intimate and elegant atmosphere of T-Bones Pier 11. This classic steakhouse features steaks, chops, and seafood. We have a magnificent fine wine selection as well.If you have a business function, celebration, or rehearsal dinner, give your guests the best treatment by selecting from several options available to entertain. The Le'Cabernet, which seats up to 50 people offers the elegance for those "special occasions". Pompeii's Pub greets you with a more casual setting ideal for up to 25 guests. Catering of food by T-Bones will wow your guests, and is available to fit many budgets.The Blue Heron Inn is open year round. This charming turn of the century retreat offers something for everyone. Whether you enjoy boating, visiting area orchards, golfing or simply relaxing Blue Heron has it all! Call today to learn about our special packages we offer. Gift certificates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Blue Heron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Heron Hotel Laporte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing