We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Heron Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in LaPorte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in LaPorte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Blue Heron is one of our favorite places to stay. We have booked for this year and looking forward to enjoying the room and the view of the lake. The free breakfast is like no other. They also provide homemade cookies for the guest. It is a quiet homey atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltydog12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    21
    4
    5
    12
See reviews for
22
41
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Lake, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I love the Blue Heron. The location is great, we have enjoyed all four seasons and had a great time on the lake. Rooms are great, the food at TBones is great and we've even made friends with the staff. It's just a great get away.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samasteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed here for a getaway. I enjoyed the view and the staff. I would recommend it again! I just needed time to myself to unwind. My only complaint was breakfast was not very tasty but the view from my houseboat was breathtaking. I think if I do this again I will choose the boat on the end for a better view.

Room Tip: If you dont like the Rocking dont stay on house boat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank neffml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPorte, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

It is a Great place to kick back and relaxes, in the summer you can catch some rays, go swimming, jump in your in room spa, walk over to the restaurant patio eat, have a cocktail and watch the sunset over Pine Lake. This is a prefect day to me.

The food is great and people are wonderful, and there are any different types of rooms to choice from so next time your in LaPorte IN stay at the Blue Heron Inn.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms and spa room are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laporte
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great rooms. Very large rooms.beautiful views. Loved the spa. Loved the fireplace. The in room kitchen was very useful. while eating in the dinning room u can see great views of pinelake everywhere. Very quiet and Cozi.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckyskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We chose to stay on the bigger size house boat because we had our grandchildren with us. It was a lot of fun and a very unique experience. YES, the house boat does rock so get prepared to be awaken at around 6:00 in the morning when the fisherman start the morning out with their quest to find the biggest fish at Pine Lake. We stayed Labor Day weekend so there was plenty of activity on the lake going on. We were all amazed at the big turtles that linger around the boats looking for food. If you like fishing you can sit on the deck and do some fishing. The boat is a good size - plenty of room for the four of us. The only problem that we had besides the kids fighting was that there was not enough hot water for showering. My advice is to shower very quickly or stop the water during the process, soap up and then turn the shower on again. Seeing that we stayed on a holiday weekend it was a bit pricey but definitiely worth the fun that we had. They also offer a continental breakfast however there wasn't a lot of room in the dining area to eat so a lot of people ate on the deck of the restaurant. They have a outdoor pool which is kind of small. We did not use the pool because there were always a lot of people swimming. They also have a bar/restaurant which is very nice.

Room Tip: Go for the experience and get the bigger house boat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I booked a surprise wedding anniversary trip for my husband and I to the beautifully tranquil Blue Heron Inn. We had gotten the Lakeview whirlpool room and were quite pleased. The front desk clerk was happy to show us around the property and when we made it to our room we were happy to see that updates had been made to the rooms from the pictures that are posted on their website. There is a flat screen TV, updated bedding, and a high poster bed with new firm mattresses. We appreciated the beautiful sunset on the lake from our balcony.

The breakfast was wonderful each morning of our stay with scrambled eggs (always with some extra green peppers or onions or cheese in them) and a meat.

We had dinner our first night at the on-site restaurant T-Bones which was delicious. I had the roast beef which was mouth watering.

Room Tip: The Lakeview rooms offer a view of the setting sun over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEB2013mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaPorte
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn La Porte
Hampton Inn La Porte
#1 of 6 in LaPorte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center
8.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
10.0 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Heron Inn

Property: The Blue Heron Inn
Address: 1110 Lakeside St, East Shore of Pine Lake, LaPorte, IN 46350-2216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in LaPorte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Inn location on the east shore of Pine Lake in LaPorte, Indiana is dedicated to the tradition of making your vacation a pleasurable and relaxing experience. We feature several accommodation options from a basic no-frills guest room to a two bedroom suite with a fireplace and whirlpool tub. All rooms, regardless of type are decorated with elaborate crown molding, tasteful colors, and fine linens. If you are one of our frequent corporate guests, the refrigerator, coffee pots, and video entertainment options will surely make your extended stay convenient and pleasant. Our complimentary wireless internet access makes staying connected easy and convenient.While staying with us enjoy the intimate and elegant atmosphere of T-Bones Pier 11. This classic steakhouse features steaks, chops, and seafood. We have a magnificent fine wine selection as well.If you have a business function, celebration, or rehearsal dinner, give your guests the best treatment by selecting from several options available to entertain. The Le'Cabernet, which seats up to 50 people offers the elegance for those "special occasions". Pompeii's Pub greets you with a more casual setting ideal for up to 25 guests. Catering of food by T-Bones will wow your guests, and is available to fit many budgets.The Blue Heron Inn is open year round. This charming turn of the century retreat offers something for everyone. Whether you enjoy boating, visiting area orchards, golfing or simply relaxing Blue Heron has it all! Call today to learn about our special packages we offer. Gift certificates are available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Blue Heron Hotel Laporte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing